8 Pages123>»
Janet Kanini Ikua
#1 Posted : Thursday, October 08, 2015 12:38:35 PM

Ohhh Lord!
Sad Sad

#2 Posted : Thursday, October 08, 2015 12:40:19 PM

Ohhh Lord!
Sad Sad

What?
#3 Posted : Thursday, October 08, 2015 12:48:06 PM

She will be fine...I like her attitude towards the whole experience.

@Wendz, see below:
https://www.facebook.com/Janetkaniniikua?fref=ts

#4 Posted : Thursday, October 08, 2015 12:48:08 PM

Ohhh Lord!
Sad Sad

What?

Mbeautiful physically,spiritually and socially...lakini ya Mola ni mengi.

#5 Posted : Thursday, October 08, 2015 1:08:21 PM

Sad and depressing news I must say.
It feels sad that the true diagnosis is from India yet she has been checked in our hospitals and treatment administered for a different condition.Could it have been arrested earlier had the right diagnosis been made?We don't know.

My prayers go out to her and her family at this trying moment.

NB.Are cancer cells a genetical thing?If am not wrong her father(RIP) went down with the same.

#6 Posted : Thursday, October 08, 2015 1:57:22 PM

NB.Are cancer cells a genetical thing?If am not wrong her father(RIP) went down with the same.

Well - it's a bit dicy, Some are - so be on the lookout. Some are not but are environmental. If you had cancer in your family - I suggest you get regular checkups. I also think the fact that human bodies are living for longer than it was possible before we were - we have started seeing the repercussions of this. Ageing is associated with a number of events at the molecular, cellular, and physiologic levels that influence carcinogenesis and subsequent cancer growth - so the older you get the higher the risk. Plus there lifestyle related things such as taking in of carcinogenic substances like the blackened areas on charred and grilled beef.... (hiyo WELL DONE tumejifunza kupenda)... is carcinogenic!
#7 Posted : Thursday, October 08, 2015 3:55:34 PM

Well - it's a bit dicy, Some are - so be on the lookout. Some are not but are environmental. If you had cancer in your family - I suggest you get regular checkups. I also think the fact that human bodies are living for longer than it was possible before we were - we have started seeing the repercussions of this. Ageing is associated with a number of events at the molecular, cellular, and physiologic levels that influence carcinogenesis and subsequent cancer growth - so the older you get the higher the risk. Plus there lifestyle related things such as taking in of carcinogenic substances like the blackened areas on charred and grilled beef.... (hiyo WELL DONE tumejifunza kupenda)... is carcinogenic!

Are we living longer? I thought it was the opposite. My grandmother is still alive and strong and I dont think our generation will see that health at that age if at all.
Cornelius Vanderbilt
#8 Posted : Thursday, October 08, 2015 4:02:04 PM

what exactly is she trying to do ? she's getting treatment NOT doing on a vacation/holiday.people will do anything to get attention.
#9 Posted : Thursday, October 08, 2015 4:58:51 PM

Cornelius Vanderbilt wrote:
what exactly is she trying to do ? she's getting treatment NOT doing on a vacation/holiday.people will do anything to get attention.

She has been posting about her illness ever since she took a break from NTV. If you read the whole post she says that she's doing this to inform if not educate those interested.

I think this is noble of her, we need this talk esp given that the GOK said that it will take 2YEARS to map cancer cases in Kenya...mmh
#10 Posted : Thursday, October 08, 2015 5:16:52 PM

Are we living longer? I thought it was the opposite. My grandmother is still alive and strong and I dont think our generation will see that health at that age if at all.

yeah... I knew someone would raise this.... citing their grandmother.... I actually baited the post waiting for it... Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
My grand father is 94 years old and he is alive but ask him how many of his compatriots are alive... old boys from the old days... he stands alone. ask your grandmother how many of them are around? utashangaa... we confuse outliers to be representative of their populations. ask them how many brothers/sisters they lost growing up! Hao ndio masurvivers... actually what we confuse as "them living longer" is also related to modern medicine - wazees benefit a lot and for some reason they are not seen as being "us"... Pnumonia ingekuwa imemaliza wengi sana in June/July.

