wazua Sat, Jan 11, 2025

6 Pages123>»
Stop the Noise in Residential Areas
#1 Posted : Wednesday, June 04, 2014 2:12:34 PM

This just popped up in my email. Are you suffering in silence?
99 supporters of this petition so far http://www.change.org/petitions...-residential-areas-snore

To: CS Judy Wakhungu, Uhuru Kenyatta, John Mututho.

Stop the Noise in Residential Areas: SNORE

Sincerely,
[Your name]

#2 Posted : Wednesday, June 04, 2014 2:17:10 PM

Some sufferers...

#3 Posted : Wednesday, June 04, 2014 2:20:56 PM

What about mosques?
Muriel
#4 Posted : Wednesday, June 04, 2014 2:58:25 PM

And video shops? Zile za "movies@50"?
#5 Posted : Wednesday, June 04, 2014 4:39:53 PM

Muriel wrote:

kwani unaishi wapi?
#6 Posted : Wednesday, June 04, 2014 4:56:21 PM

muganda wrote:
This just popped up in my email. Are you suffering in silence?
99 supporters of this petition so far http://www.change.org/petitions...-residential-areas-snore

To: CS Judy Wakhungu, Uhuru Kenyatta, John Mututho.

Stop the Noise in Residential Areas: SNORE

Sincerely,
[Your name]

\
Why this petition when my biz is just thriving? It is either they do away with alco blow or residential bars.They cannot do away with residential bars and retain alcoblow.

Where do they want the bars to go to?Commercial areas?

Jangwa la Jangili
#7 Posted : Wednesday, June 04, 2014 5:18:11 PM

What about mosques?

deities have a slight hearing problem so those should be excused.

http://img.sadistic.pl/pics/b099806fad52.png
Katika Jangwa la Jangili ndipo Pwagu hupata Pwaguzi.
#8 Posted : Wednesday, June 04, 2014 6:14:57 PM

Jangwa la Jangili wrote:
What about mosques?

@Jangili there you go again... you are starting it. See who always starts the abuses.
#9 Posted : Wednesday, June 04, 2014 6:28:32 PM

Jangwa la Jangili wrote:
[quote=KulaRaha]What about mosques?

http://img.sadistic.pl/pics/b099806fad52.png[/quote]
@Jangili there you go again... you are starting it. See who always starts the abuses.

that was provocation!
arkard
#10 Posted : Wednesday, June 04, 2014 6:59:28 PM

Jangwa la Jangili wrote:
[quote=KulaRaha]What about mosques?

http://img.sadistic.pl/pics/b099806fad52.png[/quote]

that was provocation!

Not good at all...
Above all, guard your heart, for it is the wellspring of life.
#11 Posted : Wednesday, June 04, 2014 7:28:18 PM

What about mosques?

How long does the noise last?
#12 Posted : Wednesday, June 04, 2014 8:09:09 PM

What about mosques?

@KulaRaha today you are calling for ban on adhan. What about tomorrow. The next day you will also have problems with Adhan made during working hours. And eventually you will ask us to stop going to mosque.

Your problem is not really this call for prayer (adhan). Your problem is that you don't believe in God. You don't believe Islam is religion ordained by God. So your problem runs deeper.

The issue of bringing up morning call for prayer is just a front, in order to attack Islam. Even if Muslim don't do it, you would still be attacking.

If we tell you this was divinely instructed, you will still say how convenient it is whenever something that seems strange, you say that God commanded.

Then I say we need to discuss the issue of whether Islam was divined by Allah (God Almighty) or not. And that would settle the argument. If Islam is true religion of Allah, then we have no right to question what Allah told us to do. If we establish that Islam is Allah's religion, then whatever Allah tells us to do we should accept it. Because Allah owes nothing to us and we owe everything to Him.

@maka this is how long it takes:
#13 Posted : Wednesday, June 04, 2014 8:50:14 PM

Is NEMA deaf, defunct or dead? Sad
#14 Posted : Thursday, June 05, 2014 8:12:10 AM

alphidoti would it be acceptable if the mosques had some sort of wireless/radio transmitters and the muslims have some receivers in their homes and the adhan be done through that system?
#15 Posted : Thursday, June 05, 2014 11:05:49 AM

mkenyan wrote:
alphidoti would it be acceptable if the mosques had some sort of wireless/radio transmitters and the muslims have some receivers in their homes and the adhan be done through that system?

@mkenya the answer is No, that would not be acceptable. That will just be like an alarm clock. You think people don't have alarms in the house?
But what do they do? They hit the snooze button.

So you ask why do Muslims give the Adhan (call for prayer)?

