Culture
Has the bubble got burst????
EarthQuail...Earthquake,NO?It was bound to happen but never believed this soon! Today and egg fetches 1o bob from as high at 100 just last december, the rightful price if you ask me is 2 bob, I wait to start eating those tiny medicinal eggs now! Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/4/2006 Posts: 13,821 Location: Nairobi
The laws of demand and supply are in play... the expectation was that the market would 'flood' as soon as many farmers' flocks matured at once but the demand would remain the same. what is different in this case is that demand has suffered from bad publicity all over. no one may want it by next week or a week after that. All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
The problems with Kenyans is lack of originality. Let me give you an example,along Moi Avenue there used to exist only Mcfrys afew years ago. What did Kenyans do? They started setting up right next to Mcfrys. Now we have so many fast foods along that stretch. You want another example? Simu ya jamii..'naf said. I can go on and on...examples abound,in agriculture, white collar jobs to biz. Ironically, we are running out of well trained artisans. Sooner or later, the bubble will burst. WHO DARES WINS
Impunity wrote:EarthQuail...Earthquake,NO?It was bound to happen but never believed this soon! Today and egg fetches 1o bob from as high at 100 just last december, the rightful price if you ask me is 2 bob, I wait to start eating those tiny medicinal eggs now! For a bird that eats only 10% of what a chicken does and occupies just a tenth of the space of a chicken, the cost of its egg should be at most 10% of the cost of a chicken egg i.e. 1bob. So at 10bob, the quail eggs are 10x their market value. Thus the farmers are still getting hyper profits. The bubble will burst when the price of the eggs gets to <1bob.
marko wrote:The problems with Kenyans is lack of originality. Let me give you an example,along Moi Avenue there used to exist only Mcfrys afew years ago. What did Kenyans do? They started setting up right next to Mcfrys. Now we have so many fast foods along that stretch. You want another example? Simu ya jamii..'naf said. I can go on and on...examples abound,in agriculture, white collar jobs to biz. Ironically, we are running out of well trained artisans. Sooner or later, the bubble will burst. This to me is very wrong and most worrying. Wonder what the gava will do to correct this before we get into a crisis? In the business world, everyone is paid in two coins - cash and experience. Take the experience first; the cash will come later - H Geneen
Angelica _ann wrote:marko wrote:The problems with Kenyans is lack of originality. Let me give you an example,along Moi Avenue there used to exist only Mcfrys afew years ago. What did Kenyans do? They started setting up right next to Mcfrys. Now we have so many fast foods along that stretch. You want another example? Simu ya jamii..'naf said. I can go on and on...examples abound,in agriculture, white collar jobs to biz. Ironically, we are running out of well trained artisans. Sooner or later, the bubble will burst. This to me is very wrong. Wonder what the gava will do to correct this? Everybody wants to get those MBA degrees in those University on top of pubs in town! Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Impunity wrote:Angelica _ann wrote:marko wrote:The problems with Kenyans is lack of originality. Let me give you an example,along Moi Avenue there used to exist only Mcfrys afew years ago. What did Kenyans do? They started setting up right next to Mcfrys. Now we have so many fast foods along that stretch. You want another example? Simu ya jamii..'naf said. I can go on and on...examples abound,in agriculture, white collar jobs to biz. Ironically, we are running out of well trained artisans. Sooner or later, the bubble will burst. This to me is very wrong. Wonder what the gava will do to correct this? Everybody wants to get those MBA degrees in those University on top of pubs in town! My cousin didn't perform well in KCSE in 2012. I told the dad point blank not to bother taking him to private university. My reasoning was if his marks could not take him to public uni why waste money on fees yet he may never get that dream job. Seems the dad listened to logic. The kid is enrolling to do a diploma in plumbing at a technical college soon. WHO DARES WINS
