wazua Mon, Dec 23, 2024

6 Pages123>»
HOSPITALS
Alfa
#1 Posted : Thursday, March 05, 2009 8:07:00 AM

My wife is due for delivary in April and we havent yet decided on which hospital to tke her. This is our 1st experience and i need ur advice which hospital with best docs and nursing services.

i am asking since i have been told alot that some hosy rush for C-section just to generate profit while others have nurses who are JUST RUDE.

How expensive is it if my wife come wioth her own doc...... LEONA and the rest,PLEASE ADVICE

Life is short,enjoy to the fullest,But only AFTER investing
#2 Posted : Thursday, March 05, 2009 8:26:00 AM

@Alfa,

It depends on where you are.If you are in Mogadishu,you might have to look for a nice shade tree....

Guka wa bijuti...
Alfa
#3 Posted : Thursday, March 05, 2009 8:40:00 AM

heheehehe,Can you imagine i will be travelling to Mog sato?

anyway i live in south B but dont mention MATER coz my wife is so scared of even the name - reason - mistreatment of her friend by nurse during labour!!!

PONDI
#4 Posted : Thursday, March 05, 2009 8:42:00 AM

rough guide of delivery costs in most decent hospitals are....normal delivery 50k,c-section 140k. thats for the entire package...inclusive all jabs,accomodation for about 3 days. am talking of hospitals like mater,nairobi,aga khan,mp shah,avenue,karen. but be careful,one of those hospitals has a notorious habit of asking patients for their insurance cover...and how much is unspent!!!
#5 Posted : Thursday, March 05, 2009 9:09:00 AM

@Pondi,

140K at this time.??......Bwana......I can introduce you to a mukunga by the name Muthondu .........She sings and the baby crawls out......for 2K only........

Guka wa bijuti...
iKenya
#6 Posted : Thursday, March 05, 2009 9:16:00 AM

Hmm,hehehe,mukunga...anyway,let her ask for her prenatal docs opinion,since he is the one who will be seeing her through the labor(ideally,since anamjua),although its not uncommon for the doctor to recommend a paediatrician to 'receive the baby..basically,it all depends on how much you are willing to pay for the 'better treatment'...
Buy when there's blood in the streets, even if the blood is your own...
Fundaah
#7 Posted : Thursday, March 05, 2009 9:19:00 AM

Good discussion,relevant to me,Pondi so you are back?karibu

Do not judge me by my name.I'm a super star******
Isaiah 65:17-Look! I am creating new heavens and a new earth, and no one will even think about the old ones anymore
Layman
#8 Posted : Thursday, March 05, 2009 9:29:00 AM

try Karen Hospital,very nice facilities but lonliness in the 3star hospital might cause more harm since you will feel like you have been abandoned by your pipo.

The future is already here!
Manja Investor
#9 Posted : Thursday, March 05, 2009 9:45:00 AM

If u have a cover try Nairobi hospital.I saw like they took my pals a 100k for just what mukunga could have sang the baby out for only 2k.

Times are tough I echo the mukunga's way hehehe
Bareta
#10 Posted : Thursday, March 05, 2009 9:48:00 AM

Sometimes if you have your own Doc,the nurses just dilly dally even if you are in critical condition. A friend lost his wife and baby 'cos their Doc didn't arrive in time.

Nairobi Hosp,has a package run by the midwives (can't quite remember how it is called) which enables you to be attended to at the time of delivery by any scheduled Gyne/Obs Doc. It is very effeicient and they've got good facilities. We used it a couple of years ago and have no regrets.

Chief
Gen Kago
#11 Posted : Thursday, March 05, 2009 10:23:00 AM

Part of the ante natal care is planning the delivery. sit down with your doc and let him explain all the options you have. s/he(henceforth he) may not have admission rights to some hospitals.
Dont look at the amount of your insurance cover. most covers have a cap,and should anything go wrong(God forbid) you will have a hefty bill to pay. Go to a hospital you would afford if u didnt have the cover.
on choosing a hospital.... i wuld go for Aga Khan or mater. nairobi hospital is just an overrated nursing home. its run by nurses and consultants,. good nursing care but if things go wrong,mpaka your doc aje,nobody will touch you!
and by the way,care in most ospitals(xcpt gok) is comparable,just be undersanding. dont always look for fault( from your post.. you want the best! wrong attitude. You should ask for good care for your wife and the new born!
#12 Posted : Thursday, March 05, 2009 10:46:00 AM

While at it,how is Nairobi Women's hospital????

