wazua Thu, May 7, 2026

university
anti mainstream
#1 Posted : Thursday, February 06, 2014 5:40:32 PM

how does resitting a course in university work
in kenya?
do they reduce time to complete the course?
do you resit with students new to the course
or have a separate class?

all young people now have the same personality..but i chose knowledge over pop culture
#2 Posted : Thursday, February 06, 2014 5:53:06 PM

anti mainstream wrote:
in kenya?

...A course work or a unit...? Bro, if a whole course work, go use your time wisely uko kwa mjengo...
anti mainstream
#3 Posted : Thursday, February 06, 2014 7:21:50 PM

yes entire course work
could you inform me on how it all works please

all young people now have the same personality..but i chose knowledge over pop culture
#4 Posted : Thursday, February 06, 2014 7:51:52 PM

anti mainstream wrote:
yes entire course work

Did you flop yhe whole coursework?
#5 Posted : Thursday, February 06, 2014 8:33:09 PM

anti mainstream wrote:
yes entire course work

Did you flop yhe whole coursework?

Does it mean you passed the project and flopped the course work?
#6 Posted : Friday, February 07, 2014 7:13:32 AM

anti mainstream wrote:
in kenya?

Which University? It varies ...for instance did you fail the 1st semester or the 2nd?
Well, at the UoN (based on my experiences there many moons ago), if you fail some courses you do resit exams with the fellows a year behind you (the resit was not issued in 2 weeks like some Universities do - except in Med and Pharm I think, rather, it hangs around your neck like a millstone till it is issued for the batch of students behind you). It was not necessary to attend the classes again. If you failed more than 4 course units you took a hiatus, meaning you cannot proceed to the next academic year before you pass the failed courses. If you failed more than 8 you got a 'disco' aka discontinued. To start again meant sitting out for 2 years and re-applying to a panel of disciplinarians who would assess your seriousness to continue studies. But like I said many moons ago. Things could have changed.
webish
#7 Posted : Friday, February 07, 2014 8:41:46 AM

anti mainstream wrote:
in kenya?

I'm sure it depends with University, though they would all have lots of similarities.

Just call your "Examinations Office" and ask your questions..They would be updated.

Life is joy, death is peace, but the transition is very difficult.
#8 Posted : Friday, February 07, 2014 9:59:25 AM

You are in University and you still ask a forum to help you answer this, like seriously. D+ material. Go to your faculty and get the guidelines from there resit the bloody unit, read and pass. Bure Kabisa!
#9 Posted : Friday, February 07, 2014 10:16:27 AM

You are in University and you still ask a forum to help you answer this, like seriously. D+ material. Go to your faculty and get the guidelines from there resit the bloody unit, read and pass. Bure Kabisa!

My understanding of the post is that,He is not yet in a kenyan university,He maybe thinking of joining a kenyan university.

As i said before ni mafikirio yangu tu
#10 Posted : Friday, February 07, 2014 10:32:20 AM

Where I went, i suppose that would equate almost to resitting an exam, where you just failed the final exam and met all other qualification, These jamaas were very few and they used to take like seven years to complete a degree. You could:-
1. Pay to "re-attend" all the classes, so that everything is "re-drilled" into your head.
2. Pay and wait to "Re-sit" the exam, and maybe wait for another lecturer to offer, you will just pay for the exam. Or re-sit the whole course and pay for it and do it a fresh if your score was deplorable sijui 35% or something like that.
3. The HOD or tutor could also refer you to s "smaller course", for instance you fail in freshman maths, you are sent down to technical maths e.t.c so you can "come up" again to the level, he thinks your problem is English, that is why you are not understanding things, (it used to help many) he refers you to an English class, and voila from D+ all the way to C.