wazua Sat, Jan 11, 2025

urgent Plea for assistance
Prime
#1 Posted : Wednesday, October 30, 2013 1:42:33 PM

Hi Wazua family,
I write to the wazua family as a last resort with the hope that someone may be able assist me get out of the predicament I find myself in. I purchased a unit from sbt on behalf of a client on 20/09/2013. The unit arrived on 15th Oct and I received the cars documentation on 26th Oct after numerous e-mails begging them to dispatch the clearance documents. As we waited, we decided to pay the duty because the CFS was only giving me 15 days free storage.
The problem arose due to the fact that the ORIGINAL BL came in a different name from the gentleman on whose behalf I imported (The copy-non-negotiable shows the correct name). I have had to personally call the CFS and explain my situation since I was not at fault. They accepted to grant me an extension of the free storage as I sort the issue with sbt. We have had to request for a manifest corrector from the shipper to no avail. We have been shunted back and forth with no clear solution to the mess. If there is an insider within the wazua family who may be able to advise on the way out I will be humbled.
#2 Posted : Wednesday, October 30, 2013 2:17:01 PM

Prime wrote:
Hi Wazua family,
I write to the wazua family as a last resort with the hope that someone may be able assist me get out of the predicament I find myself in. I purchased a unit from sbt on behalf of a client on 20/09/2013. The unit arrived on 15th Oct and I received the cars documentation on 26th Oct after numerous e-mails begging them to dispatch the clearance documents. As we waited, we decided to pay the duty because the CFS was only giving me 15 days free storage.
The problem arose due to the fact that the ORIGINAL BL came in a different name from the gentleman on whose behalf I imported (The copy-non-negotiable shows the correct name). I have had to personally call the CFS and explain my situation since I was not at fault. They accepted to grant me an extension of the free storage as I sort the issue with sbt. We have had to request for a manifest corrector from the shipper to no avail. We have been shunted back and forth with no clear solution to the mess. If there is an insider within the wazua family who may be able to advise on the way out I will be humbled.

Honestly hii ni ngumu...maybe scare them that you will take legal action...
#3 Posted : Wednesday, October 30, 2013 2:42:14 PM

Prime wrote:
Hi Wazua family,

Honestly hii ni ngumu...maybe scare them that you will take legal action...

Have no answer but I highly, highly doubt there is any way out, other than having the Forwarder/shipper overseas provide M. Corrector.

In most Instances, and which would have been easier to resolve, all BL copies come with a similar Mistake especially on the Consignee part. Now, That the Original BL differs with Non Negotiable complicates matters a bit. I think your option is Push for the M. Corrector even if It means a delay and paying a bit of Demurrage. Its worth it.

Who does the BL Indicate as the "DELIVERY AGENT" locally?. This is firm that can help, as they are more like the "Local Rep"

Pole sana and let us know how things move.
Prime
#4 Posted : Wednesday, October 30, 2013 3:05:19 PM

I have my clearing agent, whom I honestly think is overwhelmed by the whole issue. I have had to take personal initiative in calling the CFS and explaining my situation, of which they have granted me an extension of the free storage after forwarding the communication mails between me and sbtjapan. The problem is that the sbtjapan guys requested me to take both copy non-negotiable and original BL to their mombasa office but the mombasa guys insistthat I as the buyer should liaise with the seller, who in this case is sbtjapan. Sbtjapan, and in particular my account manager are no longer replying my mails. I have tried calling but I was just put on hold for around 4 minutes and then disconnected. I have gone almost through 10 members of their customer service department (csd). I have also spoken to the gentleman whose name appears on the BL but he tells me that he has purchased a Fielder but the car is yet to arrive meaning he is yet to get his documents. I have asked sbtjapan if they can send me the amended BL at my cost but so far no reply. Still trying to push. Im looking forward to a favorable conclusion. Luckily the guy buying is an understanding chap.
#5 Posted : Wednesday, October 30, 2013 3:33:05 PM

@Prime, Talk to @Tokyo and I am sure he can sort you out. Looks like a documents mix-up normal with copy and paste esp where a company like SBT has so many customers and documents to be processed.

Check posts in Wazua by Tokyo and u will get his email contacts.

