Culture
KQ decision on West African route.....ebola virus
Rank: Member Joined: 7/21/2014 Posts: 100 Location: Ghana
What is the outcome ?
From my point of view only Liberia, Guinea and Sierra Leone should be avoided as it is pandemic. For Nigeria it is still not pandemic, there are isolated cases, the origin of which was from Liberia, by one late Mr Sawyer. For my country Ghana, there no documented case at the moment. Note that foreign airlines have stopped services in the above 3 countries, but services continue in Nigeria notably British Aieways, Lufthansa, Emirate and KLM. Rwanda air and Ethiopian are still operating in West Africa including Nigeria.
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/4/2006 Posts: 13,821 Location: Nairobi
Realcement wrote:What is the outcome ?
From my point of view only Liberia, Guinea and Sierra Leone should be avoided as it is pandemic. For Nigeria it is still not pandemic, there are isolated cases, the origin of which was from Liberia, by one late Mr Sawyer. For my country Ghana, there no documented case at the moment. Note that foreign airlines have stopped services in the above 3 countries, but services continue in Nigeria notably British Aieways, Lufthansa, Emirate and KLM. Rwanda air and Ethiopian are still operating in West Africa including Nigeria. So... We suspend flights from Liberia, Guinea and Sierra Leone. Rwanda air, Ethiopian, Gambia Bird fly from these places to Accra and offload passengers. We pick up these passengers and bring them here... aren't we kidding ourselves? ama perception matter. by the way Zambia banned Liberians, Guinean and Sierr Leoneans from coming into their country... coz it's a disease that looks at your passport before deciding whether to infect you or not. All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
Realcement wrote:What is the outcome ?
From my point of view only Liberia, Guinea and Sierra Leone should be avoided as it is pandemic. For Nigeria it is still not pandemic, there are isolated cases, the origin of which was from Liberia, by one late Mr Sawyer. For my country Ghana, there no documented case at the moment. Note that foreign airlines have stopped services in the above 3 countries, but services continue in Nigeria notably British Aieways, Lufthansa, Emirate and KLM. Rwanda air and Ethiopian are still operating in West Africa including Nigeria. You may be headed there.... Quote:Ghana may be recording its first case of Ebola if tests on the blood samples of a Burkinabe man suspected to have died of Ebola proves positive. The man who was rushed to the Bawku Presby Hospital in the Upper East Region from Burkina Faso, died on arrival. The Medical Director at the Hospital, Dr Joseph Yaw Manu, who confirmed the incident to Citi News, said they sent the blood samples for testing because the man was brought in showing symptoms of Ebola. In an interview with Citi News, Dr. Manu said the patient was bleeding from his nostrils which raised their suspicion he may have died of the Ebola disease. Dr. Manu said they are awaiting the results from the blood sample test to verify the cause of death. He gave the assurance that the hospital is prepared to battle the disease. This is the fourth suspected case of Ebola reported in Ghana; two in Kumasi, one in Accra and now the Upper East Regio TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
Unless everyone bans flights from these 3 countries - your ban is in vain! Patrick Sawyer travelled from Liberia to Togo then to Naija enroute to USA! All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
How many of you know that there was a flight from those sides that failed to have its passengers screened by port health?A mistake on KQs ground services team... possunt quia posse videntur
It's all about business!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
McReggae wrote:It's all about business!!! KAPITOLISIM! Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Impunity wrote:McReggae wrote:It's all about business!!! KAPITOLISIM! Korean Air suspends flights to Kenya, these are not capitalists Korean Air Lines Co Ltd said on Thursday it will suspend flights to and from Nairobi from August 20, 2014 to prevent the spread of the deadly Ebola virus. http://www.businessdaily...-/13ga7dmz/-/index.html
maka wrote:How many of you know that there was a flight from those sides that failed to have its passengers screened by port health?A mistake on KQs ground services team... Yes. If there was no direct flight, they would have gone through one or two other capitals in connecting flights and they would have been screened once or twice before they got here and you and I would not be that worried. Isn't it, Maka?
