Culture
Form One Selection 2015
I think there is a big scum going on and the planning stage could have been when they banned ranking of schools!!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
Awuoro!!!!!!!!! Formal education will make you a living. Self-education will make you a fortune - Jim Rohn.
McReggae wrote:I think there is a big scum going on and the planning stage could have been when they banned ranking of schools!!!! The process stinks to the highest heavens. There is nothing like computerized selection. Its chukua huyu, wacha huyu. Because the parent to that kid with over 400 from a private school will go to that national school with 20k or more to buy a place. Lord, thank you!
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/3/2008 Posts: 4,057 Location: Gwitu
They must have used IEBC computers. How do you explain students with 390 selected to District schools and 283 to National school. The case of Muranga High(National) is mind boggling.Only 42 of the selcted 234 have more than 400 marks while 60 have less than 350 which is the cut off for the County schools. How on earth did the students with less than 300 marks find their way to the National school while students with higher marks are joining district schools? Truth forever on the scaffold Wrong forever on the throne (James Russell Rowell)
Rank: Elder Joined: 1/17/2013 Posts: 4,693 Location: Earth
How is form1 school selection done nowadays.
I am just discombobulated.
I have a copy of the selection for a national school that pre-selects (do their selection before national schools). The list is tyrannical.
Gordon Gekko wrote:I have a copy of the selection for a national school that pre-selects (do their selection before national schools). The list is tyrannical. Selections for all schools are available online. IF YOU EXPECT ME TO POST ANYTHING POSITIVE ABOUT ASENO, YOU MAY AS WELL SIT ON A PIN
Gordon Gekko wrote:I have a copy of the selection for a national school that pre-selects (do their selection before national schools). The list is tyrannical. Imagine a kid with 421 being called to a district school! It's a sham!!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
You'd think since we are so digitally correct, these selections would be done by some comp. Since the kiddos selected their preferred schools, and the schs have a cut off point eg 400 an easy - "IF - THEN - ELSE-" code can do this and save the gov so much in allowances that are paid to these teachers. "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
Rank: Veteran Joined: 11/17/2012 Posts: 1,461 Location: Ngong Forest
McReggae wrote:Gordon Gekko wrote:I have a copy of the selection for a national school that pre-selects (do their selection before national schools). The list is tyrannical. Imagine a kid with 421 being called to a district school! It's a sham!!!! This is the kind of stuff that brings a revolution!
Rank: New-farer Joined: 12/1/2010 Posts: 57 Location: Nairobi
I fully sympathise with the affected kids because I was a victim of a similar scam - 38 years ago. I had scored 32 out of 36 points (equivalent to 444 today) and was picked in our local neighbourhood school - it was partly harambee with a government aided class. At the time, there were students there who would Muratina instead of tea during break-time! It almost broke my spirit but after the initial shock we adjusted and actually ended up uplifting the school performance to levels it had never seen. My take on this is: encourage those bright kids who have no choice but to live with this reality to settle down and take their revenge by working harder than those privileged ones. Take from me, it will change their lives and could even uplift these backwater institutions. Its called the school of hard knocks.
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/17/2009 Posts: 3,583 Location: Kenya
kaka2za wrote: They must have used IEBC computers. How do you explain students with 390 selected to District schools and 283 to National school. The case of Muranga High(National) is mind boggling.Only 42 of the selcted 234 have more than 400 marks while 60 have less than 350 which is the cut off for the County schools. How on earth did the students with less than 300 marks find their way to the National school while students with higher marks are joining district schools?
quota system
Rank: Member Joined: 12/8/2009 Posts: 274 Location: Ltktk
check the selection results for all schools here....(by school or by district)....this year kids with as low 100 marks were admitted to schools...mostly day schools. http://www.education.go....natselectionbydist.aspx
Actually the cut off for qualification to a government school was 100 marks. Kids will less than 100 marks were left out of admission to the government schools...soon it will be 100% transition from primary to secondary school! ...things fall apart...the centre cannot hold..mere anarchy is loosed upon the world...w b yeats
murchr wrote:You'd think since we are so digitally correct, these selections would be done by some comp. Since the kiddos selected their preferred schools, and the schs have a cut off point eg 400 an easy - "IF - THEN - ELSE-" code can do this and save the gov so much in allowances that are paid to these teachers.
exception - what if all the national schools that a kid selected are filled up by kids with slightly higher marks, does the program pick another national school at random or does it fall back to the county school selected. the parameters passed can quickly complicate that simplicity.
nakujua wrote:murchr wrote:You'd think since we are so digitally correct, these selections would be done by some comp. Since the kiddos selected their preferred schools, and the schs have a cut off point eg 400 an easy - "IF - THEN - ELSE-" code can do this and save the gov so much in allowances that are paid to these teachers.
