Market
Technical
Solar power
Rank: User Joined: 9/6/2013 Posts: 1,446 Location: In a house
Is it possible to power home purely on green(solar) energy? Consider a 5-beroomed house with all the electrical appliances that befits a 5-bedroomed house.
urstill1 wrote:Is it possible to power home purely on green(solar) energy? Consider a 5-beroomed house with all the electrical appliances that befits a 5-bedroomed house. Yes, it's being done as we speak. One thing to keep in mind, the initial investment is capital heavy. (the solar panels, battery, inverters e.t.c. If you have the quids, it's a smart move. One thing that you have to consider first and foremost your daily/monthly/annual energy consumption. The size of your house doesn't really matter that much, unless you'll be running AC and heat. You can quickly do this by adding up all your electrical appliances and electronics energy requirement. Or, by looking at your monthly electrical bill to figure out how much kWs (kilowatts) you are consuming. One thing I wish was happening is to allow us, the mwananchi to sell the power that we generate from solar panels back to KPLC. Good luck! “None but ourselves can free our minds.” - Bob Marley
Penny-Stocker wrote:urstill1 wrote:Is it possible to power home purely on green(solar) energy? Consider a 5-beroomed house with all the electrical appliances that befits a 5-bedroomed house. Yes, it's being done as we speak. One thing to keep in mind, the initial investment is capital heavy. (the solar panels, battery, inverters e.t.c. If you have the quids, it's a smart move. One thing that you have to consider first and foremost your daily/monthly/annual energy consumption. The size of your house doesn't really matter that much, unless you'll be running AC and heat. You can quickly do this by adding up all your electrical appliances and electronics energy requirement. Or, by looking at your monthly electrical bill to figure out how much kWs (kilowatts) you are consuming. One thing I wish was happening is to allow us, the mwananchi to sell the power that we generate from solar panels back to KPLC. Good luck! I pray for the net-metering thing to be introduced. Hiyo ingine ni total rip-off!
Rank: Veteran Joined: 12/8/2009 Posts: 975 Location: Nairobi
Penny-Stocker wrote:urstill1 wrote:Is it possible to power home purely on green(solar) energy? Consider a 5-beroomed house with all the electrical appliances that befits a 5-bedroomed house. Yes, it's being done as we speak. One thing to keep in mind, the initial investment is capital heavy. (the solar panels, battery, inverters e.t.c. If you have the quids, it's a smart move. One thing that you have to consider first and foremost your daily/monthly/annual energy consumption. The size of your house doesn't really matter that much, unless you'll be running AC and heat. You can quickly do this by adding up all your electrical appliances and electronics energy requirement. Or, by looking at your monthly electrical bill to figure out how much kWs (kilowatts) you are consuming. One thing I wish was happening is to allow us, the mwananchi to sell the power that we generate from solar panels back to KPLC. Good luck! @penny stocker Thats the only part i dont agree with. Solar power is very limiting. In order to generate enough energy to power all the usual electrical appliance e.g iron boxes, fridge - you will need a massive battery bank. You should also remember that the sun is for some days not available. Your battery bank needs to be atleast 3 times bigger than your daily needs. This is referred to as autonomy to allow you to enjoy the service for a few days when the sun does not charge you bank. Solar should be considered as a complement to the AC mains. FYI when you calculate the KWh cost for solar and compare with hydro and other sources, Solar is still more expensive in terms of production costs. This is from some projects i have carried out for schools and children's homes in Lodwar and the neighbouring areas. You will know that you have arrived when money and time are not mutually exclusive "events" in you life!
it's easy to power TV, home theater, laptops from solar, etc
the challenging appliance is the refrigerator,
Visit chloride exide on enterprise rd for a quote if in nairobi. They gave me one of 250k for a similar hse. With a kenya power bill of at least 5k per month, you are home and dry after 50months.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 2/3/2010 Posts: 1,797 Location: Kenya
majimaji wrote: Visit chloride exide on enterprise rd for a quote if in nairobi. They gave me one of 250k for a similar hse. With a kenya power bill of at least 5k per month, you are home and dry after 50months.
you need to factor future value. ..250 today isn't the same 50 months later...go for hybrid system I may be wrong..but then I could be right
http://wazua.co.ke/forum.aspx?g=posts&t=17641¡ʇɹoɟɟǝ ƃuıɟɟǝ ǝɥʇ ɹoɟ ɥɔnɯ os ؛uıɐʌ uı ɔıqɐɹɐ ƃuıuɹɐǝן pǝıɹʇ ı
Rank: Elder You have been a member since:: 3/2/2009 Posts: 26,331 Location: Masada
majimaji wrote: Visit chloride exide on enterprise rd for a quote if in nairobi. They gave me one of 250k for a similar hse. With a kenya power bill of at least 5k per month, you are home and dry after 50months.
By the 50th Month you would have changed the battery packs at least once...and a few inverters would have chpapad/blown up. ION: I think its things like iron boxes and hairdryers plust instant water heaters that cant be run effectively by a solar power; but fridge iko sawa since the wattage is low although it will be running the longest! (will consume more but in small quantities) My cents! Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
XSK wrote:Penny-Stocker wrote:urstill1 wrote:Is it possible to power home purely on green(solar) energy? Consider a 5-beroomed house with all the electrical appliances that befits a 5-bedroomed house. Yes, it's being done as we speak. One thing to keep in mind, the initial investment is capital heavy. (the solar panels, battery, inverters e.t.c. If you have the quids, it's a smart move. One thing that you have to consider first and foremost your daily/monthly/annual energy consumption. The size of your house doesn't really matter that much, unless you'll be running AC and heat. You can quickly do this by adding up all your electrical appliances and electronics energy requirement. Or, by looking at your monthly electrical bill to figure out how much kWs (kilowatts) you are consuming. One thing I wish was happening is to allow us, the mwananchi to sell the power that we generate from solar panels back to KPLC. Good luck! @penny stocker Thats the only part i dont agree with. Solar power is very limiting. In order to generate enough energy to power all the usual electrical appliance e.g iron boxes, fridge - you will need a massive battery bank. You should also remember that the sun is for some days not available. Your battery bank needs to be atleast 3 times bigger than your daily needs. This is referred to as autonomy to allow you to enjoy the service for a few days when the sun does not charge you bank. Solar should be considered as a complement to the AC mains. FYI when you calculate the KWh cost for solar and compare with hydro and other sources, Solar is still more expensive in terms of production costs. This is from some projects i have carried out for schools and children's homes in Lodwar and the neighbouring areas. In Kenya not North America bro!
Market
Technical
Solar power