wazua Mon, Dec 23, 2024

Syokimau
#1 Posted : Saturday, December 07, 2013 3:04:12 PM

So yesterday I went to see a plot someone wants to sell to me, but I was very disappointed because the recent rains have transformed the estate into one big muddy swamp.

We had to leave the car and wade in the mud for some distance to reach the plot. Some houses appeared to be marooned 'Bundalangi style' and totally inaccessible. Surely Machakos county govt should do something about the roads and drainage (there's just about 1km of tarmac in the estate).

kamundu
#2 Posted : Saturday, December 07, 2013 3:31:13 PM

Pole. So will you buy the plot?
Peace in our Homeland.
a4architect.com
#3 Posted : Saturday, December 07, 2013 4:20:27 PM

@jaggernaut..land is bought when there is no infrastructure. If you wait for tarmac roads in syokimau, you will pay through the nose for the same same land you are seeing now.
As Iron Sharpens Iron, So one Man Sharpens Another.
Um Sayala
#4 Posted : Saturday, December 07, 2013 4:32:09 PM

a4architect.com wrote:
@jaggernaut..land is bought when there is no infrastructure. If you wait for tarmac roads in syokimau, you will pay through the nose for the same same land you are seeing now.

Word
@jaggenaut, That same Syokimau was being sold at 300k in 2004,for 1/4. I took a cousin and a colleague at two different times and both had the same verdict: Syokimau is swampy.There was no roads, no water and no power. Then PSC built there first estate (Parliament Phase 1). Two years later, my cousin bought 1/8 plot in Syoki at 900k. My colleague has grudge that I should have encouraged her more, angenunua.Same plots are going for 4M for 1/4 now.
Wewe subiri tu infrastructure, utalipa 12M pap.
"Peace is our profession, War is our business" ...Unknown
jamplu
#5 Posted : Saturday, December 07, 2013 10:16:36 PM

Not all parts are inaccessible in syokimau, Wananchi road is being worked on by Stima investments all the way to their stima village development. Have you looked around there. If you really want to buy this is the time to buy the prices will keep on rising currently some people are quoting upto 3M for 1/8ths
#6 Posted : Saturday, December 07, 2013 10:56:34 PM

@Jagger. Question is, are you interested?

If the answer is yes, then buy ASAP.

I have some info on the roads coming up inside some Syokimau parts and as @A4 Says above, you will pay thru the nose if you do not buy now! Go ahead bro..
#7 Posted : Sunday, December 08, 2013 8:57:10 AM

@all, I wanted the land for speculation purposes. The land is 1/4 acre quoted at 4m but it's basically a waterlogged swamp at the moment. Also 3brm Greatwall apartments near mbs road are selling at 4m. Some nice apartments neighbouring Greatwall are also going for 4m and one can rent out immediately at about 25-30k. So which is the better investment.........the land or the apartment?
#8 Posted : Sunday, December 08, 2013 10:32:36 AM

Am wrote:

I have some info on the roads coming up inside some Syokimau parts and as @A4 Says above, you will pay thru the nose if you do not buy now! Go ahead bro..

Mr. @Am, is the road across the road from Nation one of them?
jamplu
#9 Posted : Sunday, December 08, 2013 11:33:25 AM

Am wrote:

@Am which roads are these watu wajipange?
#10 Posted : Monday, December 09, 2013 8:54:53 AM

radio wrote:
Am wrote:

Yap!!
kiwaru
#11 Posted : Monday, December 09, 2013 9:18:42 AM

Am wrote:
radio wrote:
Am wrote:

Yap!!

@Am, is the quarry road to the NHC factory one of them?
a4architect.com
#12 Posted : Monday, December 09, 2013 9:25:53 AM

@all, I wanted the land for speculation purposes. The land is 1/4 acre quoted at 4m but it's basically a waterlogged swamp at the moment. Also 3brm Greatwall apartments near mbs road are selling at 4m. Some nice apartments neighbouring Greatwall are also going for 4m and one can rent out immediately at about 25-30k. So which is the better investment.........the land or the apartment?

@jaggernaut, the best way to make this decison is to calculate your ROI for both.
In the case of land, it appreciates at a rate of say 30% per annum.

The 4m land will be worth 8m in 3 to 4 years, hence a good ROI.

Land will also give you a starting base to construct up to 30 3 bedroomed apartments in future/

For the building, the rate of appreciation is much lower. The rent is 360k per year. The ROI =11 Years.
The building is limited to further additions/developments.

Using these points above, you can decide wisely.
#13 Posted : Monday, December 09, 2013 9:54:15 AM

Am wrote:
radio wrote:
Am wrote:

Yap!!

Asante sana. That would be perfecto!
jamplu
#14 Posted : Monday, December 09, 2013 10:13:35 AM

Am wrote:
radio wrote:
Am wrote:

Yap!!

@Am is it Tarmacking or murram? and is Wananchi Road in the list??
tnai9
#15 Posted : Monday, December 09, 2013 11:00:24 AM

Am wrote:

@Am
Any specific roads you know of? What of the Syokimau-Katani road? When will it be tarmacked beyong the 'Tokyo' flats? I hear it will be tarmacked all the time, but no firm commitments/info
"The problem with the world is that the intelligent people are full of doubts, while the stupid ones are full of confidence." ― Charles Bukowski
#16 Posted : Monday, December 09, 2013 11:14:28 AM

a4architect.com wrote:

@jaggernaut, the best way to make this decison is to calculate your ROI for both.
In the case of land, it appreciates at a rate of say 30% per annum.

The 4m land will be worth 8m in 3 to 4 years, hence a good ROI.

Land will also give you a starting base to construct up to 30 3 bedroomed apartments in future/

For the building, the rate of appreciation is much lower. The rent is 360k per year. The ROI =11 Years.
The building is limited to further additions/developments.

Using these points above, you can decide wisely.

Good advice bwana @A4. Thanks.
a4architect.com
#17 Posted : Monday, December 09, 2013 11:59:39 AM

@jagernaut, thanks and welcome.
#18 Posted : Monday, December 09, 2013 12:54:24 PM

tnai9 wrote:
Am wrote:

@Am
Any specific roads you know of? What of the Syokimau-Katani road? When will it be tarmacked beyong the 'Tokyo' flats? I hear it will be tarmacked all the time, but no firm commitments/info

As far as I know it will soon. Mombasa road Syokimau - Katani upto Utawala Ikipitia Hapo karibu Tamarind valley near airways school. Certain Individuals with Interests have done a good Job to influence the Process and speed things up.Applause Applause Applause Applause
#19 Posted : Monday, December 09, 2013 1:06:02 PM

a4architect.com wrote:

Applause Applause Applause Applause
addidaskawembe
#20 Posted : Monday, December 09, 2013 2:39:33 PM

Am wrote:
tnai9 wrote:
Am wrote:

@Am

As far as I know it will soon. Mombasa road Syokimau - Katani upto Utawala Ikipitia Hapo karibu Tamarind valley near airways school. Certain Individuals with Interests have done a good Job to influence the Process and speed things up.Applause Applause Applause Applause

@AM.. Mombasa road Syokimau - Katani upto Utawala..which road is this ? NB: Syokimau-Katani rd is partially blocked by the new KAA fence as you take the first right turn towards Katani (the area where houses were demolished - I wonder where the road will be unless you are talking about a re-designed road. Do you have the new design map ? Please share.