matatuman wrote:Rankaz13 wrote:My experience with their size 185/70R13 (kwa matatu) left me feeling thoroughly cheated. Tyres would wear out unevenly despite alignment and balancing (even on the hind wheels), develop bumps on the side wall, vibrate beyond certain speeds, etc. Thank heavens for the GTRadial (Indonesia). Been using them since 2011 (at a fraction of Yana's cost) and have absolutely no complaints.
Used to be a Yana diehard until early this year. I think I bought a faulty batch coz I have had to replace 3 out of 8 tyres. They developed tiny bumps on the sidewall and tread that look like swellings. Not the kind you get by hitting kerbs. Not to mention you can't balance the tyre.
Currently experimenting with Ceat and Apollo. Why the preference for GT Indonesia?
That mirrors my yana experience. For me there was no way I could believe the batch was faulty because every single tyre I bought from them had the same fault. Mpaka siku moja karibu tushikane mashati hapa na the local dealer akikataa kubadilisha a two-week old tyre that had turned out faulty
GTRadial Indonesia is said to be higher quality as compared to GTRadial China. This is just anecdotal info I gathered when I switced, never used the Chinese one on any of the units. At the time I switched, a yana was going for 7500/= while GT was going for 4500/=.
Interestingly, on the larger tyres (we use 195R15C on shark) GT doesnt fare so well. Hapa, the good ones I know of are Maxxis/TruckMax (which is what I use) and Apollo (what @Prime uses). A friend was telling me recently that CEAT is good too but I'm yet to try them. There was also another brand called Arrow something or the other, best tyres ever lakini siku hizi sizioni sokoni.