All the best and don't get stressed.
Kwanini
#6 Posted : Wednesday, October 30, 2013 6:52:25 PM

Hi Sorry to hear about your misfortune! i happen to have dealt with them severally, including a bad one where they sent a knock engine car... search the link on wazua... any one all is not lost. The trouble is they have outsourced their customer care to russians and filipinos who care less. their agent at msa--one moha has no idea on his work as well... any way since time is of essence, try this chap kazama@sbtjapan.com
"For i am the master and the captain of my fate"
Prime
#7 Posted : Thursday, October 31, 2013 9:01:07 AM

Kwanini wrote:
Hi Sorry to hear about your misfortune! i happen to have dealt with them severally, including a bad one where they sent a knock engine car... search the link on wazua... any one all is not lost. The trouble is they have outsourced their customer care to russians and filipinos who care less. their agent at msa--one moha has no idea on his work as well... any way since time is of essence, try this chap kazama@sbtjapan.com

Thanks Kwanini. The mails to his address have bounced though. Been in touch with Edwin from sbtkenya who has promised to push my case with the japan guys. In the meantime my account manager (Shazmeen) has pulled a MIA and wont reply any mails or take calls from me. They've imposed a new account manager- junjun who is even worse
mkeiyd
#8 Posted : Thursday, October 31, 2013 10:38:04 AM

Prime wrote:
I have my clearing agent, whom I honestly think is overwhelmed by the whole issue. I have had to take personal initiative in calling the CFS and explaining my situation, of which they have granted me an extension of the free storage after forwarding the communication mails between me and sbtjapan. The problem is that the sbtjapan guys requested me to take both copy non-negotiable and original BL to their mombasa office but the mombasa guys insistthat I as the buyer should liaise with the seller, who in this case is sbtjapan. Sbtjapan, and in particular my account manager are no longer replying my mails. I have tried calling but I was just put on hold for around 4 minutes and then disconnected. I have gone almost through 10 members of their customer service department (csd). I have also spoken to the gentleman whose name appears on the BL but he tells me that he has purchased a Fielder but the car is yet to arrive meaning he is yet to get his documents. I have asked sbtjapan if they can send me the amended BL at my cost but so far no reply. Still trying to push. Im looking forward to a favorable conclusion. Luckily the guy buying is an understanding chap.

Could it be the Fielder importer will get your original BL? As you try other options, could you find when he's expecting his documents?

How about they [shipping agent/line] send surrender BL?

Wish you all the best. A solution will come up some how.
Prime
#9 Posted : Thursday, October 31, 2013 2:24:47 PM

It will be very hard for the guy to know since he is yet to get his documents as his car is yet to arrive. It however is not a mixup of the BL because the car's chassis is ok but only the consignee name and notify party part. I have tried tokyo's e-mail ad but bounced too (sikunjemasana@i.softbank.ne.jp). I have however been in touch with the kenyan embassy guys through kenrep@kenyarep-jp.com and one of their guys is taking up the issue with sbt. I have provided the contact details of my account manager. If it wont have been sorted out by tomorrow then i will have to get an affidavit and pay USD 58 to sort the issue. Total 6k or thereabout to correct the mess.
#10 Posted : Thursday, October 31, 2013 3:31:15 PM

Prime wrote:
It will be very hard for the guy to know since he is yet to get his documents as his car is yet to arrive. It however is not a mixup of the BL because the car's chassis is ok but only the consignee name and notify party part. I have tried tokyo's e-mail ad but bounced too (sikunjemasana@i.softbank.ne.jp). I have however been in touch with the kenyan embassy guys through kenrep@kenyarep-jp.com and one of their guys is taking up the issue with sbt. I have provided the contact details of my account manager. If it wont have been sorted out by tomorrow then i will have to get an affidavit and pay USD 58 to sort the issue. Total 6k or thereabout to correct the mess.

Even Cheaper I believe, Unless the Carrier was the big boys - SAFMARINE / MAERSK or MSC.

Let us know how it goes.

