wazua Sat, Nov 16, 2024

OLX - Sell It - Show
akowally
#1 Posted : Friday, October 25, 2013 12:02:05 PM

Eric Omondi cracks me up in this show.

Does OLX have other ways of generating revenue?

Currently, it seems like it gets all its income via AdSense and knowing how little AdSense pays, I wonder how it is able to pay for these huge offline campaigns.

JOIN MY FREE MINI-COURSE FOR WRITERS. CLICK HERE
peappeng
#2 Posted : Friday, October 25, 2013 12:20:56 PM

Was wondering the same thing...very curious given that placing an ad with them is free; but how free is their free??
akowally
#3 Posted : Friday, October 25, 2013 3:29:20 PM

It is free kabisa. I know lots of guys who have sold through it.
JOIN MY FREE MINI-COURSE FOR WRITERS. CLICK HERE
#4 Posted : Friday, October 25, 2013 3:33:52 PM

akowally wrote:

So how do they really manage...
#5 Posted : Friday, October 25, 2013 3:37:43 PM

akowally wrote:

Where is the catch? Or maybe they are building a business with the hope of selling it later. Or could it be they are collecting some form of data that they sell somewhere? It can obviously not be free completely as in kabisa kabisa...Not with all those adverts
#6 Posted : Monday, October 28, 2013 1:28:14 PM

akowally wrote:

Where is the catch? Or maybe they are building a business with the hope of selling it later. Or could it be they are collecting some form of data that they sell somewhere? It can obviously not be free completely as in kabisa kabisa...Not with all those adverts

Google trader similar to OLX will be shut down....
#7 Posted : Monday, October 28, 2013 2:57:21 PM

akowally wrote:

Whatever it is, OLX web has a huge following. Posted an AD few weeks ago and received more than 300 email responses of interested pple in 2 days.
seppuku
#8 Posted : Monday, October 28, 2013 3:06:22 PM

Am wrote:
akowally wrote:

Whatever it is, OLX web has a huge following. Posted an AD few weeks ago and received more than 300 email responses of interested pple in 2 days.

Kwani ulikuwa unauza dawa ya ukimwi? smile
Learn first to treat your time as you would your money, then treat your money as you do your time.
#9 Posted : Monday, October 28, 2013 8:15:52 PM

seppuku wrote:
Am wrote:
akowally wrote:

smile smile
Nope. had a vacant position.
#10 Posted : Monday, October 28, 2013 8:40:20 PM

seppuku wrote:
Am wrote:
akowally wrote:

seppuku! smile
#11 Posted : Monday, October 28, 2013 11:16:09 PM

madollar wrote:
akowally wrote:

Google trader similar to OLX will be shut down....

Reminds me of Mocality Sad
tassia
#12 Posted : Monday, October 28, 2013 11:49:43 PM

This Olx thing is bigger than we imagine. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/OLX
#13 Posted : Tuesday, October 29, 2013 8:41:23 AM

akowally wrote:

Currently, it seems like it gets all its income via AdSense and knowing how little AdSense pays, I wonder how it is able to pay for these huge offline campaigns.

I enjoyed them until I saw the one where it suggested (to me) that a cougar was selling a necklace.
#14 Posted : Tuesday, October 29, 2013 9:46:49 AM

Gordon Gekko wrote:
akowally wrote:

I enjoyed them until I saw the one where it suggested (to me) that a cougar was selling a necklace.

Cougar is which animal now?
#15 Posted : Tuesday, October 29, 2013 9:56:21 AM

It's funny that they don't have Nairobi CBD as one of the regions....
kollabo
#16 Posted : Tuesday, October 29, 2013 10:01:01 AM

mukiha wrote:

Even when you set say hurlingham it displays Spring valley
#17 Posted : Tuesday, October 29, 2013 4:09:28 PM

kollabo wrote:
mukiha wrote:

Even when you set say hurlingham it displays Spring valley

Yeah... today I listed something and set Kileleshwa but it appeared as Karen!

Jinga Americans!
Money Whisperer
#18 Posted : Tuesday, October 29, 2013 6:22:42 PM

Am wrote:
Gordon Gekko wrote:
akowally wrote:

Cougar is which animal now?

thought a cougar is a MILF on steroids or kukumanga?
"Money never sleeps"
#19 Posted : Tuesday, October 29, 2013 7:35:13 PM

seppuku wrote:
Am wrote:
akowally wrote:

seppuku
#20 Posted : Wednesday, October 30, 2013 10:17:36 AM

Am wrote:
seppuku wrote:
Am wrote:
akowally wrote:

smile smile
Nope. had a vacant position.

That makes sense. But to be fair, hata mimi nimeuza mali through hii kitu. One culture I hope OLX can help us cultivate is getting rid of clutter. It seems to me we are very good at accumulating things we don't need. And you don't realize how much unnecessary stuff you have until when you are moving house and notice the 15-inch CRT monitor you bought in 2002 lurking in a dark corner covered in dust. The truth is that there is someone out there who would find utility in such things. And if you don't know where to take them I think OLX is a great the place. You could even offer it for free if you don't think it can fetch any meaningful amount of money. It is still a win-win.
Learn first to treat your time as you would your money, then treat your money as you do your time.