wazua Sun, Mar 1, 2026

9 Pages123>»
My Bukusu Darling
Dr. Dre
#1 Posted : Tuesday, July 29, 2014 11:31:38 PM

Earlier on this forum, we had a debate about 'Mukhombero kwa nguvu za kiume'. Now KTN just ran an interesting story about a 24 y.o Indian girl falling for a Bukusu man in Webuye. Kumbe love bado iko? I hope sio mukhombero imeletea that guy mazuri hivyo. Video link:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F9whqh2Cxwc
Don't Work Harder...Work Smarter!
#2 Posted : Wednesday, July 30, 2014 12:36:43 AM

Dr. Dre wrote:
Earlier on this forum, we had a debate about 'Mukhombero kwa nguvu za kiume'. Now KTN just ran an interesting story about a 24 y.o Indian girl falling for a Bukusu man in Webuye. Kumbe love bado iko? I hope sio mukhombero imeletea that guy mazuri hivyo. Video link:

Interesting story.
#3 Posted : Wednesday, July 30, 2014 2:01:14 AM

due to infanticide - there are already fewer indian women than men however the folks of the chick should be happy rather than 'kutoanishwa' dowry as is the custom in india - they would actually gain something from the mzee who has confessed ako na ng'ombe. But seriously, the culture of considering marriages as 'marrying up', 'marrying well' and 'marrying down' should stop. @ecstacy had shared a blog by an indian here sometime back that spoke to that thing. the indian girl dated and almost married a dreadlocked african man.
let me quote
It is not as a big deal for a brown woman to marry a white man. In fact, it could be referred to as, ‘marrying up’ or ‘getting lucky’.
I was once married to an Irishman, and suffered through,
Oh, look at him. He’s just so fair. You are so lucky. You better work hard to hold on to him, or he will be whipped away.

And whispers of,
How did SHE get him?

I had to hold back from turning these women upside down by their sari petticoats, to shake some sense into their hair sprayed heads. He was the lucky one! Though I must have not worked hard enough, because the marriage is in the past tense. Of course my grandmother did tell me when it all fell apart,
How could it have worked out? He IS from a different community.

When in doubt, blame the colonials! It must be a hangover from a century long colonial rule. Generations were born and buried under the British Raj in India. Along with afternoon tea, they left us with the unshakable belief that White is Superior. Lighter is Superior. Ergo White tops Brown. Brown tops Black. Pardon the unfortunate puns.
But back to dreadlocked almost husband for a moment. The biggest thorn pricking our temporary bubble of bliss, was the accusatory glares that came from Kenyans, mostly brown. They all seemed to scream
How dare you?

How dare you be with him – don’t you know WE don’t marry THEM.

only the brave marry out!
#4 Posted : Wednesday, July 30, 2014 2:54:00 AM

Wacha wapendane i hear you love once
#5 Posted : Wednesday, July 30, 2014 4:41:43 AM

Dr. Dre wrote:

Huyo mhindi ako na genes za mlughya kweli! AMA ni fimbo imefanya Kazi?
#6 Posted : Wednesday, July 30, 2014 7:10:07 AM

Recommended reading :Americannah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
#7 Posted : Wednesday, July 30, 2014 8:01:05 AM

Dr. Dre wrote:

Ameiva proper...smile
#8 Posted : Wednesday, July 30, 2014 8:23:01 AM

Dr. Dre wrote:

Its all nothing but fimbo, imemguza pahali akasikia kukojoa, hawezi wacha.
Her parents are fighting a losing battle.

#9 Posted : Wednesday, July 30, 2014 8:27:13 AM

Wow!! Am a father of several girls so my opinion here is obviously biased.

As you grow older you realise the heart is not so smart, especially when falling in love. Sadly, the father will have to step in and clean up the the daughter's mess on her own life. One can only hope it wont be too late.

And how comes no one is talking about the interesting interplay of culture, racism, love and youthful foolishness.

Yeah, i know that sounds tycho-ish.
Muriel
#10 Posted : Wednesday, July 30, 2014 8:39:20 AM

It is easier when both have the same mindsets.

Mindsets are a product of upbringing and environment. Skin colour is irrelevant to this arrangement. Relearning is the hurdle.

Experience will triumph and father better not disown his daughter - she will need him, as always daughters do.
YoungMulla
#11 Posted : Wednesday, July 30, 2014 8:58:00 AM

Good for them. I hadn't even noticed indian chics could have hips. Lucky bast**d
Before I die - i will touch the sky!!
#12 Posted : Wednesday, July 30, 2014 9:48:19 AM

Wow!! Am a father of several girls so my opinion here is obviously biased.

As you grow older you realise the heart is not so smart, especially when falling in love. Sadly, the father will have to step in and clean up the the daughter's mess on her own life. One can only hope it wont be too late.

And how comes no one is talking about the interesting interplay of culture, racism, love and youthful foolishness.

Yeah, i know that sounds tycho-ish.

Ummmh did I get you right?Apparently she is "foolish" because of marrying an African whose a pauper?What mess is this you are talking about?
#13 Posted : Wednesday, July 30, 2014 10:01:43 AM

YoungMulla wrote:
Good for them. I hadn't even noticed indian chics could have hips. Lucky bast**d

Thats the first thing I noticedBrick wall Brick wall Brick wall
#14 Posted : Wednesday, July 30, 2014 10:04:24 AM

Lost girl, hope she comes to her senses soon!
Mtafiti
#15 Posted : Wednesday, July 30, 2014 10:07:37 AM

I wish it lasts at least a month from today. Precedent.
#16 Posted : Wednesday, July 30, 2014 10:17:12 AM

Mtafiti wrote:
I wish it lasts at least a month from today. Precedent.

The man is 25 and the gal is 24!

Let the man eat pink things while it last, opportunity daent come twice in a lifetime.

luttz
#17 Posted : Wednesday, July 30, 2014 10:30:51 AM

Hips don't lie, let them enjoy while it lasts
"You've never lived until you've almost died; for those who have fought for it, life has a flavour the protected will never know."
Muriel
#18 Posted : Wednesday, July 30, 2014 10:37:06 AM

Afropessimists vs afropragmatists vs afroptimists.

The africana deluge.

Sad Sad Sad Sad Sad
YoungMulla
#19 Posted : Wednesday, July 30, 2014 10:51:52 AM

But the way his pals were salivating at that girl, he better keep her close #teammafisi
Before I die - i will touch the sky!!
#20 Posted : Wednesday, July 30, 2014 11:10:45 AM

Looks to me like the girl is just rebelling from her parents or something, she will look around for something familiar and find none. Even her dressing didn't seem to fit the environment. The man should hasten to make her pregnant though. So that when she leaves, he will have a ticket to future wealth!!!!