wazua Mon, Jul 21, 2025

5 Pages123>»
Hard times ahead
wairegi
#1 Posted : Monday, July 22, 2013 6:09:10 PM

It very clear that things are going to be hard and really hard.

Please take note;
1. 1.5% on all imports. Calling it railway development levy
2. VAT on essential goods that were zero rated before.
3. Just received a mail from my bank that there is going to be 10% excise duty.

Choices indeed have consequences.

#2 Posted : Monday, July 22, 2013 6:16:05 PM

some discussions on hard times here

i was having a conversation with someone yesterday and he said that he feels that the current govt seems to be going for the middle class jugular....i don't know how analytical that statement is but hii mambo ya taxation mingi inaleta wasi wasi
#3 Posted : Monday, July 22, 2013 6:17:16 PM

wairegi wrote:

Please take note;

If the total revenues from this levy are purely used to develop railway lines, Kenya will be a better country.
#4 Posted : Monday, July 22, 2013 6:17:21 PM

wairegi wrote:

Please take note;

I was just thinking of the hard time ahead. politically.I'm afraid.
#5 Posted : Monday, July 22, 2013 6:22:04 PM

butterflyke wrote:

i was having a conversation with someone yesterday and he said that he feels that the current govt seems to be going for the middle class jugular....i don't know how analytical that statement is but hii mambo ya taxation mingi inaleta wasi wasi

from comments in wazua, the targeted middleclass are 'too willing' and ready to defend any government move.any opposing voice is easily drowned and subdued. naogopa.
#6 Posted : Monday, July 22, 2013 6:26:42 PM

wairegi wrote:

Please take note;
Same

...went to Kenya Power today to apply for power ya rural...Was told connection fee is now ksh 70,000 from Ksh 34,000...Meter separation ksh 20,000 from ksh 6,000....Nitangoja ile power itakuja na laptops!!! Meanwhile i will negotiate with a neighbour 'nitupe wire' huko kwake...Absolute nonsense!!!
#7 Posted : Monday, July 22, 2013 6:34:36 PM

butterflyke wrote:

from comments in wazua, the targeted middleclass are 'too willing' and ready to defend any government move.any opposing voice is easily drowned and subdued. naogopa.

It is like raping a...
Dash
#8 Posted : Monday, July 22, 2013 6:55:44 PM

wairegi wrote:

Please take note;

If the total revenues from this levy are purely used to develop railway lines, Kenya will be a better country.

This is GOK my friend. Purely used on railway lines Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
#9 Posted : Monday, July 22, 2013 7:19:39 PM

wairegi wrote:

Please take note;
Same

...went to Kenya Power today to apply for power ya rural...Was told connection fee is now ksh 70,000 from Ksh 34,000...Meter separation ksh 20,000 from ksh 6,000....Nitangoja ile power itakuja na laptops!!! Meanwhile i will negotiate with a neighbour 'nitupe wire' huko kwake...Absolute nonsense!!!

this was discussed earlier in wazua. The 34k was coz of French govt subsidy
#10 Posted : Monday, July 22, 2013 7:21:16 PM

butterflyke wrote:

@innovateguy ako wapi?
#11 Posted : Monday, July 22, 2013 7:59:34 PM

My biggest problem/issue is that this is a team that pledged to lower the cost if living...
#12 Posted : Monday, July 22, 2013 8:07:12 PM

My biggest problem/issue is that this is a team that pledged to lower the cost if living...

In the long term like 2030 things will be cool. let us vumilia for now for a better future.
#13 Posted : Monday, July 22, 2013 8:37:04 PM

wairegi wrote:

Please take note;

When the road levy was introduced..the same fears were there..but aren't we enjoying better roads now? Kenyans own this country so only Kenyans will build this country. Vumilia
#14 Posted : Monday, July 22, 2013 8:47:55 PM

Mindo class wacheni phombe na raha mingi every week end.
fridays should be siku ya glass ya maziwa and go home early dayApplause Applause
You won't notice the meagre changes in taxation
#15 Posted : Monday, July 22, 2013 8:50:09 PM

mpobiz wrote:
Mindo class wacheni phombe na raha mingi every week end.
fridays should be siku ya glass ya maziwa and go home early dayApplause Applause
You won't notice the meagre changes in taxation

and the lower cadre....
#16 Posted : Monday, July 22, 2013 8:59:10 PM

wairegi wrote:

Please take note;

When the road levy was introduced..the same fears were there..but aren't we enjoying better roads now? Kenyans own this country so only Kenyans will build this country. Vumilia

if only the little we are getting was utilised well,most of us wouldnt mind vumilialing anytime.but mara 100 million for dp plane hire,43 million for curtains,unnecessary overcrowded foreign trips, ,monsters fuel guzzlers,senseless governors budgets etc. additional taxation makes no sense.
InnovateGuy
#17 Posted : Monday, July 22, 2013 9:04:04 PM

butterflyke wrote:

@innovateguy ako wapi?

I don't prepare government budgets, but people should be happy when they pay taxes. There's a lot of untaxed wealth flowing around.
Live Full Die Empty - Les Brown.
#18 Posted : Monday, July 22, 2013 9:27:23 PM

InnovateGuy wrote:
butterflyke wrote:

@innovateguy ako wapi?

I don't prepare government budgets, but people should be happy when they pay taxes. There's a lot of untaxed wealth flowing around.

it is a patriotic duty to pay tax, tax collected is supposed to be used to serve the nation so no qualms with paying. what seems to be unsettling some citizens is the fact that tax changes are mushrooming all around us and we cant help the feeling that it is 'too much'.

on another point, if the same efforts being exerted to tax wananchi were being exerted to curb irresponsible expenditure, may be it wouldn't hurt so much. but if i pay income tax, import duty mara sijui levy, then 10-30% of rental income, VAT on essential goods, sijui excise duty, etc and then ga'ament spends it to buy silk curtains etc Shame on you sidhani
#19 Posted : Monday, July 22, 2013 9:27:57 PM

wairegi wrote:

Please take note;

This one is a sore.
Cost of imports goes high and consumers must cover that cost by paying more.
Imagine having to explain to an Airfreight customer why we are taxing him for Railway levy.
#20 Posted : Monday, July 22, 2013 9:31:51 PM

Hesabu ya kutuma/kuwiwithdraw MPesa nayo!!!