#4 Posted : Sunday, January 04, 2015 10:15:26 PM

Euge wrote:
The
optimist wrote:
Another building collapses.

Very sad. Hope there are no casualties.

What do you expect with hundreds of people standing atop the collapsed
building?.....hundreds more trooping there and blocking ambulances from
accessing the site.What is wrong with Kenyans?.I am most mad!.nkt!.
Someone send the GSU there ASAP to whip those idiots thoroughly.
#5 Posted : Sunday, January 04, 2015 10:21:40 PM

Euge wrote:
The optimist wrote:

What do you expect with hundreds of people standing atop the collapsed building?.....hundreds more trooping there and blocking ambulances from accessing the site.What is wrong with Kenyans?.I am most mad!.nkt!.

Washenzi!
#6 Posted : Sunday, January 04, 2015 11:11:33 PM

#Rescue operation#

#7 Posted : Monday, January 05, 2015 7:46:50 AM

too much just 5 days into 2015.
#8 Posted : Monday, January 05, 2015 7:52:39 AM

the universe does not care about your 'years'... it's laws of physics that are in place. Ukijenga mbaya itaanguka and when it angukaz has no corelation with the date in a calendar 'year'.
#9 Posted : Monday, January 05, 2015 8:26:20 AM

If what I am seeing on ktn is Rescue?
28 in hospital 2 dead including an infant.
Everything seems to be at standstill, plus dont they have proper, heavy lifting tools.
I thought the Israel government donated life saving tools to the government??? au ziliuzwa gikomba?
Kidero has just arrived. Posing for photos. 7 levels built without approval he says.yaaawn.
Kidero has instructed us to question landlords.Eti 'kagizzard ' is your house approved? before occupying. ish .

majimaji
#10 Posted : Monday, January 05, 2015 8:43:07 AM

Everything seems to be at standstill, plus dont they have proper, heavy lifting tools.
I thought the Israel government donated life saving tools to the government??? au ziliuzwa gikomba?
Kidero has just arrived. Posing for photos. 7 levels built without approval he says.yaaawn.
Kidero has instructed us to question landlords.Eti 'kagizzard ' is your house approved? before occupying. ish .

Anyway, one of the problems with construction approvals done by the Kidero County is that the land/plot has to have a title for one to submit building plans. 90 percent of plots in Nairobi Eastlands have no title so no submission. secondly, the county govt has no capacity to deal with all approvals if submissions were done. third, corruption at county buildings approval department, fourthly, submission is costly un-necessarily, they ask for like 200k for a bungalow submission
#11 Posted : Monday, January 05, 2015 8:52:03 AM

the universe does not care about your 'years'... it's laws of physics that are in place. Ukijenga mbaya itaanguka and when it angukaz has no corelation with the date in a calendar 'year'.

Thank you.

Where was Kidero when the building was being put up? Or our safety starts with us too!
#12 Posted : Monday, January 05, 2015 8:56:18 AM

which government? there are 48 governments which are equal and distinct! but at 2 levels.
#13 Posted : Monday, January 05, 2015 9:45:07 AM

kenyans!!
residents began hurling stones!!! after cops forcefully chased them away to create way for the rescue teams.
A witness says the building began showing signs of collapsing early afternoon before finally giving way but si unajua attitude.
kiash
#14 Posted : Monday, January 05, 2015 11:09:30 AM

Euge wrote:
The
optimist wrote:

What do you expect with hundreds of people standing atop the collapsed
building?.....hundreds more trooping there and blocking ambulances from
accessing the site.What is wrong with Kenyans?
.I am most mad!.nkt!.
Someone send the GSU there ASAP to whip those idiots thoroughly.

Call them Kenyan PECULIAR habits
kiash
#15 Posted : Monday, January 05, 2015 11:13:53 AM

kenyans!!
residents began hurling stones!!! after cops forcefully chased them away to create way for the rescue teams.
A witness says the building began showing signs of collapsing early afternoon before finally giving way but si unajua attitude.

The worst kenyan enemy Saw the one in Kasarani ; the building has cracks already and by the look of the tenant the moving out was the decision of the NCC. And you wonder kwani he had not seen the cracks himself and move out !!
#16 Posted : Monday, January 05, 2015 11:57:24 AM

majimaji wrote:

Anyway, one of the problems with construction approvals done by the Kidero County is that the land/plot has to have a title for one to submit building plans. 90 percent of plots in Nairobi Eastlands have no title so no submission. secondly, the county govt has no capacity to deal with all approvals if submissions were done. third, corruption at county buildings approval department, fourthly, submission is costly un-necessarily, they ask for like 200k for a bungalow submission

hapo kweli, the approval process is still stuck to what the colonial masters left - lakini even if the approval process is done what will stop the rogue architect/engineer/owner from using substandard steel or poor sand quality or kidogo cement, unless the local authority guys are hired as the watu wa mikono the responsibility at the end of the day lies with the owner/architect/engineer -watu wa akili kidogo.
#17 Posted : Monday, January 05, 2015 12:27:21 PM

majimaji wrote:

hapo kweli, the approval process is still stuck to what the colonial masters left - lakini even if the approval process is done what will stop the rogue architect/engineer/owner from using substandard steel or poor sand quality or kidogo cement, unless the local authority guys are hired as the watu wa mikono the responsibility at the end of the day lies with the owner/architect/engineer -watu wa akili kidogo.

From my understanding,once the approval has been granted,The county govt engineers and architects are supposed to be monitoring the construction periodically by visiting the site and doing some tests on the material used.
#18 Posted : Monday, January 05, 2015 12:46:31 PM

majimaji wrote:

From my understanding,once the approval has been granted,The county govt engineers and architects are supposed to be monitoring the construction periodically by visiting the site and doing some tests on the material used.

I am assuming that would require lots of engineers and architects - lakini all said, what keeps people in check are the consequences of doing the wrong thing - as long as individuals know they can get away with it they will always cut corners.

unless we want to police the guys every actions, its just kidogo akili that tells an owner/engineer/architect that they are just messing with other human beings lives.
#19 Posted : Monday, January 05, 2015 12:49:13 PM

majimaji wrote:

Hakuna hiyo manpower...
#20 Posted : Monday, January 05, 2015 1:03:11 PM

majimaji wrote:

Hakuna hiyo manpower...

Why would a landlord spend 30m to do some shoddy work only to have the building collapse? You end up losing your 30m investment and having numerous court cases. Then makueni beckons due to stress.