Culture
Surnames Concept: We got it wrong!
Mzungu came, 'civilized' us and left us with new order for everything-including names. Before he came, I understand your name was the name they referred you with at a particular time! They left us confused, maybe because we didn't quite customise the surname to fit our culture. Take the example of John Njeru Kimathi. He is John Njeru son of Kimathi. He refers himself as Mr Kimathi. His wife Kwamboka refers herself as Mrs Kwamboka Njeru. Their daughter Beryl is Beryl Kawira Njeru. Hence in one family we have Mr. Kimathi, his wife Mrs Njeru and their daughter Miss Njeru. Collectively, the Njerus(not the Njeru's) See the African confusion?
Lolest! wrote:Mzungu came, 'civilized' us and left us with new order for everything-including names. Before he came, I understand your name was the name they referred you with at a particular time!
They left us confused, maybe because we didn't quite customise the surname to fit our culture.
Take the example of John Njeru Kimathi. He is John Njeru son of Kimathi. He refers himself as Mr Kimathi.
His wife Kwamboka refers herself as Mrs Kwamboka Njeru. Their daughter Beryl is Beryl Kawira Njeru.
Hence in one family we have Mr. Kimathi, his wife Mrs Njeru and their daughter Miss Njeru. Collectively, the Njerus(not the Njeru's)
See the African confusion? That's wrong he should call himself Mr.Njeru and not Mr.Kimathi.Where I come from(assuming am mr John Njeru Kimathi) I will name my son Lolest Kimathi Njeru hence he should be referred to as Mr.Kimathi. Once you have your own family you create your own brand/identity.You cannot have the Njeru's and yet you are still the Kimathi's If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
@kiash can correct me if I'm wrong, but in majuu you can trace your entire family tree by the surnames. Some sections of the Luhya do follow that logic but most of us don't. And yes, the rich/ influential do follow too e.g the Odingas, Nyagahs, Kenyattas, Mois, Ndegwas-all inherit that important name! The surnames concept would have easily fused with our clan/sub-clan concept where it would be easy to trace your (sub)clansmen by their last name!
Swenani wrote:Lolest! wrote:Mzungu came, 'civilized' us and left us with new order for everything-including names. Before he came, I understand your name was the name they referred you with at a particular time!
They left us confused, maybe because we didn't quite customise the surname to fit our culture.
Take the example of John Njeru Kimathi. He is John Njeru son of Kimathi. He refers himself as Mr Kimathi.
His wife Kwamboka refers herself as Mrs Kwamboka Njeru. Their daughter Beryl is Beryl Kawira Njeru.
Hence in one family we have Mr. Kimathi, his wife Mrs Njeru and their daughter Miss Njeru. Collectively, the Njerus(not the Njeru's)
See the African confusion? That's wrong he should call himself Mr.Njeru and not Mr.Kimathi.Where I come from(assuming am mr John Njeru Kimathi) I will name my son Lolest Kimathi Njeru hence he should be referred to as Mr.Kimathi Where you come from is already confused...what rorest say is how it is from my bundus! Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
I belong to the group who nowadays just settle on a surname for the family so that we have the 'Odongos' the 'Wafulas'the 'Kamaus' etc!!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
Impunity wrote:Swenani wrote:Lolest! wrote:Mzungu came, 'civilized' us and left us with new order for everything-including names. Before he came, I understand your name was the name they referred you with at a particular time!
See the African confusion? That's wrong he should call himself Mr.Njeru and not Mr.Kimathi.Where I come from(assuming am mr John Njeru Kimathi) I will name my son Lolest Kimathi Njeru hence he should be referred to as Mr.Kimathi Where you come from is already confused...what rorest say is how it is from my bundus! Its not confused,Its where you come from that is confused If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
Swenani wrote:That's wrong he should call himself Mr.Njeru and not Mr.Kimathi.Where I come from(assuming am mr John Njeru Kimathi) I will name my son Lolest Kimathi Njeru hence he should be referred to as Mr.Kimathi. Once you have your own family you create your own brand/identity.You cannot have the Njeru's and yet you are still the Kimathi's We have been taught to use father's middle name as surname/ family name. Thus John Njeru Kimathi is Mr Kimathi while his son Swenani Kimathi Njeru is Mr Njeru. Swenani's wife kysse is Mrs Kysse Lorraine Kimathi. She is Mrs Kimathi you are Mr Njeru!Mr Kimathi is your father, Mrs Kimathi is your wife Your culture sounds MtKenyaish where you inherit names from grandparents!
