Investor
Property
(Yet) another construction photo journal - Thailand style - A4architect.....look!
Excellent ! i have seen 'fairly' similar concept used in construction of office blocks minus of course he foundation bit. I can here my consultant already saying 'Boss punguza hiyo chuma ni nyingi sana' changanya Y8 na Y12..Lol :) will share with my architect friends and QS "😖😡KQ makes money for everyone except the shareholder 😏😏 " overheard in Wazua
Rank: Member Joined: 9/2/2010 Posts: 563 Location: Embakasi
Nice In a place where thought is abandoned, freedom can become a curse.
Kwani they do not Koroga the floor??? how is that possible?? The man who marries a beautiful woman, and the farmer who grows corn by the roadside have the same problem
Rank: Veteran Joined: 1/4/2010 Posts: 1,668 Location: nairobi
@pennystocker. Here we mainly use British standards as opposed to Chinese/American standards . Chinese/American standards have slowly began penetrating Kenya. The extension to Karen Galleria is being constructed using Pre Engineered Building methods which are hinged on Chinese/American standards. This is a suspended foundation. We use it here in Kenya mostly where black cotton soil is too deep for excavation. Strip foundation commonly used here in Kenya is cheaper if soil/ground conditions allow. Looks like in Thailand there are no natural masonry stones , hence use of more expensive reinforced concrete . The collumns are the ones carrying the buildign/roof weight . In Kenya, most buildings this size, i.e Ground plus 1 level, use masonry stone walling to bear the weight which is cheaper compared to reinforced concrete. The 1st floor slab is made of suspended floor slab panels. These save 10 to 15% of slab costs and are becoming common in Nairobi and supplied here http://www.rifloindustri...?riflo=spendedfloorroof
In summary, construction technology is mostly determined by the location/available material. As Iron Sharpens Iron, So one Man Sharpens Another.
a4architect.com wrote:@pennystocker. Here we mainly use British standards as opposed to Chinese/American standards . Chinese/American standards have slowly began penetrating Kenya. The extension to Karen Galleria is being constructed using Pre Engineered Building methods which are hinged on Chinese/American standards. This is a suspended foundation. We use it here in Kenya mostly where black cotton soil is too deep for excavation. Strip foundation commonly used here in Kenya is cheaper if soil/ground conditions allow. Looks like in Thailand there are no natural masonry stones , hence use of more expensive reinforced concrete . The collumns are the ones carrying the buildign/roof weight . In Kenya, most buildings this size, i.e Ground plus 1 level, use masonry stone walling to bear the weight which is cheaper compared to reinforced concrete. The 1st floor slab is made of suspended floor slab panels. These save 10 to 15% of slab costs and are becoming common in Nairobi and supplied here http://www.rifloindustri...?riflo=spendedfloorroof
In summary, construction technology is mostly determined by the location/available material. Thanks @A4arch for your expert opinion. I'm digging this idea of suspended floor. I think I'll use that when I put up my retirement house...which won't be too long. May be ill engage your design and arch services, if the price is right. I know exactly what I want just need it to be technically drawn for approval by the municipal or is it county office. “None but ourselves can free our minds.” - Bob Marley
Wow!! I'm very much impressed by this.... @a4architect, will give you a call one of these fine days we have a chat...wacha nimalize approvals.
@Penny-Stocker, Very Nice..how long did the project take i.e from foundation digging to completion?
Rank: Member Joined: 8/2/2010 Posts: 480 Location: chokoo
Chaka wrote:@Penny-Stocker, Very Nice..how long did the project take i.e from foundation digging to completion? The duration time is my question too as it is an impressive product without first looking into the costs. As it is so well explained, the location [soils et al] and material availability would be the major issue to go that way, but a good concept top keep in mind.