marko wrote:The problems with Kenyans is lack of originality. Let me give you an example,along Moi Avenue there used to exist only Mcfrys afew years ago. What did Kenyans do? They started setting up right next to Mcfrys. Now we have so many fast foods along that stretch. You want another example? Simu ya jamii..'naf said. I can go on and on...examples abound,in agriculture, white collar jobs to biz. Ironically, we are running out of well trained artisans. Sooner or later, the bubble will burst. Get in EARLY then when the flooding starts, move to the next thing - being among the pioneers. I know a fellow who has built a magnificent house thanks to the quail-a-mid scheme. He started with the pioneers. He had bought a plot somewhere. He built a mabati house for himself and enclosure for the quails. He went overdrive. soon he was selling the birds and eggs at a premium. People used to book in advance!!! Now he has built one hell of a residence with the quail money and has noticed the flooding so as we speak he has moved to a different business as he gradually reduces his quail numbers!!! Simu ya jamii made people rich. In a big estate there could only be one. People had to line up. MPesa business has also made people rich - before there was one on every corner. Phone selling business made millionaires. There was a time the lowest profit margin per phone [the simplest phone those days] was 4,000/=! You could sell 10 phones a day and make a cool 100,000/= in profits!!! Then everyone started selling phones - including Chinese hawkers!!! You need guts and balls of steel. Recognize new opportunities [untested waters], jump in and see where it takes you! Also know the best time to get out! At times you might getting burnt. At times you might make millions from a couple of thousands in record time!!! Never count on making a good sale. Have the purchase price be so attractive that even a mediocre sale gives good returns.
MaichBlack wrote:marko wrote:The problems with Kenyans is lack of originality. Let me give you an example,along Moi Avenue there used to exist only Mcfrys afew years ago. What did Kenyans do? They started setting up right next to Mcfrys. Now we have so many fast foods along that stretch. You want another example? Simu ya jamii..'naf said. I can go on and on...examples abound,in agriculture, white collar jobs to biz. Ironically, we are running out of well trained artisans. Sooner or later, the bubble will burst. Get in EARLY then when the flooding starts, move to the next thing - being among the pioneers. I know a fellow who has built a magnificent house thanks to the quail-a-mid scheme. He started with the pioneers. He had bought a plot somewhere. He built a mabati house for himself and enclosure for the quails. He went overdrive. soon he was selling the birds and eggs at a premium. People use to book in advance!!! Now he has built one hell of a residence with the quail money an has noticed the flooding so as we speak he has moved to a different business as he gradually reduces his quail numbers!!! Simu ya jamii made people rich. In a big estate there could only be one. People had to line up. MPesa business has also made people rich - before there was one on every corner. Phone selling business made millionaires. There was a time the lowest profit margin per phone [the simplest phone those days] was 4,000/=! You could sell 10 phones a day and make a cool 100,000/= in profits!!! Then everyone started selling phones - including Chinese hawkers!!! You need guts and balls of steel. Recognize new opportunities [untested waters], jump in and see where it takes you! Also know the best time to get out! At times you might getting burnt. at times you might make millions from a couple of thousands in record time!!! @maichmuiru. Unakunywa nini? Leo nanunua. If I do not read anything interesting for the rest of the weekend, hii imetosha. WHO DARES WINS
Impunity wrote:Angelica _ann wrote:marko wrote:The problems with Kenyans is lack of originality. Let me give you an example,along Moi Avenue there used to exist only Mcfrys afew years ago. What did Kenyans do? They started setting up right next to Mcfrys. Now we have so many fast foods along that stretch. You want another example? Simu ya jamii..'naf said. I can go on and on...examples abound,in agriculture, white collar jobs to biz. Ironically, we are running out of well trained artisans. Sooner or later, the bubble will burst. This to me is very wrong. Wonder what the gava will do to correct this? Everybody wants to get those MBA degrees in those University on top of pubs in town! Am MBA from a university on top of a pub is better than none. And at the end of the day the degree certificate won't state whether you studied downtown nbi or if your classroom was next to the Vice chancellors office.
