wazua Fri, Jan 31, 2025

Illegal laws used by Police in Kenya
#1 Posted : Saturday, August 23, 2014 7:13:20 AM

Such a herculean effort is required to stand up against these actions used to extract bribes from citizens. The policeman's hunger retaliates with rage; the innocent citizen must weather blows, waste money and time in the pursuit of justice

1. Confiscation of driving licences when motorists commit minor traffic offences.
2. Ordering innocent commuters out of Public Service Vehicles (PSVs).
3. Smashing the windscreens of vehicles.
4. Towing away your vehicle and forcing you to pay towing charges.

5. Arresting patrons consuming alcohol in unlicensed bar
6. Arrest without being informed why you are being detained.
7. Denial of access to family members and medical services.
8. Being held in a police station for more than a day.
9. Held in custody as police conduct investigations

10. Incarceration for minor offenses.
11. Physically or psychologically torturing suspects
12. Searching your home without a warrant

http://www.standardmedia.co.ke/...ese-illegal-laws-on-you-
#2 Posted : Saturday, August 23, 2014 8:53:11 AM

muganda wrote:
Such a herculean effort is required to stand up against these actions used to extract bribes from citizens. The policeman's hunger retaliates with rage; the innocent citizen must weather blows, waste money and time in the pursuit of justice

1. Confiscation of driving licences when motorists commit minor traffic offences.

This usually happens to many people.I remember one day hapo muthurwa a cop hit a colleagues with those fimbos they have urging him to move forward,the dude stepped out of the car and told the cop if he hits his car again he will press charges.The cop sheepishly apologised...
#3 Posted : Saturday, August 23, 2014 10:03:24 AM

muganda wrote:

This usually happens to many people.I remember one day hapo muthurwa a cop hit a colleagues with those fimbos they have urging him to move forward,the dude stepped out of the car and told the cop if he hits his car again he will press charges.The cop sheepishly apologised...

It's only the ignorant who allow themselves to be victims. Kenyans need to read and understand the laws of the land and their rights
Dr. Dre
#4 Posted : Saturday, August 23, 2014 11:38:52 AM

I remember being flagged down hapo Naivasha for overspeeding. The cop said I was doing 120km/hr...instead of the required 100km/hr, and the penalty for each additional km is sh10,000. You can imagine the argument that ensued after I multiplied sh10,000 by 20.
Don't Work Harder...Work Smarter!
#5 Posted : Saturday, August 23, 2014 11:48:10 AM

It's only the ignorant/timid/naive who allow themselves to be victims. Kenyans need to read and understand the laws of the land and their rights

I see this everywhere.Tolerating upuzi and poor service because'you don't want trouble'.
Then don't complain from under your warm blankets cz you are the reason things don't change.

#6 Posted : Saturday, August 23, 2014 12:01:52 PM

I read an article online of that building caretaker whose mobile phones have been confiscated by the police ostensibly because he had the 'audacity' to demand rent from his tenants, the police. Hiyo ni sheria gani?
#7 Posted : Saturday, August 23, 2014 2:59:22 PM

Rankaz13 wrote:
I read an article online of that building caretaker whose mobile phones have been confiscated by the police ostensibly because he had the 'audacity' to demand rent from his tenants, the police. Hiyo ni sheria gani?

Sad...most times mfuko haiwezi,probably cant pay legal fees so there is so little he can do...mwisho wa reli
Ngong
#8 Posted : Saturday, August 23, 2014 4:17:20 PM

The problem is the judicially,if say all the magistrates will give a warning to all minor offenders in the first instance and a minimal fine for a second offense and maximum for repeated offense, then all this nonsense will end and Mutunga and his boys/girls wont be complaining of case burden and Police will look for real work to do!
We are all winners
#9 Posted : Saturday, August 23, 2014 4:35:03 PM

Ngong wrote:
The problem is the judicially,if say all the magistrates will give a warning to all minor offenders in the first instance and a minimal fine for a second offense and maximum for repeated offense, then all this nonsense will end and Mutunga and his boys/girls wont be complaining of case burden and Police will look for real work to do!
We are all winners

I hate commenting on this since I will be called Kiash Rollout Part B. But the truth is our judiciary is made up of people who think they are special.

So when you go a magistrate, the man/woman is busy scrolling jibberish on a piece of paper never once looking up.

He listens to the prosecutor then in a voice trying to emulate the Jesus movies of the 70's declares "nimekupata na hatia!!!!!!"

He/she has not once looked up to even look at your face to notice that you are holding a Bible and have a collar and the charge of smoking bhang in church is ridiculous.

Just go to traffic court and witness the circus of the Kenyan Judiciary and Justice system. 300 men and women are brought in at 8am

The case is heard at 2pm as people are sweating and trying to borrow cell phones,swap dead batteries from each other in order to get the 500 bob to pay the obvious fine.

At 2pm he/she tells you all to stand and asks a question

"Are you guilty or not guilty?"

"Guilty!" retort 300 men and women who's life was just wasted in order to pay this woman 500 bob.

The next 2 hours is spent trying to negotiate with the cop at the door to pay your fine. Ikifika 5pm you go to Industrial Area to be raped because you didn't wear a bloody seat belt in a car that did not have a bloody seat belt, the owner of whom is not in court having bribed the bloody cop at 8am.

That is the justice system in Kenya.

Mutunga has really changed Kenya. All he had to do was wear an earing, fire Shollei and have 1000 traffic offenders and bridge heparas pay 500 bob in fines.

In the meantime, last night my neighbours 2 sons were car jacked right at their doorstep.