@penny stocker, welcome. @no stoppingthis, looking forward to your call. The new Nakumat galleria block is using pre engineered construction method which is governed by Chinese/American standards as compared to 99% of kenyan construction tech which is governed by british standards. As Iron Sharpens Iron, So one Man Sharpens Another.
karqui wrote:Chaka wrote:@Penny-Stocker, Very Nice..how long did the project take i.e from foundation digging to completion? The duration time is my question too as it is an impressive product without first looking into the costs. As it is so well explained, the location [soils et al] and material availability would be the major issue to go that way, but a good concept top keep in mind. @Chaka & Karqui - Took him about 6 months to complete everything! “None but ourselves can free our minds.” - Bob Marley
The Co-op bank house in Kayole Nairobi used the same concept.
Older 1920s to 1960s methods of construction used by the british in kenya still are the cheapest and most long lasting for bungalow/maisonette types. Such examples can be seen in the colonial bungalows in upper hill, kilimani, and other places inhabited by the british colonists. The constructions are mainly characterized by minimal use of reinforced concrete and steel. As Iron Sharpens Iron, So one Man Sharpens Another.
@a4arch.....I think it also goes with the availability of materials to be used. I don't think I'd build a concrete block house, let's say in Kisumu @ 77/= a block (before transportation) when I can construct the same with natural stones from Kedowa or South Nyanza (Homa Bay County), which are readily available ata cheaper cost of 44/= (inclusive of transport cost and hand dressing). I can then use bricks for the inside partitioning walls! I just wanted to share what my friend did in Thailand and their construction practices. What I'm liking is the suspended top floor instead of korogaring slab. I think this technique can save people a lot of time and money, even if it's 10%! “None but ourselves can free our minds.” - Bob Marley
a4architect.com wrote:@pennystocker. Here we mainly use British standards as opposed to Chinese/American standards . Chinese/American standards have slowly began penetrating Kenya. The extension to Karen Galleria is being constructed using Pre Engineered Building methods which are hinged on Chinese/American standards. This is a suspended foundation. We use it here in Kenya mostly where black cotton soil is too deep for excavation. Strip foundation commonly used here in Kenya is cheaper if soil/ground conditions allow. Looks like in Thailand there are no natural masonry stones , hence use of more expensive reinforced concrete . The collumns are the ones carrying the buildign/roof weight . In Kenya, most buildings this size, i.e Ground plus 1 level, use masonry stone walling to bear the weight which is cheaper compared to reinforced concrete. The 1st floor slab is made of suspended floor slab panels. These save 10 to 15% of slab costs and are becoming common in Nairobi and supplied here http://www.rifloindustri...?riflo=spendedfloorroof
In summary, construction technology is mostly determined by the location/available material. @a4architect.com a question. If i did the columns just like in this house and used interlocking blocks instead of masonry stones would i make any considerable savings on walling am assuming interlocking blocks can be used in urban areas not sure?
jamplu wrote:a4architect.com wrote:@pennystocker. Here we mainly use British standards as opposed to Chinese/American standards . Chinese/American standards have slowly began penetrating Kenya. The extension to Karen Galleria is being constructed using Pre Engineered Building methods which are hinged on Chinese/American standards. This is a suspended foundation. We use it here in Kenya mostly where black cotton soil is too deep for excavation. Strip foundation commonly used here in Kenya is cheaper if soil/ground conditions allow. Looks like in Thailand there are no natural masonry stones , hence use of more expensive reinforced concrete . The collumns are the ones carrying the buildign/roof weight . In Kenya, most buildings this size, i.e Ground plus 1 level, use masonry stone walling to bear the weight which is cheaper compared to reinforced concrete. The 1st floor slab is made of suspended floor slab panels. These save 10 to 15% of slab costs and are becoming common in Nairobi and supplied here http://www.rifloindustri...?riflo=spendedfloorroof
