wazua Sun, Jul 27, 2025

smart bus in nairobi
K22
#1 Posted : Tuesday, September 01, 2009 5:20:00 AM

Have they been launched? which route will they operate on?

Will the idea of using 'swipe' cards fly with Kenyans?

Randomly insane

A successful man is one who makes more money than his wife can spend. A successful woman is one who can find such a man
#2 Posted : Tuesday, September 01, 2009 6:00:00 AM

i saw one yesterday morning on kajiado road.

A likely impossibility is always preferable to an unconvincing posibility.
#3 Posted : Tuesday, September 01, 2009 7:03:00 AM

kajiado road? where is kajiado road? i dont mind them if they will bring sanity in our roads.... i can constructively do something with that hour or two in traffic!

Experience is what you get when you don't get what you want.

tuvok
#4 Posted : Tuesday, September 01, 2009 8:14:00 AM

I saw one today near Nyayo House with a 46 sticker on it. Not sure if that meant that it was a route 46. It was quite empty though.

Would quite handy actually...
#5 Posted : Tuesday, September 01, 2009 9:06:00 AM

Will it work? On route 46 for instance,alot of folk are on a daily wage,meaning that transport for the day is paid for by the earnings for that day. So will they invest minimum Ksh 100 for a smartcard covering several trips/days?
K22
#6 Posted : Tuesday, September 01, 2009 12:52:00 PM

@GG,where are those smart cards bought?

Randomly insane

A successful man is one who makes more money than his wife can spend. A successful woman is one who can find such a man
jaribu
#7 Posted : Tuesday, September 01, 2009 1:24:00 PM

this country is just a load of bullocks. there's absolutely no comprehensive transport policy. you can actually buy 100 matatus tomorrow and inject them right on our roads and you won't be asked a single question by anyone. the transport supremo chirau mwakwere is himself a proud owner of several matatus which conflict with his role. and just wait till we are told who is behind the so called smart buses....must be one pot bellied mheshimiwa. sorry guys but in many ways we are stuck in stone age while being urged to recite that nonsense about being proud to be kenyan. what a load of tosh!

bY aNy MeAns NecEsSaRy.....
Kamaa
#8 Posted : Tuesday, September 01, 2009 1:58:00 PM

red is not always smart...

naona tajiri fulani akiundwa!

you've heard me..
When you hear what I say, you will not understand. When you see what I do, you will not comprehend
#9 Posted : Tuesday, September 01, 2009 3:13:00 PM

@wendz. Kajiado road starts from bomas of kenya up to kajiado town

A likely impossibility is always preferable to an unconvincing posibility.
kiriita
#10 Posted : Tuesday, September 01, 2009 4:06:00 PM

@sober,I'd have sworn that's Magadi Road.....and that (unless u branch off after Kiserian etc) u'd end up in Magadi..

No Risk No Gain
murenj
#11 Posted : Tuesday, September 01, 2009 4:15:00 PM

Not a so smart idea. We have seen all these before. Nice try though.

Muthonwa a Agikuyu
skodhe
#12 Posted : Wednesday, September 02, 2009 11:05:00 AM

i boarded one today. infact we were only three passengers in the whole bus.

JPT - JAFIRE PIERRE TYNDOH
The Real Shaft
#13 Posted : Wednesday, September 02, 2009 11:11:00 AM

brilliant idea.....

but as usual...

kenyans know better.....

red ain't a good colour...

swipe will not be adapted.....

mara...

the route will be too long....

female drivers.....

remember Moi and ma3s...

kwani mimi ni dereva...???

I'm the real Massey F.....shut your mouth
I'm the real Massey Fergu...... Shut your mouth....
Jay R
#14 Posted : Tuesday, September 08, 2009 3:36:00 PM

I think on this one,Kenyans shunning the whole thing ain't helpful.If they knew better,they would be demanding the better. The benefits of the smart cards are enormous and beneficial to the whole economy.But as usual,change has to be resisted first. Of coz it's gonna take a while to put everything in its rightful place,but that doesn't mean we shun it. This is how a well established system would look and feel;
A private smart card issuer steps forward[they can be more than one].They 'sell' the smart cards plus the infrastructure [the card recharging machines and the swiping machines on buses and marts/kiosks]. The gov't reigns on all matatus[they will have to buses for max. benefits] to join the system[this has nothing to do with gov't meddling in private business,it's regulation for public good].Single bus ownership ceases and operators form societies/companies to run the business. All buses are homogeneous in color and sizes. For routes having similar variables,they carry the same color and charge the same fare.For buses plying to the sub-urbs[Ruai,Rongai,Kitengela etc] will have another color and a higher fare[these ones get a full fare no matter what]. Fares having been predetermined,situations of peak/off-peak fares or fares going up whenever it rains or late at night would be a thing of the past.The gov't,through the card issuing company,will be able to collect taxes from the bus operators.By the time the system is fully operational and all buses brought on board,many guys will have lost their jobs[the touts as with the smart card system,there wont be need for touts] and with savings from corruption and cut-throat competition,the bus companies can employ at least 2 drivers for a 18hour day. With a more organized public transport system,efficiency and disciplined will be immensely enhanced.Working conditions for the drivers will be much better.They will be pensionable and have medical cover. The smart cards can be used as debit cards to make payments in marts,book shops petrol stations etc. With the adoption of such a system,if one uses more the two buses to get some place,you pay full fare for the first bus,on transferring to the second bus within 30 minutes of alighting,you pay between 25-30%.If you happen to transfer to a third bus,you pay nothing.Since most of commuting is round trip,the guy who gets nothing the first time,gets the lion share second round. The whole country is getting wired,let's utilize the benefits of ICT .Woe unto the corrupt cops,with no cash to target,they will have to do their jobs.

