Sports
London Marathon 2015
The London Marathon 2015 is coming up this Sunday. It will be one of the most exciting races ever ran... cant wait to see how it unfolds.
Here are the names to watch out for:
Dennis Kimetto - reigning world record holder 2:02:57
Wilson Kipsang - Former world record holder and reigning London marathon champion 2:03:23
Geoffrey Mutai - 2 time New York marathon winner, past champion in Boston and Berlin 2:03:02
Eliud Kipchoge - Former 5000 metre world champion. winner Rotterdam and Chicago marathons in 2014 2:04:11
Emmanuel Mutai: Past London marathon winner and still course record holder. Second finish in Berlin 2:03:13
All these guys have ran faster than Paul Tergat when he set the first marathon world record under 2 hours 5 minutes just 11 years ago.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 11/17/2009 Posts: 2,040 Location: GA
The problem with such a stellar field is that everyone watches each other waiting for the person who will make the move which makes the race to be run on slow times wacha we wait and see how the rabbits will run the splits.Who are the ethiopians .Am betting on kipsang
Dismas Kimetto: 2:02:57 "I broke Wilson's world record in Berlin last year and I want his London Crown" Wilson Kipsang: 2:03:23 "I could try to go for the world record in London, looking at the athletes who have been invited and if the weather is OK and guys really ready for a fast time, it's possible to to set a new world record in London....." Also in the list: Emmanuel Mutai: 2:03:13 Eliud Kipchoge 2:04:05 Ayele Abshero 2:04:23 5 guys sub 2:05.....we got a race!!! In the women's race we have Mary Keitany, Florence Kiplagat, Edna Kiplagat and Feysa Tadesse!!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
What about Stephen Kiprotich the Ugandan?He will not be participating?
Chaka wrote:What about Stephen Kiprotich the Ugandan?He will not be participating? He doesn't go to the BIG City Marathon, yeye ni mambo na Tokyo, World athletics, Olympics etc! He has never run below 2:06!!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
McReggae wrote:Dismas Kimetto: 2:02:57 "I broke Wilson's world record in Berlin last year and I want his London Crown"
Wilson Kipsang: 2:03:23 "I could try to go for the world record in London, looking at the athletes who have been invited and if the weather is OK and guys really ready for a fast time, it's possible to to set a new world record in London....."
Very unlikely. Post 2:03 marathon runs have created a special challenge, where course conditions become one of the most critical variables for a successful record attempt. I suspect future improvements will come from flat straight trails the kind of road racing conditions that Berlin seem to satisfy better than anywhere else. A London, New York, Chicago or Tokyo marathon world record is a long shot. "The opposite of a correct statement is a false statement. But the opposite of a profound truth may well be another profound truth." (Niels Bohr)
Wakanyugi wrote:McReggae wrote:Dismas Kimetto: 2:02:57 "I broke Wilson's world record in Berlin last year and I want his London Crown"
Wilson Kipsang: 2:03:23 "I could try to go for the world record in London, looking at the athletes who have been invited and if the weather is OK and guys really ready for a fast time, it's possible to to set a new world record in London....."
Very unlikely. Post 2:03 marathon runs have created a special challenge, where course conditions become one of the most critical variables for a successful record attempt. I suspect future improvements will come from flat straight trails the kind of road racing conditions that Berlin seem to satisfy better than anywhere else. A London, New York, Chicago or Tokyo marathon world record is a long shot. The last six have been set in Berlin but before that the previous record was in London!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
McReggae wrote:Wakanyugi wrote:McReggae wrote:Dismas Kimetto: 2:02:57 "I broke Wilson's world record in Berlin last year and I want his London Crown"
Very unlikely. Post 2:03 marathon runs have created a special challenge, where course conditions become one of the most critical variables for a successful record attempt. I suspect future improvements will come from flat straight trails the kind of road racing conditions that Berlin seem to satisfy better than anywhere else. A London, New York, Chicago or Tokyo marathon world record is a long shot. The last six have been set in Berlin but before that the previous record was in London!!! Remember we are only spectators, this is a former world record holder who has won both Berlin and London and he says he thinks it can be done so I would give his opinion some more weight than just that of armchair analysts. Besides, of the field, I think he is the most intelligent runner and is my favorite to win on Sunday. Kipsang studies his races every second of the way, he not only knows how he is doing but also how everybody else is doing. For proof of this watch the 2014 New York Marathon which was a very slow marathon. New York has no rabbits which makes it very strategy intensive. He executed that win perfectly by just picking the lead at the right time. The advantage he has is that he can keep up with just about any of the others if the race starts super fast which is where most will be dropped if a world record is to be set. Look at his physical frame and style of running and you realize that when God was designing a running machine Kipsang was the perfect prototype. He is tall, lean and has a very efficient and relaxed running style. Compared to someone like Emmanuel Mutai who usually looks like he is working very hard while running, Kipsang ....... if you only saw a screen shot of his head while on a full run you would probably think he was sitting down watching TV, he is totally relaxed and very efficient. His arms and legs do not flare aimlessly while running, all the energy is directed at moving him forward.
Kusadikika wrote:McReggae wrote:Wakanyugi wrote:McReggae wrote:Dismas Kimetto: 2:02:57 "I broke Wilson's world record in Berlin last year and I want his London Crown"
Very unlikely. Post 2:03 marathon runs have created a special challenge, where course conditions become one of the most critical variables for a successful record attempt. I suspect future improvements will come from flat straight trails the kind of road racing conditions that Berlin seem to satisfy better than anywhere else. A London, New York, Chicago or Tokyo marathon world record is a long shot. The last six have been set in Berlin but before that the previous record was in London!!! Remember we are only spectators, this is a former world record holder who has won both Berlin and London and he says he thinks it can be done so I would give his opinion some more weight than just that of armchair analysts. Besides, of the field, I think he is the most intelligent runner and is my favorite to win on Sunday. Kipsang studies his races every second of the way, he not only knows how he is doing but also how everybody else is doing. For proof of this watch the 2014 New York Marathon which was a very slow marathon. New York has no rabbits which makes it very strategy intensive. He executed that win perfectly by just picking the lead at the right time. The advantage he has is that he can keep up with just about any of the others if the race starts super fast which is where most will be dropped if a world record is to be set. Look at his physical frame and style of running and you realize that when God was designing a running machine Kipsang was the perfect prototype. He is tall, lean and has a very efficient and relaxed running style. Compared to someone like Emmanuel Mutai who usually looks like he is working very hard while running, Kipsang ....... if you only saw a screen shot of his head while on a full run you would probably think he was sitting down watching TV, he is totally relaxed and very efficient. His arms and legs do not flare aimlessly while running, all the energy is directed at moving him forward.  Perfectly, he is talking as a person who has been there, done that!!!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
Haya Haya Haya... Here we go