jaggernaut wrote:Impunity wrote:Angelica _ann wrote:marko wrote:The problems with Kenyans is lack of originality. Let me give you an example,along Moi Avenue there used to exist only Mcfrys afew years ago. What did Kenyans do? They started setting up right next to Mcfrys. Now we have so many fast foods along that stretch. You want another example? Simu ya jamii..'naf said. I can go on and on...examples abound,in agriculture, white collar jobs to biz. Ironically, we are running out of well trained artisans. Sooner or later, the bubble will burst. This to me is very wrong. Wonder what the gava will do to correct this? Everybody wants to get those MBA degrees in those University on top of pubs in town! Am MBA from a university on top of a pub is better than none. And at the end of the day the degree certificate won't state whether you studied downtown nbi or if your classroom was next to the Vice chancellors office. My friend, the university you went to matters a hell lot!!! Ask any recruiting officer, HR, anyone who sits in interviewing panels and they will tell you!!! I know one blue chip company that officially classifies degrees from a certain "gorofani" university in town to a Diploma. There are others that will not touch graduates from certain universities! Make a list of the private universities in the CBD then ask yourself how many employed people you know who attended those universities? How many do you know in your office? Ask your buddies how many they have in their office. [Exclude Strathmore, Daystar and USIU from that list]. MBA is another one. Be very careful where you do yours otherwise some employers will look at it as just a piece of paper. Never count on making a good sale. Have the purchase price be so attractive that even a mediocre sale gives good returns.
jaggernaut wrote:Impunity wrote:Angelica _ann wrote:marko wrote:The problems with Kenyans is lack of originality. Let me give you an example,along Moi Avenue there used to exist only Mcfrys afew years ago. What did Kenyans do? They started setting up right next to Mcfrys. Now we have so many fast foods along that stretch. You want another example? Simu ya jamii..'naf said. I can go on and on...examples abound,in agriculture, white collar jobs to biz. Ironically, we are running out of well trained artisans. Sooner or later, the bubble will burst. This to me is very wrong. Wonder what the gava will do to correct this? Everybody wants to get those MBA degrees in those University on top of pubs in town! Am MBA from a university on top of a pub is better than none. And at the end of the day the degree certificate won't state whether you studied downtown nbi or if your classroom was next to the Vice chancellors office. Buddy, you must own one of those colleges or you have shares in one otherwise why would you argue in favour of wasting good money for...you know what? Forget it....I think the argument presents itself. WHO DARES WINS
marko wrote:jaggernaut wrote:Impunity wrote:Angelica _ann wrote:marko wrote:The problems with Kenyans is lack of originality. Let me give you an example,along Moi Avenue there used to exist only Mcfrys afew years ago. What did Kenyans do? They started setting up right next to Mcfrys. Now we have so many fast foods along that stretch. You want another example? Simu ya jamii..'naf said. I can go on and on...examples abound,in agriculture, white collar jobs to biz. Ironically, we are running out of well trained artisans. Sooner or later, the bubble will burst. This to me is very wrong. Wonder what the gava will do to correct this? Everybody wants to get those MBA degrees in those University on top of pubs in town! Am MBA from a university on top of a pub is better than none. And at the end of the day the degree certificate won't state whether you studied downtown nbi or if your classroom was next to the Vice chancellors office. Buddy, you must own one of those colleges or you have shares in one otherwise why would you argue in favour of wasting good money for...you know what? Forget it....I think the argument presents itself. He probably has an MBA from PUEA! Never count on making a good sale. Have the purchase price be so attractive that even a mediocre sale gives good returns.
