wazua Tue, Aug 12, 2025

5 Pages123>»
Mt Kenya University starts medical school
#1 Posted : Friday, December 27, 2013 1:07:53 PM

It is a good move.....the university's expansion is unbelievable...

http://www.standardmedia.co.ke/lifestyle/article/2000100315/mt-kenya-university-starts-medical-school
#2 Posted : Friday, December 27, 2013 1:51:37 PM

Good news for the medical sector. Wish each county could invest in at least one such facility.
#3 Posted : Friday, December 27, 2013 2:12:26 PM

But I've heard many criticism of their quality....I wonder if their doctors will be different.
#4 Posted : Friday, December 27, 2013 2:24:46 PM

Sema kuuza vyeti....
#5 Posted : Friday, December 27, 2013 2:54:34 PM

radio wrote:
But I've heard many criticism of their quality....I wonder if their doctors will be different.

expound...
wazuaguest
#6 Posted : Friday, December 27, 2013 8:49:30 PM

radio wrote:

expound...

MKu standards compared to other Kenyan universities is at par actually lecturers just cross the road for their next classes.Mwakenya or sneaking notes in the exam room is common in MKU as it is in UON(actually what triggered the strike is related to that) in a few years time 30% of fellows in the interview lobby will be from MKU and a the chair of the interview panel might be from MKU .I encourage what Gicharu is doing by opening the education sector Madiba said it's impossible until someone does it.create room for creativity and innovation and then bring regulation but not the other way round (Mpesa)
Africa belongs to Africans.
#7 Posted : Saturday, December 28, 2013 7:50:27 AM

this will soon be offered on long distance courses Sad
Muheani
#8 Posted : Saturday, December 28, 2013 8:17:46 AM

wazuaguest wrote:
radio wrote:

expound...

MKu standards compared to other Kenyan universities is at par actually lecturers just cross the road for their next classes.Mwakenya or sneaking notes in the exam room is common in MKU as it is in UON(actually what triggered the strike is related to that) in a few years time 30% of fellows in the interview lobby will be from MKU and a the chair of the interview panel might be from MKU .I encourage what Gicharu is doing by opening the education sector Madiba said it's impossible until someone does it.create room for creativity and innovation and then bring regulation but not the other way round (Mpesa)

Honestly i have tried to understand Sad Sad
#9 Posted : Saturday, December 28, 2013 9:13:55 AM

Muheani wrote:
wazuaguest wrote:
radio wrote:

expound...

Honestly i have tried to understand Sad Sad l

Hahaha, MKU standards right there before your eyes!
#10 Posted : Saturday, December 28, 2013 9:24:12 AM

What matters most in a university is the faculty i.e the professors/lecturers and the teaching and research facilities. The regulatory authority for university education, i.e the Commission for University Education, must have undertaken a thorough audit of the uni before approving the offering of the medicine course.
#11 Posted : Saturday, December 28, 2013 9:30:08 AM

good job MKU... good job!
jamplu
#12 Posted : Saturday, December 28, 2013 9:35:38 AM

its not only MKU we should be concerned about but the quality of graduates from all universities if you take 4 year in school and yet have no idea about the theoretical part of what you learning how expensive will it be for a company to make you fit in the real work environment?
#13 Posted : Saturday, December 28, 2013 10:05:20 AM

wazuaguest wrote:
[quote=jaggernaut][quote=radio]

Sad Sad Sad .....I blame my drink but hopefully,i'll make tail and head tomorrow when my head is more clearer.Hii ni nini sasa?d'oh! Sad Pray
Muheani
#14 Posted : Saturday, December 28, 2013 10:15:06 AM

wazuaguest wrote:
[quote=jaggernaut][quote=radio]

Sad Sad Sad .....I blame my drink but hopefully,i'll make tail and head tomorrow when my head is more clearer.Hii ni nini sasa?d'oh! Sad Pray

MKU standard to quote @Mcreggae hapo juu.
#15 Posted : Saturday, December 28, 2013 11:06:58 AM

jamplu wrote:
its not only MKU we should be concerned about but the quality of graduates from all universities if you take 4 year in school and yet have no idea about the theoretical part of what you learning how expensive will it be for a company to make you fit in the real work environment?

Then how do they pass the CATs, main exams etc?
BGL
#16 Posted : Saturday, December 28, 2013 11:19:30 AM

I hear to enrol for a Bachelor of Medicine and Surgery at MKU, all you need is a C+
History will not remember you for your IQ. It will remember you for what you did. “Genius is 1 percent inspiration, 99 percent perspiration.” Thomas Edison
#17 Posted : Saturday, December 28, 2013 11:25:39 AM

BGL wrote:
I hear to enrol for a Bachelor of Medicine and Surgery at MKU, all you need is a C+

Pray Pray They should rename the course "Bachelor of Medicine and Slaughter".
#18 Posted : Saturday, December 28, 2013 11:32:37 AM

BGL wrote:

Can you provide a link and anyway, there's nothing wrong with a C+. The entry mark for all universities both public and private is C+. However, the demand/competition for some courses and shortage of facilities and hostels in the universities makes some unis to adjust the grade upwards. Otherwise if we had unlimited facilities, anyone with a C+ would do whatever course they want since they are qualified and have the capacity. BTW many kenyans with C+ fit very well in universities abroad.
#19 Posted : Saturday, December 28, 2013 11:47:35 AM

#20 Posted : Saturday, December 28, 2013 11:59:52 AM

BGL wrote:

Pray Pray They should rename the course "Bachelor of Medicine and Slaughter".

This is how the public universities in the US were laughing at Harvard (a private uni), when it started offering law and other courses.