When i see my purple,you see it not.
when i see my purple, you see it not!
#15 Posted : Thursday, October 15, 2009 10:07:00 AM

Yes. Smart buses are here. I had the privilege of using one on Friday last.

My experience
You buy the card from the conductor before you enter. You pay 100bob for the card but they only retain 30 bob and the 70 bob is for the bus fare but you will need to top up too. You (can i call it 'screening' for lack of a better word?) your card and the machine records where you have entered. The money is put in a 'black box' - literally - next to the driver so the driver and the conductor does not handle money. they will load your card with the amount you have requested using another gadget next to the driver. You have to have exact money coz they do not have change.. eg if you give them 200 bob and wanted to load 100bob,they will put the whole amount unless you get someone else loading 100bob and has that 100bob as loose change.

Now this machine is programmed to show all the stages on your route - or the buses route if you like. This allows the 'barrier' to open so you can enter the bus. when you get to your destination,you 'screen' the card again and it deducts the amount from your card and shows you the balance too. I believe the fare is programmed per mileage you travel.

Good things:
The thing is so damn cheap you feel like you just robbed them!! seriously! A trip like from town to nyayo stadium or equivalent you are charged some ridiculous amount like 7 bob!!

The travel is organised - no standing on the bus,its comfortable,the conductor and the driver are not rude - yeah,its nice.

The bus can only go up to the KMs it has been programmed to go eg if its 10kms to Nyayo stadium,the bus can not move beyond that point coz if it does,the system closes down and the bus shuts down and someone from the office has to come and reprogramme it...... so hijackers cant take you to arusha if the bus is only programmed to move 30kms that route (dont ask me how this has been done).

The reception of the buses (at least from where i live) is very very good. they started with one bus last week and they have since increased to 3............ already!

Bad thing
It takes long to get all the people enter the bus coz of the entry procedure (screening the cards).

If you loose your card,someone else can use your money - they are all identical and no pin number or anything.

(i think these two negatives commutors can handle)

Overall,its a smart way to travel

Experience is what you get when you don't get what you want.

skodhe
#16 Posted : Thursday, October 15, 2009 12:57:00 PM

@Wendz

where do you stay. Do you use smart bus for rongai or which one?

Sleeping like a little baby
Layman
#17 Posted : Friday, October 16, 2009 5:34:00 AM

Similarity of the cards not a problem because even the moneys look similar. We are waiting for them in Umo/Kayole route if they will ever reach there.

There's no hurry in Kenya!
Mtu Biz
#18 Posted : Friday, October 16, 2009 7:54:00 AM

I've used the smartbus about 5 times now to and from rongai. I had a similar experience as wendz. From rongai to town 49 bob,from rongai to bomas 19 bob. I believe the charge meter runs with the mileage.

Excellent seating,lots of natural light,sio kama hopper and an overall predictable experience,no sudden braking or cornering... and yes no maina kageni crap in the morning or any entertainment... i love that.

Also No bus stop layabouts banging on the side of the bus trying to get you to go coz.... theres no cash.. if this idea catches on we might see an end to touting.

I have travelled in a full smartbus about 4 times now. The idea will catch on,if guys learnt how to send smses and do Mpesa,this will be ride in the bus...

I hope one day all public transport will evolve to this level.

..... the sons of Zeruiah .....
Sola Scriptura

akowally
#19 Posted : Friday, October 16, 2009 7:58:00 AM

I think its a great idea and should be all over Nairobi to teach the matatus a lesson or two. The thing with my esto is that the mats shrewdness helps them to still be way above the rest. They know all the panya roots they can use to get to tao. That way they are still ahead of the game compared to Hoppas,2Ms and KBS,all of which ply the route. For me I wouldn't have a problem waking up a lil earlier to pay 'ridiculously' low amounts.

@mtu biz

Just a thought,is 49 bob from Ronga to tao cheap? I feel like that's expensive esp. because there are mats which do around 30bob off peak.

When we pray in praise to God,he makes a difference in our lives.
JOIN MY FREE MINI-COURSE FOR WRITERS. CLICK HERE
Mtu Biz
#20 Posted : Friday, October 16, 2009 8:12:00 AM

@ Akowally. Personally i would rather pay a consistent predictable 49bob than pay 30 one day and 100 the next.

..... the sons of Zeruiah .....
Sola Scriptura