In summary, construction technology is mostly determined by the location/available material. @a4architect.com a question. If i did the columns just like in this house and used interlocking blocks instead of masonry stones would i make any considerable savings on walling am assuming interlocking blocks can be used in urban areas not sure? You don't just do columns like that. Its actually the result of calculations. It is better to keep your mouth closed and let people think you are a fool than to open it and remove all doubt... -Mark Twain
bkismat wrote:jamplu wrote:a4architect.com wrote:@pennystocker. Here we mainly use British standards as opposed to Chinese/American standards . Chinese/American standards have slowly began penetrating Kenya. The extension to Karen Galleria is being constructed using Pre Engineered Building methods which are hinged on Chinese/American standards. This is a suspended foundation. We use it here in Kenya mostly where black cotton soil is too deep for excavation. Strip foundation commonly used here in Kenya is cheaper if soil/ground conditions allow. Looks like in Thailand there are no natural masonry stones , hence use of more expensive reinforced concrete . The collumns are the ones carrying the buildign/roof weight . In Kenya, most buildings this size, i.e Ground plus 1 level, use masonry stone walling to bear the weight which is cheaper compared to reinforced concrete. The 1st floor slab is made of suspended floor slab panels. These save 10 to 15% of slab costs and are becoming common in Nairobi and supplied here http://www.rifloindustri...?riflo=spendedfloorroof
In summary, construction technology is mostly determined by the location/available material. @a4architect.com a question. If i did the columns just like in this house and used interlocking blocks instead of masonry stones would i make any considerable savings on walling am assuming interlocking blocks can be used in urban areas not sure? You don't just do columns like that. Its actually the result of calculations. @bkismat that i know and i would engage an architect and structural engineer for that...my question is on overall walling costs not only columns!!
Rank: Member Joined: 10/19/2009 Posts: 671 Location: Nairobi
Excellent job. I'm inspired. Life is joy, death is peace, but the transition is very difficult.
jamplu wrote:bkismat wrote:jamplu wrote:a4architect.com wrote:@pennystocker. Here we mainly use British standards as opposed to Chinese/American standards . Chinese/American standards have slowly began penetrating Kenya. The extension to Karen Galleria is being constructed using Pre Engineered Building methods which are hinged on Chinese/American standards. This is a suspended foundation. We use it here in Kenya mostly where black cotton soil is too deep for excavation. Strip foundation commonly used here in Kenya is cheaper if soil/ground conditions allow. Looks like in Thailand there are no natural masonry stones , hence use of more expensive reinforced concrete . The collumns are the ones carrying the buildign/roof weight . In Kenya, most buildings this size, i.e Ground plus 1 level, use masonry stone walling to bear the weight which is cheaper compared to reinforced concrete. The 1st floor slab is made of suspended floor slab panels. These save 10 to 15% of slab costs and are becoming common in Nairobi and supplied here http://www.rifloindustri...?riflo=spendedfloorroof
In summary, construction technology is mostly determined by the location/available material. @a4architect.com a question. If i did the columns just like in this house and used interlocking blocks instead of masonry stones would i make any considerable savings on walling am assuming interlocking blocks can be used in urban areas not sure? You don't just do columns like that. Its actually the result of calculations. @bkismat that i know and i would engage an architect and structural engineer for that...my question is on overall walling costs not only columns!! @jamplu..lets do a simple calculation. In the pictures above, there are 15 collumns. Each collumn takes 1m3 of concrete. Lets assume concrete cost of kes 20k per m3. This will be 20k x 1 x 15=300k. Interlocking bricks cost say kes 1000 per m2. Lets assume 300m2 as walling area. This totals 300k plus the 300k for structure=600k. Using masonry, the stone is both the walling and the structure. Stone costs kes 1500 per m3. For 300m2, this will be 450k. Therefore masonry wall will save kes 150k compared to this method here in Kenya. As Iron Sharpens Iron, So one Man Sharpens Another.
@jamplu...cement is very expensive in Kenya...I think its now going for Ksh. 830/bag(not sure about the exact figure since it seems like it changes every hour - damn inflation). Natural stones are widely available hence the lower cost. I also tend to favor stones (less mortar) over bricks. “None but ourselves can free our minds.” - Bob Marley
Investor
Property
(Yet) another construction photo journal - Thailand style - A4architect.....look!