Thiong'o wrote:Impunity wrote:McReggae wrote:It's all about business!!! KAPITOLISIM! Korean Air suspends flights to Kenya, these are not capitalists Korean Air Lines Co Ltd said on Thursday it will suspend flights to and from Nairobi from August 20, 2014 to prevent the spread of the deadly Ebola virus. http://www.businessdaily...-/13ga7dmz/-/index.html
KQ practice KAPITOLISIM while Koreans are known to be WAJAMAA. Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/20/2008 Posts: 6,275 Location: Kenya
masukuma wrote:Unless everyone bans flights from these 3 countries - your ban is in vain! Patrick Sawyer travelled from Liberia to Togo then to Naija enroute to USA! Your insight is very educating. Now what are solutions? Bear in mind that everybody is trying to find a solution to minimize any spread. KQ might be saying if we suspend, then at least we reduce risk to 5% resulting from those who will find alternative routes, but at least they will have saved the 95% direct potential risk. Besides, they will also avoid the risk of being blamed in case anything happens. They would rather loose some business and save corporate image. So what would be the solution from you to make sure the risk is reduced to about same 5% or lower. I offered a solution, which as usual the critics won't see any sense because of the preconditioning. My solution: - stop KQ operations to risk destinations - launch TV, radio billboard campaigns advising people to avoid any contact to minimum family members - wash your hands more frequently (Muslims do this already) - don't do mapango wa kando (Muslims already try in this area, Pliz no debate here. We've debated this many times) - no kissing and hugging strangers (Muslims too try here) - no shaking hands (Muslims have already reduced 50% of this contact across sexes) NOTE: My 5% choice is just for argument sake. I pity the likes of @swenani and their fishmongering activities. Even the the wife he claims to uplift by fishing all over is at risk because of his habits
Muriel wrote:maka wrote:How many of you know that there was a flight from those sides that failed to have its passengers screened by port health?A mistake on KQs ground services team... Yes. If there was no direct flight, they would have gone through one or two other capitals in connecting flights and they would have been screened once or twice before they got here and you and I would not be that worried. Isn't it, Maka? Yes... possunt quia posse videntur
AlphDoti wrote:masukuma wrote:Unless everyone bans flights from these 3 countries - your ban is in vain! Patrick Sawyer travelled from Liberia to Togo then to Naija enroute to USA! Your insight is very educating. Now what are solutions? Bear in mind that everybody is trying to find a solution to minimize any spread. KQ might be saying if we suspend, then at least we reduce risk to 5% resulting from those who will find alternative routes, but at least they will have saved the 95% direct potential risk. Besides, they will also avoid the risk of being blamed in case anything happens. They would rather loose some business and save corporate image. So what would be the solution from you to make sure the risk is reduced to about same 5% or lower. I offered a solution, which as usual the critics won't see any sense because of the preconditioning. My solution: - stop KQ operations to risk destinations - launch TV, radio billboard campaigns advising people to avoid any contact to minimum family members - wash your hands more frequently (Muslims do this already) - don't do mapango wa kando (Muslims already try in this area, Pliz no debate here. We've debated this many times) - no kissing and hugging strangers (Muslims too try here) - no shaking hands (Muslims have already reduced 50% of this contact across sexes) NOTE: My 5% choice is just for argument sake. I pity the likes of @swenani and their fishmongering activities. Even the the wife he claims to uplift by fishing all over is at risk because of his habits for some reason, today I like your post. Because the key word there is TRY
Rank: User Joined: 9/6/2013 Posts: 1,446 Location: In a house
AlphDoti wrote:masukuma wrote:Unless everyone bans flights from these 3 countries - your ban is in vain! Patrick Sawyer travelled from Liberia to Togo then to Naija enroute to USA! Your insight is very educating. Now what are solutions? Bear in mind that everybody is trying to find a solution to minimize any spread. KQ might be saying if we suspend, then at least we reduce risk to 5% resulting from those who will find alternative routes, but at least they will have saved the 95% direct potential risk. Besides, they will also avoid the risk of being blamed in case anything happens. They would rather loose some business and save corporate image. So what would be the solution from you to make sure the risk is reduced to about same 5% or lower. I offered a solution, which as usual the critics won't see any sense because of the preconditioning. My solution: - stop KQ operations to risk destinations - launch TV, radio billboard campaigns advising people to avoid any contact to minimum family members - wash your hands more frequently (Muslims do this already) - don't do mapango wa kando (Muslims already try in this area, Pliz no debate here. We've debated this many times) - no kissing and hugging strangers (Muslims too try here) - no shaking hands (Muslims have already reduced 50% of this contact across sexes) NOTE: My 5% choice is just for argument sake. I pity the likes of @swenani and their fishmongering activities. Even the the wife he claims to uplift by fishing all over is at risk because of his habits Have you ever had any sober conversation that do not include Muslims in it?
