wazua Sat, Nov 16, 2024

Am torn btn buying a Prado and a piece of land.
westkate
#1 Posted : Monday, July 14, 2014 10:35:46 PM

buying a prado for hire i will be earning some cash. buying a piece of land is good and has its benefit . which is better than the other and why
westkate
icecube
#2 Posted : Monday, July 14, 2014 11:11:02 PM

You are right, by buying a prado for hire, you will be earning some cash. However, depreciation and maintenance costs will eat up the cash faster than you think, especially if it is your only car for hire. Clients may also not be as regular as expected. Some may not pay up as expected and worse still, the car can even be stolen.

A piece of land is good, and better. In buying land, it will be a win win situation. Depending on the location and other factors, the value of the land will appreciate and you can still earn cash from the land by renting it out or doing other activities on it such as farming. Chances of the land being stolen are minimal, towards nil. Maintenance costs of the land will also be minimal.

My view..Buying a piece of land is better than buying a prado...
Boris Boyka
#3 Posted : Monday, July 14, 2014 11:12:17 PM

westkate wrote:
buying a prado for hire i will be earning some cash. buying a piece of land is good and has its benefit . which is better than the other and why
westkate

Answer these questions.
How much capital do you have? what is your target ROI (% ) and after what period (yrs )
what's the price of prado? what business will you be doing with it? what's the expected net income monthly then annual? how many man hours will you spend on monitoring/servicing the prado?
What is the cost of the land you want to buy? what's the rate of appreciation of prices of land in the general areas? how many man hours will you spend taking care of your land?
Numbers won't lie!
Everybody STEALS, a THIEF is one who's CAUGHT stealing something of LITTLE VALUE. !!!
icecube
#4 Posted : Monday, July 14, 2014 11:13:14 PM

Boris Boyka wrote:
westkate wrote:
westkate

Answer these questions.
How much capital do you have? what is your target ROI (% ) and after what period (yrs )
what's the price of prado? what business will you be doing with it? what's the expected net income monthly then annual? how many man hours will you spend on monitoring/servicing the prado?
What is the cost of the land you want to buy? what's the rate of appreciation of prices of land in the general areas? how many man hours will you spend taking care of your land?
Numbers won't lie!

The land wins!!
a4architect.com
#5 Posted : Tuesday, July 15, 2014 10:49:22 AM

in kenya, buying land in a good place where appreciation is high is one of the easiest ways to see your money grow.to realise the profits, you will have to sell the land.
As Iron Sharpens Iron, So one Man Sharpens Another.
westkate
#6 Posted : Tuesday, July 15, 2014 3:16:33 PM

looks like many are in suggestion of buying a land .i would appreciate if you can recommend good places to buy a piece of land especially for building a residential house.
i love wazua for their insight and honesty. keep up the good work.
icecube
#7 Posted : Wednesday, July 16, 2014 8:56:45 PM

There are very many good place one can buy land. What will matter is how much you want to spend. For residential houses, to attract tenants, of course the location must be habitable with usual services. It should also be easily accessible. You have countless options, depending on how much you are willing to spend and what period you expect a return of your investment.
kamundu
#8 Posted : Wednesday, July 16, 2014 9:13:29 PM

Shamba anyday
Peace in our Homeland.
#9 Posted : Wednesday, July 16, 2014 9:29:05 PM

pick what you are comfortable with, don't let the land chorus overwhelm you - go into land ka hauna haraka na pesa, otherwise unless wewe ni broker proper, disposing off land can be an uphill task to some.

if you can grow your prado biz well, just focus on that.
#10 Posted : Thursday, July 17, 2014 7:29:49 AM

NSE stocks anyday,consult kina maichblack,guru267,stocksmaster etc!!!!!
#11 Posted : Thursday, July 17, 2014 8:16:20 AM

pick what you are comfortable with, don't let the land chorus overwhelm you - go into land ka hauna haraka na pesa, otherwise unless wewe ni broker proper, disposing off land can be an uphill task to some.

if you can grow your prado biz well, just focus on that.

Great advice
Techsoft
#12 Posted : Saturday, July 19, 2014 11:01:12 AM

Try NSE and Land. The returns may take longer but guaranteed
#13 Posted : Saturday, July 19, 2014 11:46:29 AM

Nse and Land!
icecube
#14 Posted : Saturday, July 19, 2014 1:54:48 PM

Techsoft wrote:
Try NSE and Land. The returns may take longer but guaranteed

I suspect returns on NSE may not be as guaranteed as on land
premio
#15 Posted : Saturday, July 19, 2014 8:40:20 PM

u can make it in real estate and still buy the prado but my suggestion is start low with a Rav4.Since u have KES4M import a white 2007 RAV4 FOR 1630000KES once the car is here finance it for 1M PAYABLE in 36 installments at approx 33000kes pm. The purpose of the loan is to transfer the risk to the bank. You will be left with 3400000kes to invest in land and real estate. The Rav4 will get u at least 120000kes pm and u can save for 2 years sell it and buy a fairly used prado for approx 2.2m that can then get u 250k pm on corporate rentals. I have done rental for about 6 years using saloons dealing with expartriates and reputable corporates only its profitable if you are not greedy. LOcals only a handfull are worth renting to.
bartum
#16 Posted : Saturday, July 19, 2014 10:47:13 PM

premio wrote:
u can make it in real estate and still buy the prado but my suggestion is start low with a Rav4.Since u have KES4M import a white 2007 RAV4 FOR 1630000KES once the car is here finance it for 1M PAYABLE in 36 installments at approx 33000kes pm. The purpose of the loan is to transfer the risk to the bank. You will be left with 3400000kes to invest in land and real estate. The Rav4 will get u at least 120000kes pm and u can save for 2 years sell it and buy a fairly used prado for approx 2.2m that can then get u 250k pm on corporate rentals. I have done rental for about 6 years using saloons dealing with expartriates and reputable corporates only its profitable if you are not greedy. LOcals only a handfull are worth renting to.

how much do you rent a NZE new per month