There are 3 things that would have correlation with long life
1) a good diet
2) exercise
3) good health care/medicine
My assessment is this before ukoloni people used to die like flies (life expectancy was like 22 - look it up) - due to the lack of No. 3. When they came, they came with medicine and the survivers of that stage - benefited from a good diet, excercise and medicine.
Our parents had for part of their lives the 3 but ruined the exercise bit and some how the diet when they 'grew up'... they even smoked more due to the trends of the time.
For us... we are the 1st knowledge driven generation that aspires for all the 3 - why should we not live longer? cancers will show up but will be managed with early diagnosis...
#11 Posted : Thursday, October 08, 2015 5:22:43 PM

yeah... I knew someone would raise this.... citing their grandmother.... I actually baited the post waiting for it... Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
My grand father is 94 years old and he is alive but ask him how many of his compatriots are alive... old boys from the old days... he stands alone. ask your grandmother how many of them are around? utashangaa... we confuse outliers to be representative of their populations. ask them how many brothers/sisters they lost growing up! Hao ndio masurvivers... actually what we confuse as "them living longer" is also related to modern medicine - wazees benefit a lot and for some reason they are not seen as being "us"... Pnumonia ingekuwa imemaliza wengi sana in June/July.

1) a good diet
2) exercise
My assessment is this before ukoloni people used to die like flies (life expectancy was like 22 - look it up) - due to the lack of No. 3. When they came, they came with medicine and the survivers of that stage - benefited from a good diet, excercise and medicine.
Our parents had for part of their lives the 3 but ruined the exercise bit and some how the diet when they 'grew up'... they even smoked more due to the trends of the time.
For us... we are the 1st knowledge driven generation that aspires for all the 3 - why should we not live longer? cancers will show up but will be managed with early diagnosis...

@maveg, so true! Nowadays you write with sober mind and I enjoy your posts lately Applause Applause
#12 Posted : Thursday, October 08, 2015 5:46:56 PM

@maveg, so true! Nowadays you write with sober mind and I enjoy your posts lately Applause Applause

thanks @Alph! I realized something... if I write about anything else other than Politics and Religion - everyone reads it with an open mind.
#13 Posted : Thursday, October 08, 2015 5:50:22 PM

thanks @Alph! I realized something... if I write about anything else other than Politics and Religion - everyone reads it with an open mind.

We only had a clash one time when we discussed "biological weapons", citing Ebola and the circumstances in West Africa, and you really had a closed mind and defending the mzungu smile
#14 Posted : Thursday, October 08, 2015 6:21:20 PM

Cornelius Vanderbilt wrote:

She is brave and facing her situation with courage.She is an encouragement to so many others in similar situations and those taking care of them.

No she is not seeking attention.She is sharing.
#15 Posted : Thursday, October 08, 2015 6:22:30 PM

1) a good diet
2) exercise

Kindly @masukuma show us proof of this 22 year average life span that was in the pre-colonial era ...
#16 Posted : Thursday, October 08, 2015 6:38:15 PM

1) a good diet
2) exercise

Kindly @masukuma show us proof of this 22 year average life span that was in the pre-colonial era ...

google a paper by Gwyn Campbell titled "The State and Pre-Colonial Demographic History: The Case of Nineteenth-Century Madagascar". You know... we sometimes look back at our ancestors with eyes of today! they never went to school... so they never wasted time... mambo ilikuwa reproduction and survival... the concept of a "teenager" was invented in the 20s in the US to sell cars. Mambo ilikuwa chap chap! Think about the risks of living during that time... diseases, being bitten by snakes, being killed by marauding gangs, broken limbs would cause death e.t.c. famine? My 4 year old son would be learning how to do my job now... by 10 he would be married! and I would be 22 then LOL!

In short - YOU ARE LIVING AT THE BEST TIME IN THE HISTORY OF HUMAN BEINGS.... best time ever!
#17 Posted : Thursday, October 08, 2015 6:39:03 PM

1) a good diet
2) exercise

It was even less. A woman would have 11 children and only 4 or less would live to marry.
#18 Posted : Thursday, October 08, 2015 6:45:26 PM

Life was a crapshoot! We sometimes look back longingly not really even understanding what was required to stay alive during that time.... remember the song that was being sung by the african americans - I GOT A SHOE?
#19 Posted : Thursday, October 08, 2015 7:28:16 PM

Life was a crapshoot! We sometimes look back longingly not really even understanding what was required to stay alive during that time.... remember the song that was being sung by the african americans - I GOT A SHOE?

What the hell was that song about? And the way we used to sing it when we were kids!
#20 Posted : Thursday, October 08, 2015 8:07:08 PM

Shak wrote:

What the hell was that song about? And the way we used to sing it when we were kids!

Well black americans never had shoes or nice houses... so they were convinced about this place called heaven where they will get shoes and houses... so the looked forward to these shoes that had been stored up for them there. they looked forward to that place with their nice house. (sounds familiar?). some dead guy once sung saying

♬But if you know what life is worth♬
♫You would look for yours on earth♫

coz the ones who tell you about this place with your shoes and houses are having shoes and houses HERE!

Sorry for my digression...Anyway - my reference was to the fact that Africans did not have shoes.... smile