wazua Sat, Jan 11, 2025

Bill boards business
#1 Posted : Monday, November 25, 2013 9:03:18 AM

Any wazuan in the business or who knows how it is run,the challenges,the returns etc?
a4architect.com
#2 Posted : Monday, November 25, 2013 9:36:42 AM

This is good biz. At present, Magnate ventures is enjoying near monopoly and an apt competitor would ensure customers get to pay lower costs
As Iron Sharpens Iron, So one Man Sharpens Another.
mmarto
#3 Posted : Monday, November 25, 2013 9:56:59 AM

i thought this is a mafia business. very difficult to get in and when in you block everyone else, what magnate ventures are doing. Previously adopt-a-alight
The only time you should be looking down on others is when you are helping them up.
#4 Posted : Monday, November 25, 2013 10:05:04 AM

Very dangerous business. Be warned.

#5 Posted : Monday, November 25, 2013 10:06:41 AM

dont underestimate what @mawinder is capable of doing
#6 Posted : Monday, November 25, 2013 10:19:01 AM

mmarto wrote:
i thought this is a mafia business. very difficult to get in and when in you block everyone else, what magnate ventures are doing. Previously adopt-a-alight

I am good at such also and worse.
@a4,Magnate ventures charges on average 100k a month a billboard and you provide the canvas material and print it yourself.If Magnate supplies the printed canvas they charge an extra 50k.My conservative estimates show Magnate has over 4000 billboards and coukd be raking 400m a month in turnover.
#7 Posted : Monday, November 25, 2013 11:29:54 AM

a4architect.com wrote:
This is good biz. At present, Magnate ventures is enjoying near monopoly and an apt competitor would ensure customers get to pay lower costs

The big problem for new entrants is where to place his billboards all highways ,roads and buildings in major cities have been taken . Thika superhighway was the only one left but some adverts have begun to appear on some of the overpasses
#8 Posted : Monday, November 25, 2013 11:35:49 AM

Don't also underestimate what the guys behind this businesses are capable either. Contracts that involve kanjo are not a good area of business. People in this business have been known to pass on to the next world in ways that send a message...

#9 Posted : Monday, November 25, 2013 11:37:10 AM

a4architect.com wrote:

even the others charge around the same as magnate, the adsite and alliance guys that is, at around 110k and they do the printing at 55k

but magnate seems to have the best locations, and they have invested in some nice printing equipments - so far they give some the best colour out puts at the 10 by 12.

I assume they have some agreement with the city council for a good number of their prime locations, I have never seen any form of competitive bidding for those locations.
#10 Posted : Monday, November 25, 2013 11:43:37 AM

Don't also underestimate what the guys behind this businesses are capable either. Contracts that involve kanjo are not a good area of business. People in this business have been known to pass on to the next world in ways that send a message...

I am prepared to battle even though I will start small.One can also acquire sites from highrise building owners.Fyi I am also capable of dispatching others to Makueni save for a few VIPs with adequate security measures.
#11 Posted : Monday, November 25, 2013 12:06:27 PM

I am prepared to battle even though I will start small.One can also acquire sites from highrise building owners.Fyi I am also capable of dispatching others to Makueni save for a few VIPs with adequate security measures.

nice, enyewe we only have one life.

Have seen the highrise building ad biashara picking up - I always see many sign board, the kawaida small ones za mabati stacked behind each other in small towns and shopping centers.

If you can talk to the local authority upate monopoly ya kujenga a ka structure that can vertically stack them ensuring visibility to all then provide some ka lighting mechanism usiku - you might get a nice small starting point.
#12 Posted : Friday, December 06, 2013 2:34:05 PM

I have finally secured 3 sites in one of the counties from the County.The rate is 100k per annum per site.I am now sourcing for the materials and applying to KPLC for power.I am avoiding Nairobi for now.
tony stark
#13 Posted : Monday, December 09, 2013 9:08:07 PM

I have finally secured 3 sites in one of the counties from the County.The rate is 100k per annum per site.I am now sourcing for the materials and applying to KPLC for power.I am avoiding Nairobi for now.

Things never change, Mawinder the road contractor is now doing advertising in a record 15 days.

Kweli wewe ni BOSSSSS

Sasha
#14 Posted : Tuesday, December 10, 2013 10:56:21 AM

@mawinder: Talk to Ramco. They do an excellent print job. I think all the other advertisers (other than Magnate Ventures) use them for printing. Depending on volumes, they can give you a healthy discount.
#15 Posted : Tuesday, December 10, 2013 2:13:44 PM

@Mawinder, hope the county is not mombasa

http://www.businessdaily...94/-/sq245v/-/index.html
#16 Posted : Tuesday, December 10, 2013 2:38:32 PM

[quote=Swenani]@Mawinder, hope the county is not mombasa

http://www.businessdaily...4/-/sq245v/-/index.html[/quote]
No,mine is Nyeri county but I am surprised that those were the previous charges which in my opinion were too low.