wazua Sat, Nov 16, 2024

Help! She refuses to sleep in own bedroom
#1 Posted : Tuesday, July 23, 2013 1:57:41 PM

Jameni saidia hapa!

My 2 and a half year old rahalet won't sleep in her own bedroom. She insists on sharing our bed. Tried all tricks over the last 1 year to get her to accept to sleep in her own bed and bedroom lakini wapi. We've tried to make her share her brother's (10 yrs old) bedroom but own bed without success.
Made her a fancy bed still no luck.

Advise on what tricks, means, whatever that we may not be doing right in this endeavor.
Ondiek
#2 Posted : Tuesday, July 23, 2013 2:01:52 PM

Relocate to her bedroom and leave for her yours.
#3 Posted : Tuesday, July 23, 2013 2:04:07 PM

Rahatupu wrote:
Jameni saidia hapa!

My 2 and a half year old rahalet won't sleep in her own bedroom. She insists on sharing our bed. Tried all tricks over the last 1 year to get her to accept to sleep in her own bed and bedroom lakini wapi. We've tried to make her share her brother's (10 yrs old) bedroom but own bed without success.

Advise on what tricks, means, whatever that we may not be doing right in this endeavor.

For the very first week that a child is born ensure he/she sleeps with the maid so that he/she will grow up knowing where to sleep!

Its too l ate now to change the kid, the only option left is to let the kid grow to the age he/she will know how to separate good from bad...age of 10!...no landing in that bedroom in the foreseeable future!

#4 Posted : Tuesday, July 23, 2013 2:05:39 PM

There is no solution but the hard one...let her cry for 2 to 3 days and she will adjust. I had to do it to my older one, broke my heart, but he managed.
Muheani
#5 Posted : Tuesday, July 23, 2013 2:12:38 PM

I think gradually, when she sleeps..take her to her bed.she will wake up at somepoint and cry..pick her up, she sleepsagain and you move her again...eventually she will get used to...

or Like @KRaha said..let her break your heart with tears for several days.
#6 Posted : Tuesday, July 23, 2013 2:13:20 PM

Simple solution: Show her where her bed is and then proceed to your bedroom and lock the door and sleep. She will cry and after sometime she will go to her bedroom and sleep.
#7 Posted : Tuesday, July 23, 2013 2:14:10 PM

Rahatupu wrote:
Jameni saidia hapa!

For the very first week that a child is born ensure he/she sleeps with the maid so that he/she will grow up knowing where to sleep!

Its too l ate now to change the kid, the only option left is to let the kid grow to the age he/she will know how to separate good from bad...age of 10!...no landing in that bedroom in the foreseeable future!

smile Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
#8 Posted : Tuesday, July 23, 2013 2:17:40 PM

There was an article about this in the DN recently...

Kaa ngumu!

Kataa kabisa!

Crying has never killed anyone!
#9 Posted : Tuesday, July 23, 2013 2:52:17 PM

Gathige wrote:
Simple solution: Show her where her bed is and then proceed to your bedroom and lock the door and sleep. She will cry and after sometime she will go to her bedroom and sleep.

We tried this with one of our adamant daughter and the method failed. She cried and cried at the door until she vomitted all what she had eaten for dinner (through lot of struggling), chocking herself in it.

We tried pinching her for bad behaviour but this made her even more...

Eventually, we used method in post #5 and it worked.

Phew!!!!
#10 Posted : Tuesday, July 23, 2013 2:55:58 PM

Gathige wrote:

We tried this with one of our adamant daughter and the method failed. She cried and cried at the door until she vomitted all what she had eaten for dinner (through lot of struggling), chocking herself in it.

Phew!!!!

Parenting must be hardwork...
#11 Posted : Tuesday, July 23, 2013 3:04:40 PM

Gathige wrote:

Phew!!!!

@Alpha, Sorry i almost asked u how old are u. Parents sets the rules and children obey. If its your house, u set the rules and all follow. When i was new in this things, i used to take one of my lets to the docs under persuasion from other half for not eating. One day the doc told me" hakuna ugonjwa inaitwa kukataa chakula. Mtoto atakula akisikia njaa. Since that time in my house that problem ended. I provide, u eat when u want

As noted , mtoto hawezi cry and die. Be firm
#12 Posted : Tuesday, July 23, 2013 3:05:21 PM

If rahalet is a heavy sleeper, you can let her doze off in your room and move her to her room in her sleep. If that doesnt work, take her to her room by force and reward her for not coming to sleep in your bed.
#13 Posted : Tuesday, July 23, 2013 3:14:29 PM

Euge wrote:
If rahalet is a heavy sleeper, you can let her doze off in your room and move her to her room in her sleep. If that doesnt work, take her to her room by force and reward her for not coming to sleep in your bed.

Do this and with time she will expect a reward for anything you want her to do.
#14 Posted : Tuesday, July 23, 2013 3:35:17 PM

Rahatupu wrote:
Jameni saidia hapa!

Waoh... @impunity, please say those words again, very very slooooowwwlllyyy.... with your eyes closed, assume you are looking at a week's old baby who looks like you and has your blood flowing through their little veins, then report back.
#15 Posted : Tuesday, July 23, 2013 3:41:05 PM

Euge wrote:

Do this and with time she will expect a reward for anything you want her to do.

Depends on your definition of a reward. Positive behaviour should be reinforced.
Ngogoyo
#16 Posted : Tuesday, July 23, 2013 4:11:08 PM

Rahatupu wrote:
Jameni saidia hapa!

mine same age, he has slept from 6 months in his own bed, last month started sleeping in his own bedroom.

solution; let it be like medicine, let her sleep in her own bed as a start (religiously even if she dozes off in your bed, transfer her to her bed).

When she is comfortable, do the same with her own bedroom reliiiigiously

my 2 jubilee taxes
#17 Posted : Tuesday, July 23, 2013 4:16:21 PM

kumbe tuko wengi... mine has made me an IDP in my own house- i have to sleep in his room or he will sleep in ours. I guess some heartbreaking needs to happen but its difficult.
Ngogoyo
#18 Posted : Tuesday, July 23, 2013 4:18:50 PM

Rahatupu wrote:
Jameni saidia hapa!

Waoh... @impunity, please say those words again, very very slooooowwwlllyyy.... with your eyes closed, assume you are looking at a week's old baby who looks like you and has your blood flowing through their little veins, then report back.

#19 Posted : Tuesday, July 23, 2013 4:28:04 PM

Two and a Half Years???? Kweli umeumia mzee. And you had to do this when July's njeve is at its mbittest
#20 Posted : Tuesday, July 23, 2013 4:56:51 PM

Decorate that room in a way that makes her want to live there.