MaichBlack wrote:jaggernaut wrote:Impunity wrote:Angelica _ann wrote:marko wrote:The problems with Kenyans is lack of originality. Let me give you an example,along Moi Avenue there used to exist only Mcfrys afew years ago. What did Kenyans do? They started setting up right next to Mcfrys. Now we have so many fast foods along that stretch. You want another example? Simu ya jamii..'naf said. I can go on and on...examples abound,in agriculture, white collar jobs to biz. Ironically, we are running out of well trained artisans. Sooner or later, the bubble will burst. This to me is very wrong. Wonder what the gava will do to correct this? Everybody wants to get those MBA degrees in those University on top of pubs in town! Am MBA from a university on top of a pub is better than none. And at the end of the day the degree certificate won't state whether you studied downtown nbi or if your classroom was next to the Vice chancellors office. My friend, the university you went to matters a hell lot!!! Ask any recruiting officer, HR, anyone who sits in interviewing panels and they will tell you!!! I know one blue chip company that officially classifies degrees from a certain "gorofani" university in town to a Diploma. There are others that will not touch graduates from certain universities! Make a list of the private universities in the CBD then ask yourself how many employed people you know who attended those universities? How many do you know in your office? Ask your buddies how many they have in their office. [Exclude Strathmore, Daystar and USIU from that list]. MBA is another one. Be very careful where you do yours otherwise some employers will look at it as just a piece of paper. My point was that when I walk on Koinange street and Moi Avenue etc I see campuses of Egerton, Moi, JKUAT, maseno, Masinde Muliro etc etc hapo gorofani. There is nothing wrong with attending those campuses/unis.
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/17/2009 Posts: 3,583 Location: Kenya
MaichBlack wrote:jaggernaut wrote:Impunity wrote:Angelica _ann wrote:marko wrote:The problems with Kenyans is lack of originality. Let me give you an example,along Moi Avenue there used to exist only Mcfrys afew years ago. What did Kenyans do? They started setting up right next to Mcfrys. Now we have so many fast foods along that stretch. You want another example? Simu ya jamii..'naf said. I can go on and on...examples abound,in agriculture, white collar jobs to biz. Ironically, we are running out of well trained artisans. Sooner or later, the bubble will burst. This to me is very wrong. Wonder what the gava will do to correct this? Everybody wants to get those MBA degrees in those University on top of pubs in town! Am MBA from a university on top of a pub is better than none. And at the end of the day the degree certificate won't state whether you studied downtown nbi or if your classroom was next to the Vice chancellors office. My friend, the university you went to matters a hell lot!!! Ask any recruiting officer, HR, anyone who sits in interviewing panels and they will tell you!!! I know one blue chip company that officially classifies degrees from a certain "gorofani" university in town to a Diploma. There are others that will not touch graduates from certain universities! Make a list of the private universities in the CBD then ask yourself how many employed people you know who attended those universities? How many do you know in your office? Ask your buddies how many they have in their office. [Exclude Strathmore, Daystar and USIU from that list]. MBA is another one. Be very careful where you do yours otherwise some employers will look at it as just a piece of paper. kwani what is an mba ?
jaggernaut wrote: My point was that when I walk on Koinange street and Moi Avenue etc I see campuses of Egerton, Moi, JKUAT, maseno, Masinde Muliro etc etc hapo gorofani. There is nothing wrong with attending those campuses/unis.
If that is you point, then it is okay. There is nothing wrong with "gorofani" or CBD. One of the best Business Schools in Kenya and Africa - KIM - is situated "gorofani" in the CBD. And public universities with solid courses and faculty also have campuses in the CBD. My issue was that you should be careful with the University you are enrolling into - not necessarily the physical location. the only problem is that the CBD is littered with universities not worth their salt! Never count on making a good sale. Have the purchase price be so attractive that even a mediocre sale gives good returns.