AlphDoti wrote:masukuma wrote:Unless everyone bans flights from these 3 countries - your ban is in vain! Patrick Sawyer travelled from Liberia to Togo then to Naija enroute to USA! Your insight is very educating. Now what are solutions? Bear in mind that everybody is trying to find a solution to minimize any spread. KQ might be saying if we suspend, then at least we reduce risk to 5% resulting from those who will find alternative routes, but at least they will have saved the 95% direct potential risk. Besides, they will also avoid the risk of being blamed in case anything happens. They would rather loose some business and save corporate image. So what would be the solution from you to make sure the risk is reduced to about same 5% or lower. I offered a solution, which as usual the critics won't see any sense because of the preconditioning. My solution: - stop KQ operations to risk destinations - launch TV, radio billboard campaigns advising people to avoid any contact to minimum family members - wash your hands more frequently (Muslims do this already) - don't do mapango wa kando (Muslims already try in this area, Pliz no debate here. We've debated this many times) - no kissing and hugging strangers (Muslims too try here) - no shaking hands (Muslims have already reduced 50% of this contact across sexes) NOTE: My 5% choice is just for argument sake. I pity the likes of @swenani and their fishmongering activities. Even the the wife he claims to uplift by fishing all over is at risk because of his habits the solution lies in assisting those 3 countries fend off the disease isolation will back fire mbaya... did you hear the guy tested in Ghana from Bukina Faso had Ebola? How many countries will you ban people from? people are moving faster and faster - why not find a way of combatting the disease where it occurs instead of isolating these people? continue building gates and fences and porous ones at that and see what happens. All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/20/2008 Posts: 6,275 Location: Kenya
masukuma wrote:AlphDoti wrote:masukuma wrote:Unless everyone bans flights from these 3 countries - your ban is in vain! Patrick Sawyer travelled from Liberia to Togo then to Naija enroute to USA! Your insight is very educating. Now what are solutions? Bear in mind that everybody is trying to find a solution to minimize any spread. KQ might be saying if we suspend, then at least we reduce risk to 5% resulting from those who will find alternative routes, but at least they will have saved the 95% direct potential risk. Besides, they will also avoid the risk of being blamed in case anything happens. They would rather loose some business and save corporate image. So what would be the solution from you to make sure the risk is reduced to about same 5% or lower. I offered a solution, which as usual the critics won't see any sense because of the preconditioning. My solution: - stop KQ operations to risk destinations - launch TV, radio billboard campaigns advising people to avoid any contact to minimum family members - wash your hands more frequently (Muslims do this already) - don't do mapango wa kando (Muslims already try in this area, Pliz no debate here. We've debated this many times) - no kissing and hugging strangers (Muslims too try here) - no shaking hands (Muslims have already reduced 50% of this contact across sexes) NOTE: My 5% choice is just for argument sake. I pity the likes of @swenani and their fishmongering activities. Even the the wife he claims to uplift by fishing all over is at risk because of his habits the solution lies in assisting those 3 countries fend off the disease isolation will back fire mbaya... did you hear the guy tested in Ghana from Bukina Faso had Ebola? How many countries will you ban people from? people are moving faster and faster - why not find a way of combatting the disease where it occurs instead of isolating these people? continue building gates and fences and porous ones at that and see what happens. Still your response didn't come out clearly about a solution.