There are many reason:
1. To tell everyone it is time. Just like an examiner rings a bell to signal time is up, even if everybody has a watch. In the Christian we have bell. Some religion we have the drum. All these the prophet said no. No drum, no bell. Someone suggested human voice. He liked it.
2. Apart from being a human voice, our adhan has a message. A bell cannot speak.
3. Apart from message calling you to prayer, it is testifying that there is only one God.
4. The beauty part of it is that wherever part of the world you go, this call for prayer is in Arabic. Example if you go to France, and you don't understand French, even if I don't know Arabic, at least I know the translation of the adhan.
5. The other reason is that we pray in congregation. So the adhan is reminding you that the congregation is going to start.

So even in this age of technology
it is a reminder. It is calling you towards the truth, it is calling you towards success. That is why hundred years, thousand years it was correct and even today it is correct and even tomorrow it will be correct.
#16 Posted : Thursday, June 05, 2014 11:21:36 AM

mkenyan wrote:

@mkenya the answer is No, that would not be acceptable. That will just be like an alarm clock. You think people don't have alarms in the house?
But what do they do? They hit the snooze button.

So you ask why do Muslims give the Adhan (call for prayer)?

There are many reason:
1. To tell everyone it is time. Just like an examiner rings a bell to signal time is up, even if everybody has a watch. In the Christian we have bell. Some religion we have the drum. All these the prophet said no. No drum, no bell. Someone suggested human voice. He liked it.
2. Apart from being a human voice, our adhan has a message. A bell cannot speak.
3. Apart from message calling you to prayer, it is testifying that there is only one God.
4. The beauty part of it is that wherever part of the world you go, this call for prayer is in Arabic. Example if you go to France, and you don't understand French, even if I don't know Arabic, at least I know the translation of the adhan.
5. The other reason is that we pray in congregation. So the adhan is reminding you that the congregation is going to start.

So even in this age of technology
it is a reminder. It is calling you towards the truth, it is calling you towards success. That is why hundred years, thousand years it was correct and even today it is correct and even tomorrow it will be correct.

am thinking more like a receiver to receive the actual adhan voiced by the imam (?) such that all muslims would get it loud and clear in their homes. no loud free for alls. the muslims could maybe put the receiver or its speaker up near their ceiling where they wont easily reach and so wont have an option of putting it off. i also dont believe that muslims would be sabotaging the receiver like they would an alarm clock. these could also address the issue in large gated communities where the locations may not allow adhan to reach all.
#17 Posted : Thursday, June 05, 2014 11:59:53 AM

Jangwa la Jangili wrote:
What about mosques?

The mosque in my hood is a total nuisance. Someone should go to Constitutional Court and shut that noise pollution down.

BAH

Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you
#18 Posted : Thursday, June 05, 2014 12:03:21 PM

What about mosques?

Starts at 5.06 am full volume for 5 to 7 seven minutes, wakes everyone up.

Then again 5.30 am, slightly lower volume.

Then sijui lunchtime, full blast screaming.

Then again 4pm full blast screaming.

The 6pm full blast screaming.

Then 8 pm full blast screaming.

So uncivilised and backwards!
#19 Posted : Thursday, June 05, 2014 12:06:27 PM

What about mosques?

@KulaRaha today you are calling for ban on adhan. What about tomorrow. The next day you will also have problems with Adhan made during working hours. And eventually you will ask us to stop going to mosque.

Your problem is not really this call for prayer (adhan). Your problem is that you don't believe in God. You don't believe Islam is religion ordained by God. So your problem runs deeper.

The issue of bringing up morning call for prayer is just a front, in order to attack Islam. Even if Muslim don't do it, you would still be attacking.

If we tell you this was divinely instructed, you will still say how convenient it is whenever something that seems strange, you say that God commanded.

Then I say we need to discuss the issue of whether Islam was divined by Allah (God Almighty) or not. And that would settle the argument. If Islam is true religion of Allah, then we have no right to question what Allah told us to do. If we establish that Islam is Allah's religion, then whatever Allah tells us to do we should accept it. Because Allah owes nothing to us and we owe everything to Him.

@maka this is how long it takes:

Do I come screaming every time I'm going to eat a meal, or when I want to pray?

Just pray in privacy like the rest of us, and stop this tabias of 2nd century AD.

Move on, and progress. Why does everything have to be "an attack on Islam"? That screaming has been banned in many countries. I don't see Islam diminishing...

d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!
Muriel
#20 Posted : Thursday, June 05, 2014 12:08:29 PM

mkenyan wrote:
Muriel wrote:

kwani unaishi wapi?

In close proximity to one. And a mosque too. I usually sleep right through the adhan however and have developed resistance, immunity to it.

The guy who runs the shop is somali muslim and I hate it when he pollutes the air more than the adhan.

Alphdoti, what can I tell him so that he stops this pollution? I want something that he will feel personally and deeply connected to to make him change his mind about it.