Sports
Sachin Tendulkar retires
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/17/2009 Posts: 3,583 Location: Kenya
One of the greatest sportsman in history has retired, a very humble man who has touched and is loved by a huge part of the worlds population.
nakujua wrote:One of the greatest sportsman in history has retired, a very humble man who has touched and is loved by a huge part of the worlds population. Kumbe siko pekee yangu...looking at Sachin's stats! That will be a tough act to emulate. Twenty four year international career. ..200 tests, most centuries, most fifties, most innings,highest score in an ODI,1,000 or more Test runs in a calendar year six times: 1997, 1999, 2001, 2002, 2008, 2010...Good bye little master we bow to your elegance and supremacy... You remember the banners during the World Cup in India? 'Cricket is our religion, Sachin is our god' amazing...there will be none other... Yaani, his career began in 1989. The next oldest guy in the team, M S Dhoni's, international career begun in 2004! The closest person in runs is Ricky Ponting whom as we all know is retired... possunt quia posse videntur
maka wrote:nakujua wrote:One of the greatest sportsman in history has retired, a very humble man who has touched and is loved by a huge part of the worlds population. Kumbe siko pekee yangu...looking at Sachin's stats! That will be a tough act to emulate. Twenty four year international career. ..200 tests, most centuries, most fifties, most innings,highest score in an ODI,1,000 or more Test runs in a calendar year six times: 1997, 1999, 2001, 2002, 2008, 2010...Good bye little master we bow to your elegance and supremacy... You remember the banners during the World Cup in India? 'Cricket is our religion, Sachin is our god' amazing...there will be none other... Yaani, his career began in 1989. The next oldest guy in the team, M S Dhoni's, international career begun in 2004! The closest person in runs is Ricky Ponting whom as we all know is retired... Jacques Kallis if he stays fit and in good form could just set get to the one day total ,but watching Sachin has been a joy ,in few years some of my favourites have retired ,Lara ,Gilchrist ,Hayden ....a new generation of entertainers should step up .
cnn wrote:maka wrote:nakujua wrote:One of the greatest sportsman in history has retired, a very humble man who has touched and is loved by a huge part of the worlds population. Kumbe siko pekee yangu...looking at Sachin's stats! That will be a tough act to emulate. Twenty four year international career. ..200 tests, most centuries, most fifties, most innings,highest score in an ODI,1,000 or more Test runs in a calendar year six times: 1997, 1999, 2001, 2002, 2008, 2010...Good bye little master we bow to your elegance and supremacy... You remember the banners during the World Cup in India? 'Cricket is our religion, Sachin is our god' amazing...there will be none other... Yaani, his career began in 1989. The next oldest guy in the team, M S Dhoni's, international career begun in 2004! The closest person in runs is Ricky Ponting whom as we all know is retired... Jacques Kallis if he stays fit and in good form could just set get to the one day total ,but watching Sachin has been a joy ,in few years some of my favourites have retired ,Lara ,Gilchrist ,Hayden ....a new generation of entertainers should step up . Kallis hatafikia Tendulkar....the closest was Sir Brian Charles Lara...only the two were ever invited for tea by "Don"Bradman...Hayden was a smash the ball kind of batsman who after breaking Lara's highest test score...was it 390?....fizzled out for Lara to reclaim it at 400 not out...Gilchrist had an explosive left handed batting style and being a wicket keeper....made him one of the foremost utility players. .a must have in any side....like the current New Zealander Brendan McCullum....having said the aforesaid...those players would rule the cricket world for aeons to come...there is no one batsman at present of such calibre...in my assessment.....Shane Watson of Australia has skill and youth on his side with a little discipline...who knows. possunt quia posse videntur
maka wrote:cnn wrote:maka wrote:nakujua wrote:One of the greatest sportsman in history has retired, a very humble man who has touched and is loved by a huge part of the worlds population. Kumbe siko pekee yangu...looking at Sachin's stats! That will be a tough act to emulate. Twenty four year international career. ..200 tests, most centuries, most fifties, most innings,highest score in an ODI,1,000 or more Test runs in a calendar year six times: 1997, 1999, 2001, 2002, 2008, 2010...Good bye little master we bow to your elegance and supremacy... You remember the banners during the World Cup in India? 'Cricket is our religion, Sachin is our god' amazing...there will be none other... Yaani, his career began in 1989. The next oldest guy in the team, M S Dhoni's, international career begun in 2004! The closest person in runs is Ricky Ponting whom as we all know is retired... Jacques Kallis if he stays fit and in good form could just set get to the one day total ,but watching Sachin has been a joy ,in few years some of my favourites have retired ,Lara ,Gilchrist ,Hayden ....a new generation of entertainers should step up . Kallis hatafikia Tendulkar....the closest was Sir Brian Charles Lara...only the two were ever invited for tea by "Don"Bradman...Hayden was a smash the ball kind of batsman who after breaking Lara's highest test score...was it 390?....fizzled out for Lara to reclaim it at 400 not out...Gilchrist had an explosive left handed batting style and being a wicket keeper....made him one of the foremost utility players. .a must have in any side....like the current New Zealander Brendan McCullum....having said the aforesaid...those players would rule the cricket world for aeons to come...there is no one batsman at present of such calibre...in my assessment.....Shane Watson of Australia has skill and youth on his side with a little discipline...who knows. Ala kumbe tuko wengi ivo  Sachin's retirement brings down the curtain on Indias golden generation of cricket also retired are vvs laxman, gautam gambhir, virender sehwag and a man who i consider a peer of tendulkar 'the prince of kolkata' sourav ganguly @Maka the person who i think will get close to sachins record in test matches is the current england captain alastair cook, he has already smashed several british records
cricket...would rather watch grass grow.
mkenyan wrote:cricket...would rather watch grass grow. He he its an interesting game...never used to watch it but it rubbed onto me after hanging around peeps who love it... possunt quia posse videntur
maka wrote:mkenyan wrote:cricket...would rather watch grass grow. He he its an interesting game...never used to watch it but it rubbed onto me after hanging around peeps who love it... I wish I understood it. What happened to Kenya BTW?
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/17/2009 Posts: 3,583 Location: Kenya
Lolest! wrote:maka wrote:mkenyan wrote:cricket...would rather watch grass grow. He he its an interesting game...never used to watch it but it rubbed onto me after hanging around peeps who love it... I wish I understood it. What happened to Kenya BTW? guess the interest faded and lack of major sponsors killed all the energy that had been generated after 2003 world cup.
nakujua wrote:Lolest! wrote:maka wrote:mkenyan wrote:cricket...would rather watch grass grow. He he its an interesting game...never used to watch it but it rubbed onto me after hanging around peeps who love it... I wish I understood it. What happened to Kenya BTW? guess the interest faded and lack of major sponsors killed all the energy that had been generated after 2003 world cup.  possunt quia posse videntur
Sports
Sachin Tendulkar retires