nakujua wrote:MaichBlack wrote:jaggernaut wrote:Impunity wrote:Angelica _ann wrote:marko wrote:The problems with Kenyans is lack of originality. Let me give you an example,along Moi Avenue there used to exist only Mcfrys afew years ago. What did Kenyans do? They started setting up right next to Mcfrys. Now we have so many fast foods along that stretch. You want another example? Simu ya jamii..'naf said. I can go on and on...examples abound,in agriculture, white collar jobs to biz. Ironically, we are running out of well trained artisans. Sooner or later, the bubble will burst. This to me is very wrong. Wonder what the gava will do to correct this? Everybody wants to get those MBA degrees in those University on top of pubs in town! Am MBA from a university on top of a pub is better than none. And at the end of the day the degree certificate won't state whether you studied downtown nbi or if your classroom was next to the Vice chancellors office. My friend, the university you went to matters a hell lot!!! Ask any recruiting officer, HR, anyone who sits in interviewing panels and they will tell you!!! I know one blue chip company that officially classifies degrees from a certain "gorofani" university in town to a Diploma. There are others that will not touch graduates from certain universities! Make a list of the private universities in the CBD then ask yourself how many employed people you know who attended those universities? How many do you know in your office? Ask your buddies how many they have in their office. [Exclude Strathmore, Daystar and USIU from that list]. MBA is another one. Be very careful where you do yours otherwise some employers will look at it as just a piece of paper. kwani what is an mba ? Again, English is a difficult language. The word "just" in the phrase means a lot!!! There was a thread on English some time back. Maybe you should search for it! Never count on making a good sale. Have the purchase price be so attractive that even a mediocre sale gives good returns.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 6/23/2011 Posts: 1,740 Location: Nairobi
I remember being taught about perfect and imperfect markets..how does this relate to the quail mania..or is this a case of demand and supply only
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/17/2009 Posts: 3,583 Location: Kenya
MaichBlack wrote:nakujua wrote:MaichBlack wrote:jaggernaut wrote:Impunity wrote:Angelica _ann wrote:marko wrote:The problems with Kenyans is lack of originality. Let me give you an example,along Moi Avenue there used to exist only Mcfrys afew years ago. What did Kenyans do? They started setting up right next to Mcfrys. Now we have so many fast foods along that stretch. You want another example? Simu ya jamii..'naf said. I can go on and on...examples abound,in agriculture, white collar jobs to biz. Ironically, we are running out of well trained artisans. Sooner or later, the bubble will burst. This to me is very wrong. Wonder what the gava will do to correct this? Everybody wants to get those MBA degrees in those University on top of pubs in town! Am MBA from a university on top of a pub is better than none. And at the end of the day the degree certificate won't state whether you studied downtown nbi or if your classroom was next to the Vice chancellors office. My friend, the university you went to matters a hell lot!!! Ask any recruiting officer, HR, anyone who sits in interviewing panels and they will tell you!!! I know one blue chip company that officially classifies degrees from a certain "gorofani" university in town to a Diploma. There are others that will not touch graduates from certain universities! Make a list of the private universities in the CBD then ask yourself how many employed people you know who attended those universities? How many do you know in your office? Ask your buddies how many they have in their office. [Exclude Strathmore, Daystar and USIU from that list]. MBA is another one. Be very careful where you do yours otherwise some employers will look at it as just a piece of paper. kwani what is an mba ? Again, English is a difficult language. The word "just" in the phrase means a lot!!! There was a thread on English some time back. Maybe you should search for it! - I just don't seem to get it, even after several consultations with mirriam - anyway let me just search for the thread, though I would appreciate if you just helped me to search for it - just in case my online eyes are not in order. but seriously, I thought an mba is just a piece of paper
nakujua wrote: - I just don't seem to get it, even after several consultations with mirriam - anyway let me just search for the thread, though I would appreciate if you just helped me to search for it - just in case my online eyes are not in order. but seriously, I thought an mba is just a piece of paper @nakujua - Here is English 101 Example One:Politician are just good at public speaking. >>Means politicians are ONLY good at public speaking. NOTHING ELSE!!! Example Two:Politician are good at public speaking. >>Means politicians are good at public speaking. AND they might also be good in other things. Now get it??? Never count on making a good sale. Have the purchase price be so attractive that even a mediocre sale gives good returns.
Culture
Has the bubble got burst????