Make money.....then you will enjoy all the fine things in life!!!
Alfa
#13 Posted : Thursday, March 05, 2009 10:49:00 AM

Thanks alot dude

@ Geko: all i need is safety and comfort of my wife and baby and a proffesional and human attitude from the nurses.

@ Ikenya: her gyno who she visit for her antinatal told her he could do the procedure for for 30 k (not inclusive of hosy charges) he only operate on few hospitals like nrb and avenue.

@pondi: Thanks,my insurance cover the 1st C section though its not advisable am told Money is not my main concern but the services and safety of da baby and wifey.........

any lady with any experience at any hospital you could recommend?

Djinn
#14 Posted : Thursday, March 05, 2009 10:51:00 AM

@Alfa - I can tell you only on my THREE experiences which were all OK. Kenyatta is good though the nurses are rather indifferent - esp if labour kicks in late at night and you have to wake them. But they will do what needs doing and if a c-section is indicated,they have someone to do that. Normal delivery 3k (as of 2005). C-Section 15k. Had two kids there - both c-sec - first was emergency and last was needed to avoid a raptured uterus from labour spasms.

Marie Stopes - Eastleigh - in some parts Marie Stopes are more known for reproductive health solutions. I've had one child born there AND two nephews and a niece - all no problems - some of them premature but they have the baby microwave to keep the infants going. Kshs 9-15k.

Failing all that,make a print out of this topic and on labour date,make her read Njung'es posts - she'll laugh so hard....

The problem with equality is that we desire that it be with those that have more than us rather that those that have less
Alfa
#15 Posted : Thursday, March 05, 2009 10:59:00 AM

@ djiin,thanks alot bro

@ Njuge,you made my day!!!1

#16 Posted : Thursday, March 05, 2009 11:01:00 AM

My first one,i insisted on seeing her to the labour room.She turned and with tears in her eyes,gave me one fine smack.....!!!....paaaaap....!!!......repaying me in unkindness.....bure kabisa...!

Guka wa bijuti...
Djinn
#17 Posted : Thursday, March 05, 2009 11:04:00 AM

@Alfa - BTW my suggestions seem basic and practical - not meaning to deliberately suggest 'cheap options' - its just that sometimes some of these expensive places are rather over rated for NOTHING. When I see my 9 year old getting his end term report (#5 in class) - he looks no different from the kid who is #12 and who was delivered at 'MoneyBags Health Clinic' for Kshs 150,000. In fact my boy would probably kick his ass since that #12 has been sheltered too much since birth. Don't get me wrong - I am NOT saying that,when it comes to kids,no expense should NOT be spared - nope. Just that the 90-100k difference,I'd rather put away to get pampers for a couple of years,get some non standard vaccines sorted out (flu,adeno,rota,meningitis,etc),have cash for emergencies,buy a perambulator,buy some Guinness for the nursing mother,etc.

Even if I was Mr Money Bags hisself,I'd NOT do it differently because its seem 'proper' and so that people can go 'oooh,they had their baby at the prestigious Money Bag clinic!'

The problem with equality is that we desire that it be with those that have more than us rather that those that have less
reox
#18 Posted : Thursday, March 05, 2009 11:47:00 AM

Currently Agah khan normal 55k c-section 150k,last yr went to Guru nanak normal 28k .... services same!

Be proactive not reactive
Don't let urgent deflect you from the important

Real
#19 Posted : Thursday, March 05, 2009 12:51:00 PM

What about KNH private wing? Anyone with information on how much it costs. I'm told it is affordable and with facilities incase of complications

Real
We live life and dream dreams. To be successful be real
xyzee
#20 Posted : Thursday, March 05, 2009 1:25:00 PM

@alfa

My wife delivered in mater and I found there services to be very good,my neighbour delivered her 2nd born there in Dec (She also delivered the 1 st born there 3 years ago) and is also happy with there services.

However since its your wife who is going to give birth it may be important to take her to a place of her choice where she will be comfortable and relaxed. Her friend's incident with the nurse in mater probably could have been an exceptional case.

My colleague went into labour before her expected date of delivery and had to be rushed to Nairobi hospital where she had initially been booked by her private doctor.

Imagine nobody 'touched' ati coz they were waiting for her private doctor.