wazua Thu, Mar 19, 2026

20 Pages123>»
SHOCKED - Less than 15,000 Nairobian's earning above 100k
Kihara joni
#1 Posted : Monday, April 14, 2014 2:10:17 PM

SHOCKED -Less than 15,000 employed Nairobian's earn more than 100K pm

Reading this online that only about 15k Nairobians earn more than 100k, aii kwani how much does a regular guy earn in the Capital? Explain all the cars the boozing and flashy lifstyle of you Nairobi guys (is this thread in the right place to begin with)
urstill1
#2 Posted : Monday, April 14, 2014 2:16:56 PM

I'm surprised and no the thread is not in the right place. Do you know where club SK is? Take it there in the life section.
#3 Posted : Monday, April 14, 2014 2:18:35 PM

Have they factored in people in business who don't earn a regular salary but make tonnes of cash? The reason I doubt this figure is because there are too many rental houses going for 20k a month and over.

#4 Posted : Monday, April 14, 2014 2:33:16 PM

Kihara joni wrote:
SHOCKED -Less than 15,000 employed Nairobian's earn more than 100K pm

Reading this online that only about 15k Nairobians earn more than 100k, aii kwani how much does a regular guy earn in the Capital? Explain all the cars the boozing and flashy lifstyle of you Nairobi guys (is this thread in the right place to begin with)

RINK?

Was this survey conducted by synovate cos it doesn't seem to add up...
mv_ufanisi
#5 Posted : Monday, April 14, 2014 3:09:26 PM

It obviously doesn't make sense. 100k a month gets you to live in a 20k to 30k house a month. How many of such houses exist?
#6 Posted : Monday, April 14, 2014 3:13:20 PM

Have they factored in people in business who don't earn a regular salary but make tonnes of cash? The reason I doubt this figure is because there are too many rental houses going for 20k a month and over.

For many Nairobians, I have come to realize, what they pay as rent doesn't collate with their salaries. I knew a chap who was earning 50k net and staying in 30k two bedroom.
#7 Posted : Monday, April 14, 2014 3:47:34 PM

100K is payslip before you factor in stealing, kickbacks, corruption, bank loans, shylock, merry-go-round, chama etc.
#8 Posted : Monday, April 14, 2014 4:12:05 PM

radio wrote:

For many Nairobians, I have come to realize, what they pay as rent doesn't collate with their salaries. I knew a chap who was earning 50k net and staying in 30k two bedroom.

And some receptionists, secretaries etc. earning 30,000/= but who pay a monthly rent of 40,000/=.

He he he he

Hiyo ingine ni akina @mawider, @magigi, @impunity wanatoa. Probably the same lady - @magigi - rent, @mawider - Shopping (household), @Impunity - Shopping (Clothes, shoes, bags etc.), outings (starting with T-Mall #gizzards), @watchman, @University/college student, @shamba boy - Landing! Serious landing!!!! The others just pass by the airport.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
tnai9
#9 Posted : Monday, April 14, 2014 4:13:11 PM

This is so wrong. As someone said above, look at the rents in Nairobi, number of cars on the road which i assume are mainly financed by employers. I believe many guys who are driving (loan cars) are earning more than 80k, conservatively. Many parastatals, govt employees(Mpigs, civil service) are averagely paid - btn 70k and 800k. What of some bankers, NGOs etc. That actual figure is so many times higher.
"The problem with the world is that the intelligent people are full of doubts, while the stupid ones are full of confidence." ― Charles Bukowski
#10 Posted : Monday, April 14, 2014 4:26:55 PM

Majority of Kenyans are "under the ladder" so they are never in the official statistics. The informal and small business sector have quite a pool of "millionaires" who are officially "unemployed".

20 Pages123>»