Kenya the country of Justice.
#10 Posted : Saturday, August 23, 2014 7:45:34 PM

Rankaz13 wrote:

think the guy locked the fire escape. there is probably a law against that. the guy wasn't very bright.
lovenuffs
#11 Posted : Sunday, August 24, 2014 8:13:54 AM

Ngong wrote:
We are all winners

I hate commenting on this since I will be called Kiash Rollout Part B. But the truth is our judiciary is made up of people who think they are special.

So when you go a magistrate, the man/woman is busy scrolling jibberish on a piece of paper never once looking up.

He listens to the prosecutor then in a voice trying to emulate the Jesus movies of the 70's declares "nimekupata na hatia!!!!!!"

He/she has not once looked up to even look at your face to notice that you are holding a Bible and have a collar and the charge of smoking bhang in church is ridiculous.

Just go to traffic court and witness the circus of the Kenyan Judiciary and Justice system. 300 men and women are brought in at 8am

The case is heard at 2pm as people are sweating and trying to borrow cell phones,swap dead batteries from each other in order to get the 500 bob to pay the obvious fine.

"Guilty!" retort 300 men and women who's life was just wasted in order to pay this woman 500 bob.

The next 2 hours is spent trying to negotiate with the cop at the door to pay your fine. Ikifika 5pm you go to Industrial Area to be raped because you didn't wear a bloody seat belt in a car that did not have a bloody seat belt, the owner of whom is not in court having bribed the bloody cop at 8am.

Mutunga has really changed Kenya. All he had to do was wear an earing, fire Shollei and have 1000 traffic offenders and bridge heparas pay 500 bob in fines.

In the meantime, last night my neighbours 2 sons were car jacked right at their doorstep.

So things can get that thick...
If a free society cannot help the many who are poor, it cannot save the few who are rich.
kiash
#12 Posted : Sunday, August 24, 2014 12:38:41 PM

Ngong wrote:
We are all winners

@Alma why do you worry of being blanded if you are telling the truth.
I went home sometimes back and the money i spent on the police during my 3 months stay was kitu 150K . I was caught in Mombasa just after the ferry coz of a certain sticker for speed governers yet the car i had was not a PSV.The bagger started telling me nishuke we go to the police station and pay the bail of 10 and then i can go to court the following day . There went 3K , i was on my way to Nai , i could not attend court in mbs. Since i was going around, that was the same story till i was caught in Nai.I had passed so many cops and some were saying sawa enda . This last stupid bagger said the name written on the side (owners + address) could not be initials.We went to the station since it was not far. He was walking and just before the gate , some other guys were arrested they were driving a lorry. The cop said you see even them its the same story.I swore not to pay anything this time. I told the cop for 3 months i had been on the road , no cop ever pointed that as an offence the cop became angry since at the same time i had refused to give him my DL.The guys arrested with me were told to go and the cop said fuata mimi and we went to the "reception" i was booked in for the offence and was told nifungiwe. Was my first arrest and i was horrified , the cop at the station told me "chunga huko ndani unaweza nyongwa" as he opened the door. I did not even have time to know how much was the bail but i had to leave my fone at the fake reception.Inside i saw the guys i was with and knew i had to be friendly and they started narrating their ordeals. I found one talking on fone and was like they told me no fones,and the guy said you can ask for your fone. I did that and prepared for my cash bail of 10K.That was after staying in the cell for 3 hrs.
I remember at the entrance of the office there was a table and a banner behind "Customer care" and two guys were seated behind just playing with their fones. If only i had a gun that day !!
I could have paid the 2 or 3k the cop would have wanted or end up in cell.The problem was i was leaving the following day and could not go to court to reclaim my bail.
Ngong
#13 Posted : Sunday, August 24, 2014 12:52:57 PM

That is the system ya kumalizana,same with the education system you dont pass an exam well and you are condemned,systems that create bitter citizens and not a community of responsible citizens,we against them mentality.
Those magistrates/judges are god down here,they take you to prison for a fine you are ready to pay but their system is not working or time is up. same to when you stand bond/security for a comrade the process is very complicated to create room for corruption!
I thought RAO,Mutunga and the other Nyayo era detainees will change the systems after getting power but NO they are the masters NOW and WE the servants!
How I miss the first few days of NARC Government!
kiash
#14 Posted : Sunday, August 24, 2014 1:09:36 PM

Ngong wrote:
That is the system ya kumalizana,same with the education system you dont pass an exam well and you are condemned,systems that create bitter citizens and not a community of responsible citizens,we against them mentality.
Those magistrates/judges are god down here,they take you to prison for a fine you are ready to pay but their system is not working or time is up. same to when you stand bond/security for a comrade the process is very complicated to create room for corruption!
I thought RAO,Mutunga and the other Nyayo era detainees will change the systems after getting power but NO they are the masters NOW and WE the servants!

Me too i had hope when i saw guys like Orengo being named ministers, remember PLO Lumumba in integrity house anly for him to march along the streets with wananchi wa kawaida. Then came Karua in the ministry of justice, Kiraitu people associated with liberation. I think the same thing would happen if people like Githongo were to be named in Integrity house. Guys are complaining about NIS nomination, look at Immigration, UHURUTO going military in such dockets.
Ngong
#15 Posted : Monday, August 25, 2014 11:44:34 PM

kiash wrote:
Ngong wrote:

Me too i had hope when i saw guys like Orengo being named ministers, remember PLO Lumumba in integrity house anly for him to march along the streets with wananchi wa kawaida. Then came Karua in the ministry of justice, Kiraitu people associated with liberation. I think the same thing would happen if people like Githongo were to be named in Integrity house. Guys are complaining about NIS nomination, look at Immigration, UHURUTO going military in such dockets.

Only good systems will save us,l envy the way countries like britain which doesnt have a written constitution governs it self,people there dont even nowtheir mca/mps as long as systems are working!