SME
Ideas
Open letter to James Mwangi of Equity Bank
Dear Mr Mwangi,
I am now able to access my bank account through internet after I paid sh 2400/- per year. Last week I paid school fees by direct transfer of funds from this account to the school account on my laptop without leaving my house. The cost of doing this was sh 50/- only. I am grateful for this.
I have one more request. I have started paying the KPLC bill via MPESA and I think many other companies are registering to receive payments via MPESA like KPLC.
My request is that your bank should allow me to transfer funds from my bank account to my MPESHA account on line. Then I do not have to leave the house to go and pay for electricity,water,telephone bills,loans,etc and I can always send some money to my mother in the village at any time. This will help me save a lot of time and fuel as I will avoid driving in unending traffic jams.
This will also help the bank to decongest the ATMs as people can get their money through MPESA.
Eventually with access to internet through mobile phone I can do all the transactions through my phone from transfer of funds from my bank to paying bills.
Looking foward to your favourable reply in this matter
Yours sincerely,
Liv
@liv...explain what u mean by Kes.2400 per year...?? The Hague...or Local Triburnal ama TJRC. Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
'I am now able to access my bank account through internet after I paid sh 2400/- per year.' I am not understanding this line,especially bout the 2400/= The chief value of money lies in the fact that one lives in a world in which it is overestimated. ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
If you have a bank account with Equity they charge you shs 2400 to allow you access it on internet. You can view your transactions and do bank transfers online.
Who knows... does Mr Mwangi read SK blogs?
Is there someone out there who works for Equity bank? Can you please send this message to your CEO?
2400? Never heard of this service. Elaborate please. But i support you to ask Mwangi aweke equity to mpesa. I ask him further to also enable deposit placing thro' Mpesa.
In man prudence,in woman patience - Jacob Cats
@majimaji - this service has been in existence for over two years (as well as the basic mobile banking). You need to subscribe like Liv then you can access your bank account - make payments/transfer/ett sitting at home/in the office. At Kshs 2400 its value for money (think of how many minutes in a year one spends queuing or going to an ATM - and you will see that (or look at it as Kshs 6.60 per day).
The mobile banking is more basic and attracts a fee of Kshs 10 per transaction (balance enquiry,mini statement,notification of a deposit,etc) over the operator charges. You can also use the mbanking to top up airtime - they just deduct from your account and send you the airtime - neat,esp when its 1 am and you need to make a call or connect to the net,etc.
The problem with equality is that we desire that it be with those that have more than us rather that those that have less
Yes,Equity charges KES 2,400 p.a. for one to be able to operate ones account over the Internet. However,one can only transact between A/Cs with Equity Bank. There has not been any improvement on internet banking for a very long time. Equity should do something to improve their internet banking services. All beginnings are difficult ..... ..... everything has an end,only a sausage has two. Taunet Neelel ..... New Beginning .....
@ all Consolidated bank is currently offering transfers from account to MPesa,i have no idea how the same works but was actually impressed by the idea. 'Do all the good you can,by all the means you can,in all the ways you can, in all the places you can,to all the people you can,as long as ever you can'. John Wesley English Preacher (1703-1791) 'Do all the good you can,by all the means you can,in all the ways you can, in all the places you can,to all the people you can,as long as ever you can'. John Wesley English Preacher (1703-1791)
@Lyra,
For Consolidated bank... can you do this online or you have to go the bank to do the transfer to Mpesha?
Am not so sure,let me find out the finer details will get back to you 'Do all the good you can,by all the means you can,in all the ways you can, in all the places you can,to all the people you can,as long as ever you can'. John Wesley English Preacher (1703-1791) 'Do all the good you can,by all the means you can,in all the ways you can, in all the places you can,to all the people you can,as long as ever you can'. John Wesley English Preacher (1703-1791)
@Liv
Impressive.... I think its time i became a Member! Got a few transactions with firms using equity and have to keep sending someone to do them for me - at a fee(token) of course... cant stand those queues! Now,that's a motivation!
And by the way,not to sound petty but whats with MPESHA? Its Mpesa - pesa for 'money'.
Experience is what you get when you don't get what you want.
@Wendz,
Thanks for pointing this out. I always write 'Mpesha'... I once had a collegue at work whose name was MPESHA from TZ.... this name stuck in my mind. It should be Mpesa you are right.
It seems NIC bank has already implemented what I was asking Equity bank to do. It is in today's nation page33. They are offering this through a current account with a 'mobile banking service'.
Anyone with such account here? Can you access your account through your cell phone? How does this mobile banking service work?
Rank: Veteran Joined: 10/6/2007 Posts: 1,177 Location: Nairobi - Kenya
away from the mpesa-account issue... i think member bank is here to completely revolutionize the banking sector... in so many years i have lived and banked with several banks,i have never got a happy birthday message,yet they have always had my details... i just received one this morning from the member bank... you've heard me.. When you hear what I say, you will not understand. When you see what I do, you will not comprehend
ksh 2400.00 to access your a/c online,that sounds to me like extortion. I have never been in a bank for the last four years,all i do is internet banking in any part of the world and its all free save for transfers abroad which attracts a small fee.
I thought banks invest in technology so that them can save money on physical employment and not the way equity is doing it,i.e as alternative sources of income.
wote
@Wote,
Interesting.... please advise which bank is this that allows free internet banking. I would like to join. Thanks.
TNBL - Giving advances after mobile request
CBL - Transfers money from account to Mpesa
CFCSB - Transfers from account to suppliers / employees via mpesa
Family - Credit your bank account from mpesa - paybill
BBK - used to send birthday cards,until they 'realized' it was a liability for anyone with less that 20K to operate an account with them
Kes. 2,400.00 per year is very fair.
Consider this,I have an NIC Account,where I pay Kes. 800.00 per month to access their services. That translates to Kes. 9,600.00 per year. Plus I'll be charged for every transaction I make.
This would mean,I pay Equity Kes. 200.00 per month on the same. That is very affordable. However the only limiting factor is that I can not make payments to accounts other than those at Equity. However,Corporate accounts holders can do this and much more. Like TT's to diaspora.
@Erika,
you must be doing something wrong.. my pals with NIC pay the same flat rate for 800 and get those transfers free.. no additional charges.
was told that it depends on how you transact.
Add to the fact that the 800 bob covers ATM withdrawal charges,unlimited standing orders,1 local and foreign bankers chaque,international TT,cheque books.. salary processing.. e.t.c.
SME
Ideas
Open letter to James Mwangi of Equity Bank