wazua Wed, Aug 27, 2025

5 Pages123>»
India sends spacecraft to Mars
#1 Posted : Tuesday, November 05, 2013 5:03:44 PM

India seems to be doing quite well. It joins a very small elite group. Meanwhile hapa nyumbani we are still involved with bread and butter issues.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/science-environment-24729073
mkeiyd
#2 Posted : Tuesday, November 05, 2013 5:08:36 PM

India seems to be doing quite well. It joins a very small elite group. Meanwhile hapa nyumbani we are still involved with bread and butter issues.

And comparing some flats here with those in Newyork.
#3 Posted : Tuesday, November 05, 2013 5:27:36 PM

And back here on planet earth, Tata of India recently bought Range Rover/Jaguar.....India is on a roll...
iller
#4 Posted : Tuesday, November 05, 2013 5:35:23 PM

FYI approximately 67% of india is poor
#5 Posted : Tuesday, November 05, 2013 5:50:39 PM

My *ss...doing well yet they host 1/3 of the world's poor!

Shame on you Shame on you

#6 Posted : Tuesday, November 05, 2013 6:13:11 PM

This is like someone saying that they won't buy a car (which is a luxury to many) because they are from a poor family and 1/3 of their clan is still poor.

At least India is dreaming BIG. What if the US would have put off space exploration until none of her citizens was classified as poor? What about Russia?
#7 Posted : Tuesday, November 05, 2013 6:24:51 PM

This is like someone saying that they won't buy a car (which is a luxury to many) because they are from a poor family and 1/3 of their clan is still poor.

At least India is dreaming BIG. What if the US would have put off space exploration until none of her citizens was classified as poor? What about Russia?

how will the millions of rupees spent help the slum dogs? India can copy Scandinavian countries which have reasonable societies by focusing on the basics
#8 Posted : Tuesday, November 05, 2013 6:47:03 PM

digitek1 wrote:

how will the millions of rupees spent help the slum dogs? India can copy Scandinavian countries which have reasonable societies by focusing on the basics

Should Kenya be building superhighways while millions of her citizens are living in slums? India is spending $72m (Ksh 6B) for the project. Compare that with the Ksh 15B kenya wants to spend for std 1 laptops. Or 9B used to procure useless BVR kits.
Jump-steady
#9 Posted : Tuesday, November 05, 2013 6:55:20 PM

And back here on planet earth, Tata of India recently bought Range Rover/Jaguar.....India is on a roll...

Oh yeah, and they are a country with nuclear weapons capability smile
#10 Posted : Tuesday, November 05, 2013 7:13:16 PM

misplaced priorities. how many kids would that money have fed/educated?
#11 Posted : Tuesday, November 05, 2013 7:18:51 PM

some socialist here think that you need everyone fed before we can do anything useful... hiyo ni ujinga ya african thinking!! a country does not have to wait until every child is fed or has a classroom before giving a majority of them laptops... a country does not need to wait until everyone is fed before you build thika superhighway or use BVR. watu waache kufikiria hivyo... kudos India... endeleeni kuweka vitu in space let the critics/villagers keep on talking.
#12 Posted : Tuesday, November 05, 2013 7:21:58 PM

I am seeing very angry readers comments on British papers with many saying that India is using the 'foreign aid' it gets from Britain to explore mars instead of buying food for the poor citizens.

Interestingly India has told Britain that it no longer needs foreign aid but Britain has insisted in giving it the money so that it (UK) can continue having influence/some clout over India.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2487176/India-sends-rocket-Mars-1bn-year-space-programme.html

http://www.theguardian.com/world/2013/feb/18/uk-aid-india
#13 Posted : Tuesday, November 05, 2013 7:25:58 PM

instead of just focusing on feeding people... perhaps gava should stimulate the economy by ensuring that private sector gets some of these big contracts like for BVR or building highways! it would really be interesting if Gava spent billions to ensure that it uses 100% Kenyan made vehicles. that is how you build industries. my greatest regret was that 9 billion was sent outside the country yet we could do this things locally!!! but ujinga iletumejazwa nayo is thinking... "NANI ANAKULA HIYO 9 BILLION?" of course inakulwa... either ikuliwe hapa or ikulwe na mzungu - make your choice! afadhali ikuliwe hapa coz that money would be injected into the economy. I hope India is sourcing everything locally! coz if they are they will spur the aeronautical industry vibaya sana!
#14 Posted : Tuesday, November 05, 2013 7:34:15 PM

I am seeing very angry readers comments on British papers with many saying that India is using the 'foreign aid' it gets from Britain to explore mars instead of buying food for the poor citizens.

Interestingly India has told Britain that it no longer needs foreign aid but Britain has insisted in giving it the money so that it (UK) can continue having influence/some clout over India.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2487176/India-sends-rocket-Mars-1bn-year-space-programme.html

http://www.theguardian.com/world/2013/feb/18/uk-aid-india

its time some people realized that not all their money is used to feed 3rd world countries!!
#15 Posted : Tuesday, November 05, 2013 7:35:40 PM

We have great projects too: Duale's salary, Ruto's jetset lifestyle, Raila's escort cars...
#16 Posted : Tuesday, November 05, 2013 7:46:42 PM

@Masukuma have you seen the kind of poverty at some parts of this country???your ok with that???
#17 Posted : Tuesday, November 05, 2013 7:51:16 PM

@Masukuma have you seen the kind of poverty at some parts of this country???your ok with that???

nope... I am not ok with that but I believe subsistence thinking is what is holding us back!! empower people to help themselves but a country has to learn to chew gum and skate the stairs at the same time! Wewe ulinunua gari wakati kila mtu kwenu alishiba na kuwenda shule?
#18 Posted : Tuesday, November 05, 2013 8:16:59 PM

nope... I am not ok with that but I believe subsistence thinking is what is holding us back!! empower people to help themselves but a country has to learn to chew gum and skate the stairs at the same time! Wewe ulinunua gari wakati kila mtu kwenu alishiba na kuwenda shule?

Yes thats the kind of family I come from...
#19 Posted : Tuesday, November 05, 2013 8:24:39 PM

Yes thats the kind of family I come from...

it explains the line of thinking (its not a bad way of thinking its just alternative)
#20 Posted : Tuesday, November 05, 2013 8:29:16 PM

perhaps the clarification that needs to be done is that mali ya umma is not mali ya maskini. public resources don't belong to the poor! public resources are supposed to assist us do stuff that we cannot do individually!