exception - what if all the national schools that a kid selected are filled up by kids with slightly higher marks, does the program pick another national school at random or does it fall back to the county school selected. the parameters passed can quickly complicate that simplicity. I may need some education on how many schools a child picks. But from what the CS and PS said....that kids got the schools that they chose/selected. Which has been proved to be wrong. So by default, the kid who misses out on his/her first selection, should land the second selection that they took that is what a "IF ..THEN...ELSE STATEMENT DOES... PS: I DONT KNOW HOW ITS DONE THESE DAYS, WHEN I DID MINE I SELECTED 3 OR MORE SCHOOLS. in plain english, the statement fed to the program should read " IF'Child indexnumber' 40123001 >/ 400 THEN ('Alliance High' 2012301) ELSE { IF 'Child indexnumber' 40123001 >/ 350 THEN ('Nyeri High' 201235450) ELSE { IF 'Child indexnumber' 40123001 >/ 250 THEN ('Ndunduri High' 201256801) ELSE 'Join Polytechnic END IF; NB Syntax not observed. "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
murchr wrote:nakujua wrote:murchr wrote:You'd think since we are so digitally correct, these selections would be done by some comp. Since the kiddos selected their preferred schools, and the schs have a cut off point eg 400 an easy - "IF - THEN - ELSE-" code can do this and save the gov so much in allowances that are paid to these teachers.
exception - what if all the national schools that a kid selected are filled up by kids with slightly higher marks, does the program pick another national school at random or does it fall back to the county school selected. the parameters passed can quickly complicate that simplicity. I may need some education on how many schools a child picks. But from what the CS and PS said....that kids got the schools that they chose/selected. Which has been proved to be wrong. So by default, the kid who misses out on his/her first selection, should land the second selection that they took that is what a "IF ..THEN...ELSE STATEMENT DOES... PS: I DONT KNOW HOW ITS DONE THESE DAYS, WHEN I DID MINE I SELECTED 3 OR MORE SCHOOLS. in plain english, the statement fed to the program should read " IF'Child indexnumber' 40123001 >/ 400 THEN ('Alliance High' 2012301) ELSE { IF 'Child indexnumber' 40123001 >/ 350 THEN ('Nyeri High' 201235450) ELSE { IF 'Child indexnumber' 40123001 >/ 250 THEN ('Ndunduri High' 201256801) ELSE 'Join Polytechnic END IF; NB Syntax not observed. Hehehe, parameters ni mingi - school capacity, affirmative action ... you may get a scenario where all the national schools a kid selected are filled up by kids with 401, then they are placed in the county school, then the parents will make noise as to why the bright kid failed to be admitted to a national school.
nakujua wrote:murchr wrote:nakujua wrote:murchr wrote:You'd think since we are so digitally correct, these selections would be done by some comp. Since the kiddos selected their preferred schools, and the schs have a cut off point eg 400 an easy - "IF - THEN - ELSE-" code can do this and save the gov so much in allowances that are paid to these teachers.
exception - what if all the national schools that a kid selected are filled up by kids with slightly higher marks, does the program pick another national school at random or does it fall back to the county school selected. the parameters passed can quickly complicate that simplicity. I may need some education on how many schools a child picks. But from what the CS and PS said....that kids got the schools that they chose/selected. Which has been proved to be wrong. So by default, the kid who misses out on his/her first selection, should land the second selection that they took that is what a "IF ..THEN...ELSE STATEMENT DOES... PS: I DONT KNOW HOW ITS DONE THESE DAYS, WHEN I DID MINE I SELECTED 3 OR MORE SCHOOLS. in plain english, the statement fed to the program should read " IF'Child indexnumber' 40123001 >/ 400 THEN ('Alliance High' 2012301) ELSE { IF 'Child indexnumber' 40123001 >/ 350 THEN ('Nyeri High' 201235450) ELSE { IF 'Child indexnumber' 40123001 >/ 250 THEN ('Ndunduri High' 201256801) ELSE 'Join Polytechnic END IF; NB Syntax not observed. Hehehe, parameters ni mingi - school capacity, affirmative action ... you may get a scenario where all the national schools a kid selected are filled up by kids with 401, then they are placed in the county school, then the parents will make noise as to why the bright kid failed to be admitted to a national schhool. Parameters can be set capacity can be set quota can be set "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
This thing is complete sham, the intentions may have been good but clearly someone did not think through ...and if you go ahead to ban ranking of sec schools, then why ask the kcpe candidates to rank their choices in the first place?
Rank: Elder Joined: 1/17/2013 Posts: 4,693 Location: Earth
To avoid all these stress, which will for sure drive me nuts in 2016, I have resolved to look for a private high school beginning yesterday.
This siasa of shanderema tay poy and kal high school, instead of mangu I can't bear esp not after putting all effort and money to see your child succeed.
Culture
Form One Selection 2015