Best.
amga
#11 Posted : Thursday, October 31, 2013 8:55:01 PM

@prime, i am also having mad issues with sbt japan, they're just BAD NEWS!! sorry about your predicament, i think with such a post can we get a critical number and approach the embassy of Japan in Kenya my two cents, sorry for hijacking the thread
#12 Posted : Friday, November 01, 2013 5:55:49 AM

This post has made me check the FB page.The complains are many!all to do with documentation. somebody even posted;

O the warning is on the wall AVOID SBT HAWA NI GONE ROGUE read this from a dejected customer, http://wazua.co.ke/forum...amp;m=471324#post471324

It's very frustrating if you can't get a response from the shipper,I hope you get it resolved soon.
#13 Posted : Friday, November 01, 2013 11:26:41 AM

Can we recommend other companies other than sbt .
like Toyotsu Auto Mart Kenya which has a presence in nairobi although a bit expensive

http://www.toyotsuautomart.co.ke/
Prime
#14 Posted : Friday, November 08, 2013 6:42:06 PM

Thanks guys. I got the unit out on Wednesday evening. I must say that through the experience I have made friends. People who had been strangers before but went out of their way to help me. I must mention the wazua family for the kind advice, the guys at the kenyan embassy in japan who were ready to engage sbtjapan over the matter (Nelly) and valentine, the very kind lady from the CFS who helped me throughout the process from giving me a waiver on demurage charges, helped me though customs and even in getting the registration plates from the kra officials. I have had to sit down and think over the whole issue. I have decided to drop my clearing agent. He had done 5 units for me this year but he was simply over-awed and failed to take quick action in resolving problems. But most important is that I will always go out of my way in helping others in giving advice when I can, and guiding those who find themselves in tight corners. Just as all people assisted me when I was stuck. To all you guys who held my hand, I am eternally grateful. God bless you sooo much.
Muheani
#15 Posted : Friday, November 08, 2013 7:29:18 PM

Prime wrote:
Thanks guys. I got the unit out on Wednesday evening. I must say that through the experience I have made friends. People who had been strangers before but went out of their way to help me. I must mention the wazua family for the kind advice, the guys at the kenyan embassy in japan who were ready to engage sbtjapan over the matter (Nelly) and valentine, the very kind lady from the CFS who helped me throughout the process from giving me a waiver on demurage charges, helped me though customs and even in getting the registration plates from the kra officials. I have had to sit down and think over the whole issue. I have decided to drop my clearing agent. He had done 5 units for me this year but he was simply over-awed and failed to take quick action in resolving problems. But most important is that I will always go out of my way in helping others in giving advice when I can, and guiding those who find themselves in tight corners. Just as all people assisted me when I was stuck. To all you guys who held my hand, I am eternally grateful. God bless you sooo much.

Applause some of us made a prayer. The good Lord answered. AMEN.
Scar
#16 Posted : Tuesday, December 10, 2013 4:46:50 PM

@Prime kindly let me know how you sorted your case as it seem am in a similar predicament.The ship docked on 14th with the wrong name on the Bill of ladind, had to push for SBT to send me a manifest corrector which came on 22nd. I have paid the 6k but now am being tossed between KRA and the Shipper (DSS).
I am now unable to clear the unit which has started attracting demurrage, the shippers claim they have lodged the C11, when i go to KRA manifest section the C11 is not in the system, now the shipper is telling me to go to KRA NBI that the C11 has not been approved, my contact in NBI is being told the shipper has not lodged anything . Stress tupu.
Apparently 700 units are affected, kweli SBT this time wameshinda!
to be or not to be remains the question
Prime
#17 Posted : Tuesday, December 10, 2013 7:00:01 PM

Scar wrote:
@Prime kindly let me know how you sorted your case as it seem am in a similar predicament.The ship docked on 14th with the wrong name on the Bill of ladind, had to push for SBT to send me a manifest corrector which came on 22nd. I have paid the 6k but now am being tossed between KRA and the Shipper (DSS).
I am now unable to clear the unit which has started attracting demurrage, the shippers claim they have lodged the C11, when i go to KRA manifest section the C11 is not in the system, now the shipper is telling me to go to KRA NBI that the C11 has not been approved, my contact in NBI is being told the shipper has not lodged anything . Stress tupu.
Apparently 700 units are affected, kweli SBT this time wameshinda!

Sasa Scar,pole for the drama. I had to go the affidavit way. But if possible google the contacts of the CFS where the unit will be taken. Call them and explain your predicament. They may give you a waiver as you sort out the issue. If the CFS is MCT (i think thats where sbt nominates their cars by default) then you may still have a little extra time. I decided to give sbt the distance especially at the end of the year when they ship in over a thousand cars and then they cant handle the documentation. Let me know how it goes. If stuck send me your number on wazuaprime at gmail dot com and we'l chat off the forum