AlphDoti wrote:masukuma wrote:AlphDoti wrote:masukuma wrote:Unless everyone bans flights from these 3 countries - your ban is in vain! Patrick Sawyer travelled from Liberia to Togo then to Naija enroute to USA! Your insight is very educating. Now what are solutions? Bear in mind that everybody is trying to find a solution to minimize any spread. KQ might be saying if we suspend, then at least we reduce risk to 5% resulting from those who will find alternative routes, but at least they will have saved the 95% direct potential risk. Besides, they will also avoid the risk of being blamed in case anything happens. They would rather loose some business and save corporate image. So what would be the solution from you to make sure the risk is reduced to about same 5% or lower. I offered a solution, which as usual the critics won't see any sense because of the preconditioning. My solution: - stop KQ operations to risk destinations - launch TV, radio billboard campaigns advising people to avoid any contact to minimum family members - wash your hands more frequently (Muslims do this already) - don't do mapango wa kando (Muslims already try in this area, Pliz no debate here. We've debated this many times) - no kissing and hugging strangers (Muslims too try here) - no shaking hands (Muslims have already reduced 50% of this contact across sexes) NOTE: My 5% choice is just for argument sake. I pity the likes of @swenani and their fishmongering activities. Even the the wife he claims to uplift by fishing all over is at risk because of his habits the solution lies in assisting those 3 countries fend off the disease isolation will back fire mbaya... did you hear the guy tested in Ghana from Bukina Faso had Ebola? How many countries will you ban people from? people are moving faster and faster - why not find a way of combatting the disease where it occurs instead of isolating these people? continue building gates and fences and porous ones at that and see what happens. Still your response didn't come out clearly about a solution. I did! 1. do surveillance on all passengers 2. join global efforts in fighting Ebola in situ Every country seems to be taking care of themselves now... you call this an outbreak? its infected 1,800 people in a population of 20 million people over 6 months. Isolate these countries and don't get them the help they need then it becomes a problem... then you have refugee problems in that area infected people 'escape' the disease and take it to CIV and other places and so on and so on! all this time you guys are pretty happy that you have locked your gates to the growing chaos outside. The most meaningful thing any rational government can do now to prevent ebola from spreading to it's country is actually assisting the weak governments in these places with almost no health care system fight the disease via 1. awareness (my sources tell me saa hii mtu akikufa kwa nyumba no one touches them... mara hiyo hiyo - yeye na kitanda yake nje for gava to clean up) 2. channels for healthcare workers who are not frozen by fear to actually travel there - I was warmed to see a few 'white' faces in the photo of the 22 month old surviver! you can do what Ghana did 'ban' on paper to get people off your backs as you do the really meaningful work of screening and assisting the fight. All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
Rank: Hello Joined: 8/14/2014 Posts: 2 Location: Nairobi aka Nairobary
KQ ban on flights to West Africa is but just a drop in the ocean in terms of control measures. We have trucks entering into the country all the way from DRC carrying passengers from not only the DRC but illegal immigrants from West African countries. At our bounder entry points we have our usual corrupt police and immigration officers who allow anything in at a price, trust me a whole lot comes in though compared to the KQ flights we are talking about. The other issue is why the authorities react to crisis instead of having safety measures thought-out to safe guard the country. Having good controls in all sectors is one way of creating employment for the youth and safe guarding our economy as a whole. Weedic (Y)
Culture
KQ decision on West African route.....ebola virus