Rank: Member Joined: 5/26/2009 Posts: 326 Location: Nairobi
Lolest! wrote:Swenani wrote:That's wrong he should call himself Mr.Njeru and not Mr.Kimathi.Where I come from(assuming am mr John Njeru Kimathi) I will name my son Lolest Kimathi Njeru hence he should be referred to as Mr.Kimathi. Once you have your own family you create your own brand/identity.You cannot have the Njeru's and yet you are still the Kimathi's We have been taught to use father's middle name as surname/ family name. Thus John Njeru Kimathi is Mr Kimathi while his son Swenani Kimathi Njeru is Mr Njeru. Swenani's wife kysse is Mrs Kysse Lorraine Kimathi. She is Mrs Kimathi you are Mr Njeru!Mr Kimathi is your father, Mrs Kimathi is your wife Your culture sounds MtKenyaish where you inherit names from grandparents! The boy is beaming
Now Spanish naming customs, which were copied by her colonies, are gender sensitive. They take into account the mother's surname e.g Carlos Slim HeluTeodoro Obiang Mbasogo
wa P wrote:Lolest! wrote:Swenani wrote:That's wrong he should call himself Mr.Njeru and not Mr.Kimathi.Where I come from(assuming am mr John Njeru Kimathi) I will name my son Lolest Kimathi Njeru hence he should be referred to as Mr.Kimathi. Once you have your own family you create your own brand/identity.You cannot have the Njeru's and yet you are still the Kimathi's We have been taught to use father's middle name as surname/ family name. Thus John Njeru Kimathi is Mr Kimathi while his son Swenani Kimathi Njeru is Mr Njeru. Swenani's wife kysse is Mrs Kysse Lorraine Kimathi. She is Mrs Kimathi you are Mr Njeru!Mr Kimathi is your father, Mrs Kimathi is your wife Your culture sounds MtKenyaish where you inherit names from grandparents! The boy is beaming He is in for a rude shock of his sore life! Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Lolest! wrote:Mzungu came, 'civilized' us and left us with new order for everything-including names. Before he came, I understand your name was the name they referred you with at a particular time!
See the African confusion? Where I come from, John Njeru Kimathi is Mr. Njeru (Baba Kimathi). The wife is Mrs. Njeru (Mama Kimathi) and the daughter is Miss Njeru. The son is Mr. Kimathi. Mr. Njeru, after he passes his medical exams, will however be Dr. Kimathi. So, on an invitation card, you will invite the Njerus as Dr. Kimathi and Mrs. Njeru. Confused? Set out to correct the world's wrongs and you will most certainly wind up adding to them.
Rank: Elder Joined: 5/21/2013 Posts: 2,841 Location: Here
jguru wrote:Lolest! wrote:Mzungu came, 'civilized' us and left us with new order for everything-including names. Before he came, I understand your name was the name they referred you with at a particular time!
See the African confusion? Where I come from, John Njeru Kimathi is Mr. Njeru (Baba Kimathi). The wife is Mrs. Njeru (Mama Kimathi) and the daughter is Miss Njeru. The son is Mr. Kimathi. Mr. Njeru, after he passes his medical exams, will however be Dr. Kimathi. So, on an invitation card, you will invite the Njerus as Dr. Kimathi and Mrs. Njeru. Confused? Thoroughly so, though I get your point. I'm in a somewhat similar situation. I found myself thrust in an area where my name was kinda common and so ended up using my dad's name both professionally and even informally huku nje. Life is like playing a violin solo in public and learning the instrument as one goes on.
I don't get it @jguru. Your surname is your middle name? Why would it change when you get a phd? BTW in in Ethiopia, you are referred by your first name eg Mr Meles or PM Hailemariam
Lolest! wrote:I don't get it @jguru. Your surname is your middle name? Why would it change when you get a phd? BTW in in Ethiopia, you are referred by your first name eg Mr Meles or PM Hailemariam In Med School, John Njeru Kimathi would officially be known as Kimathi J.N. He would be after school, Dr. Kimathi J.N. that is why Dr. Ernest Muinde Kioko, becomes Dr. Kioko and Prof. Michael Sajabi Masinde, becomes Prof. Masinde. That's how it is in the medical fraternity. So, it would be Prof. Masinde and Mrs. Sajabi. Set out to correct the world's wrongs and you will most certainly wind up adding to them.
Rankaz13 wrote:jguru wrote:Lolest! wrote:Mzungu came, 'civilized' us and left us with new order for everything-including names. Before he came, I understand your name was the name they referred you with at a particular time!
See the African confusion? Where I come from, John Njeru Kimathi is Mr. Njeru (Baba Kimathi). The wife is Mrs. Njeru (Mama Kimathi) and the daughter is Miss Njeru. The son is Mr. Kimathi. Mr. Njeru, after he passes his medical exams, will however be Dr. Kimathi. So, on an invitation card, you will invite the Njerus as Dr. Kimathi and Mrs. Njeru. Confused? Thoroughly so, though I get your point. I'm in a somewhat similar situation. I found myself thrust in an area where my name was kinda common and so ended up using my dad's name both professionally and even informally huku nje. he he he. It is said you go into medicine to bring pride to your family (your father's family). That is why you are always Prof. or Dr. (your father's name). Set out to correct the world's wrongs and you will most certainly wind up adding to them.
