wazua Sat, Jan 25, 2025

tractor business
swale01
#1 Posted : Wednesday, April 02, 2014 12:36:12 PM

hi wazuans am planning to buy a tractor for farming business with an approximate 900k with its 3 disc plough the fear is that ive never been to that business in my life and not even a relative of mine have been into this. pls could someone give me advice on whether the business is viable or not and most probably its challenges. I will be glad
iKenya
#2 Posted : Thursday, April 03, 2014 4:43:14 AM

That is the easiest way to lose money, pray tell, why would you go into a business you have no clue about?

You mention that you want it for farming. Do you farm? What crop na wapi? That information is what should have led you to conclude ya kwamba unataka tractor ya jembe tatu!

This business is like having a matatu and trying different route every day...Think Driver, spares, fuel, routes/shambas etc.....
Buy when there's blood in the streets, even if the blood is your own...
subaru
#3 Posted : Thursday, April 03, 2014 4:59:24 AM

iKenya wrote:
That is the easiest way to lose money, pray tell, why would you go into a business you have no clue about?

You mention that you want it for farming. Do you farm? What crop na wapi? That information is what should have led you to conclude ya kwamba unataka tractor ya jembe tatu!

This business is like having a matatu and trying different route every day...Think Driver, spares, fuel, routes/shambas etc.....

@ i kenya stop freakin out somebody just tell them to do more research to get a few facts right even owning one and cultivating other peoples shambas is not a bad idea

mmarto
#4 Posted : Thursday, April 03, 2014 9:29:41 AM

subaru wrote:
iKenya wrote:

@ i kenya stop freakin out somebody just tell them to do more research to get a few facts right even owning one and cultivating other peoples shambas is not a bad idea

@subaru, well said. I am also looking for a tractor to farm my shamba. When iam not using it i lima for neighbours, ues it is a business.
The only time you should be looking down on others is when you are helping them up.
#5 Posted : Thursday, April 03, 2014 10:43:47 AM

I need to hire a tractor too to plough 10 acres on pipeline road. Any leads please are welcome
swale01
#6 Posted : Thursday, April 03, 2014 2:29:36 PM

wazuans i was almost producing money to buy a tractor mersey furguson 285 only to be told it does not do well in kenya especially farming due to gears and that i should look for other furguson model numbers. whom should i believe
#7 Posted : Thursday, April 03, 2014 2:31:14 PM

swale01 wrote:
wazuans i was almost producing money to buy a tractor mersey furguson 285 only to be told it does not do well in kenya especially farming due to gears and that i should look for other furguson model numbers. whom should i believe

275 or 285 are good, they are hardy and can stand some abuses, go ahead and buy!!!!
#8 Posted : Thursday, April 03, 2014 6:25:24 PM

swale01 wrote:

You mean ppeople can produce money?

Anyway my assumption is that it depends with how big/no of acreage you want to till per day. My neighbour in shags has a marina and it works perfectly well for him
#9 Posted : Saturday, April 05, 2014 12:15:01 AM

swale01 wrote:

You mean ppeople can produce money?

Anyway my assumption is that it depends with how big/no of acreage you want to till per day. My neighbour in shags has a marina and it works perfectly well for him

Kilikuja via Indian Oceansmile