Culture
What achievements at 26?
Rank: Member Joined: 1/20/2015 Posts: 489 Location: Nairobi
I just turned 26 the other day. I have been out of campus for two years and looking back... i have no car.....no thingira at home.....no business.....no plot despite earning the average Nairobi salary. I don't do booze or spend a lot on women, save for few special occasions! Am i lagging behind too much? What should a person have achieved at age 26? Enjoy every moment of your life, you never know when your time will come.
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/28/2015 Posts: 9,562 Location: Rodi Kopany, Homa Bay
UpcomingPaperChaser wrote:I just turned 26 the other day. I have been out of campus for two years and looking back... i have no car.....no thingira at home.....no business.....no plot despite earning the average Nairobi salary.
I don't do booze or spend a lot on women, save for few special occasions! Am i lagging behind too much? What should a person have achieved at age 26? You are doing poorly and should pull up your socks. At 26, I had a Masters degree, a wife, a car and a kaploti.
my old man advised me at a young age that at 30yrs and over, your net worth should be at least your age in millions of Kshs. If not, wewe uko mbaya sana. net worth = Assets - liabilities i.am.back!!!!
harrydre wrote:my old man advised me at a young age that at 30yrs and over, your net worth should be at least your age in millions of Kshs. If not, wewe uko mbaya sana.
net worth = Assets - liabilities Agreed.
UpcomingPaperChaser wrote:I just turned 26 the other day. I have been out of campus for two years and looking back... i have no car.....no thingira at home.....no business.....no plot despite earning the average Nairobi salary.
I don't do booze or spend a lot on women, save for few special occasions! Am i lagging behind too much? What should a person have achieved at age 26? Mr Paperchaser, Don't let anyone put pressure on you. At 30 I was in the same level you are in today. I spent all my money educating my siblings to ensure everyone went to high school and some college. I didn't have even a plot though I had been employed for more than 6 years. My advise is try as much as possible to live below your means and save money. Put it in shares however little, put some in small plots where you can, start a side business and build a brand name around the services or products you will be selling and focus on that long term. Brands are like children..... When they are 20 years old, they get a life of their own and from 25 years of age, a brand is too strong it will take care of your and your children from there. At 46 after 20 years you will be worth much more than 46 million.
Rank: Member Joined: 5/22/2014 Posts: 321 Location: Ndeiya
Vanity, all lies. It becomes pathetic when you measure your networth in monetary terms. Try brains, and how you use it for the betterment of others, not you alone.
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/2/2011 Posts: 4,818 Location: -1.2107, 36.8831
When I turned 26, I had a Post Bank a/c where everything was jotted down manually This rat race is not a joke. At 40, you may be asking the same same question like I used to. What I decided is to not live other peoples lives. Receive with simplicity everything that happens to you.” ― Rashi
I don't do booze or spend a lot on women, save for few special occasions! Am i lagging behind too much? What should a person have achieved at age 26? My only achievement was that I had laid more than 12 different women If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
hardwood wrote:UpcomingPaperChaser wrote:I just turned 26 the other day. I have been out of campus for two years and looking back... i have no car.....no thingira at home.....no business.....no plot despite earning the average Nairobi salary.
I don't do booze or spend a lot on women, save for few special occasions! Am i lagging behind too much? What should a person have achieved at age 26? You are doing poorly and should pull up your socks. At 26, I had a Masters degree, a wife, a car and a kaploti. 2ys later i built my dream 6bdrm home kwa the kiploti hapa nairobi. Boss Uko UN kwani? share the secret pliz. Enjoy every moment of your life, you never know when your time will come.
harrydre wrote:my old man advised me at a young age that at 30yrs and over, your net worth should be at least your age in millions of Kshs. If not, wewe uko mbaya sana.
net worth = Assets - liabilities I wish I was empowered with that knowledge at a younger age!! so I shud be worth something abt 20m? Enjoy every moment of your life, you never know when your time will come.
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/1/2011 Posts: 8,804 Location: Nairobi
Is the mind an asset or a liability? Can its worth be measured? What about lifestyle and psycho-social maturity?
When one considers the human life cycle from womb to tomb, and the successive demands of each age one can come up with a more balanced view of what success entails. First, the life cycle entails losing and being reconciled to loss. Death being the biggest loss. The biggest gain is mental and spiritual development.
At 26 - young adulthood - there are questions of 'intimacy' versus 'isolation', before in adolescence the big question was about 'identity'. During 'mature adulthood' say 35 onwards to say 50's the big question is about 'generativity'. After sixties the cycle is drawing to an end. You're dying. Are you satisfied or are you in despair?
The idea of being a millionaire in the 20's is fairly recent. Not long ago, millionaires came in the 40's onwards- the period of generativity. But now thanks to changes in technology wealth can come in the teens. But there's a big problem with that. More often than not the young are distracted from their main issues mostly because money is worshipped by many and their lives are led to ruin. I can give many examples of this especially from the so called 'celebrities'.
You are lagging far behind. work to prosper
Swenani wrote:UpcomingPaperChaser wrote:I just turned 26 the other day. I have been out of campus for two years and looking back... i have no car.....no thingira at home.....no business.....no plot despite earning the average Nairobi salary.
I don't do booze or spend a lot on women, save for few special occasions! Am i lagging behind too much? What should a person have achieved at age 26? My only achievement was that I had laid more than 12 different women ONLY! Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 2/3/2010 Posts: 1,797 Location: Kenya
welcome to the rat race....even if you win you are still a rat I may be wrong..but then I could be right
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/1/2011 Posts: 8,804 Location: Nairobi
This is probably about having sex, and a lasting orgasm, and morphing the sex objects into cars, bank accounts, villas. . .
The woman who finally got a penis permanently lodged within her - standing like a man, and the man - de Sade - a harem for his entertainment.
Ah! The tricks of the human mind! The skyscraper is phallic, the stadium -the arena for entertainment, vaginal.
tycho wrote:This is probably about having sex, and a lasting orgasm, and morphing the sex objects into cars, bank accounts, villas. . .
The woman who finally got a penis permanently lodged within her - standing like a man, and the man - de Sade - a harem for his entertainment.
Ah! The tricks of the human mind! The skyscraper is phallic, the stadium -the arena for entertainment, vaginal. Very disgusting! Is it not @tycho. Everything that has a begining has an end…sex, money, love…I tell you!
The thing is to stay in your own lane;after 5 years of working I only started saving this year after turning 28;My only advice is avoid stuff that you really dont need like a new Subaru worth 1000000 and you have an alternative of buying a good Toyota Starlet for 280,000,Basically peer pressure is quite real avoid avoid.
In life, the key to happiness is to not try "keeping up with the Joneses" since there will always be someone presumably doing better than you. Some via humongous bank loans and credit cards. Which is better....having sleepless nights while living beyond your means at Runda (to impress raia) or "sleeping like a baby" while living within your means huko syokimau?
UpcomingPaperChaser wrote:hardwood wrote:UpcomingPaperChaser wrote:I just turned 26 the other day. I have been out of campus for two years and looking back... i have no car.....no thingira at home.....no business.....no plot despite earning the average Nairobi salary.
I don't do booze or spend a lot on women, save for few special occasions! Am i lagging behind too much? What should a person have achieved at age 26? You are doing poorly and should pull up your socks. At 26, I had a Masters degree, a wife, a car and a kaploti. 2ys later i built my dream 6bdrm home kwa the kiploti hapa nairobi. Boss Uko UN kwani? share the secret pliz. Pole i exaggerated but this maneno happened by 30.
Culture
What achievements at 26?