Impunity wrote:wa P wrote:Lolest! wrote:Swenani wrote:That's wrong he should call himself Mr.Njeru and not Mr.Kimathi.Where I come from(assuming am mr John Njeru Kimathi) I will name my son Lolest Kimathi Njeru hence he should be referred to as Mr.Kimathi. Once you have your own family you create your own brand/identity.You cannot have the Njeru's and yet you are still the Kimathi's We have been taught to use father's middle name as surname/ family name. Thus John Njeru Kimathi is Mr Kimathi while his son Swenani Kimathi Njeru is Mr Njeru. Swenani's wife kysse is Mrs Kysse Lorraine Kimathi. She is Mrs Kimathi you are Mr Njeru!Mr Kimathi is your father, Mrs Kimathi is your wife Your culture sounds MtKenyaish where you inherit names from grandparents! The boy is beaming He is in for a rude shock of his sore life! Swenani's signature echoes @Kysse signature when she says tht her location:his (read Swenani) heart.let the love birds BE. Illmatic
Rank: Elder Joined: 5/21/2013 Posts: 2,841 Location: Here
jguru wrote:Rankaz13 wrote:jguru wrote:Lolest! wrote:Mzungu came, 'civilized' us and left us with new order for everything-including names. Before he came, I understand your name was the name they referred you with at a particular time!
See the African confusion? Where I come from, John Njeru Kimathi is Mr. Njeru (Baba Kimathi). The wife is Mrs. Njeru (Mama Kimathi) and the daughter is Miss Njeru. The son is Mr. Kimathi. Mr. Njeru, after he passes his medical exams, will however be Dr. Kimathi. So, on an invitation card, you will invite the Njerus as Dr. Kimathi and Mrs. Njeru. Confused? Thoroughly so, though I get your point. I'm in a somewhat similar situation. I found myself thrust in an area where my name was kinda common and so ended up using my dad's name both professionally and even informally huku nje. he he he. It is said you go into medicine to bring pride to your family (your father's family). That is why you are always Prof. or Dr. (your father's name). Life is like playing a violin solo in public and learning the instrument as one goes on.
jguru wrote:Rankaz13 wrote:jguru wrote:Lolest! wrote:Mzungu came, 'civilized' us and left us with new order for everything-including names. Before he came, I understand your name was the name they referred you with at a particular time!
See the African confusion? Where I come from, John Njeru Kimathi is Mr. Njeru (Baba Kimathi). The wife is Mrs. Njeru (Mama Kimathi) and the daughter is Miss Njeru. The son is Mr. Kimathi. Mr. Njeru, after he passes his medical exams, will however be Dr. Kimathi. So, on an invitation card, you will invite the Njerus as Dr. Kimathi and Mrs. Njeru. Confused? Thoroughly so, though I get your point. I'm in a somewhat similar situation. I found myself thrust in an area where my name was kinda common and so ended up using my dad's name both professionally and even informally huku nje. he he he. It is said you go into medicine to bring pride to your family (your father's family). That is why you are always Prof. or Dr. (your father's name). No wonder parents keep telling their shidren work hard and become a doctor. Too often we underestimate the power of a touch, a smile, a kind word, a listening ear, an honest compliment, or the smallest act of caring, all of which have the potential to turn a life around.... Leo Buscaglia
jguru wrote:Lolest! wrote:Mzungu came, 'civilized' us and left us with new order for everything-including names. Before he came, I understand your name was the name they referred you with at a particular time!
See the African confusion? Where I come from, John Njeru Kimathi is Mr. Njeru (Baba Kimathi). The wife is Mrs. Njeru (Mama Kimathi) and the daughter is Miss Njeru. The son is Mr. Kimathi. Mr. Njeru, after he passes his medical exams, will however be Dr. Kimathi. So, on an invitation card, you will invite the Njerus as Dr. Kimathi and Mrs. Njeru. Confused? We come from the same village or even family then If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
Rank: Member Joined: 9/2/2010 Posts: 563 Location: Embakasi
Lolest! wrote:I don't get it @jguru. Your surname is your middle name? Why would it change when you get a phd? BTW in in Ethiopia, you are referred by your first name eg Mr Meles or PM Hailemariam Correct, Ethiopians only have first names e.g. Desalegn Meles Woldegebriel. Desalegn is the first name, Meles is the father's first name and Woldegebriel is the grandfather's first name. In a place where thought is abandoned, freedom can become a curse.
Culture
Surnames Concept: We got it wrong!