wazua Tue, Jul 29, 2025

Sh11,000 for a glass of juice,a Kenyan newspaper,a sandwich,a meat-roll & tea!!!
#1 Posted : Monday, November 23, 2009 6:26:00 AM

I flew down to Mombasa recently. On the return journey,I was upgraded from Economy to Premier class...for arriving at the airport earlier than everybody else!!!

For a 45min flight,the additional cost is not worth it...I got...

Some juice as soon as I sat down
A Kenyan newspaper to read
A sandwich,a meat-roll,roasted nuts,more juice and tea after take-off

In Economy,I usually get...

Roasted nuts and juice after take-off

I have just checked the price of the Premier ticket......Sh25,000

The Economy one is.....Sh14,000

So,when you think about it,you pay Sh11,000 for a glass of juice,a Kenyan newspaper,a sandwich,a meat-roll and tea!!!

Behind the gardens...Behind the wall...Under the tree (Including: Red...Dark Blue...Yellow)
#2 Posted : Monday, November 23, 2009 6:46:00 AM

for short journeys it does not make much difference ut take those 26hour fligts and you will get a difrenet perception.

A likely impossibility is always preferable to an unconvincing posibility.
#3 Posted : Monday, November 23, 2009 7:09:00 AM

You probably get more space as well... and more luggage... & preferred boarding... and more miles...

Space is at a super-premium in the air...

Like you... I would not pay extra for premier on my own dime lakini who do you think the MPigs roll on our dime?

Greedy when others are fearful,Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase WB
#4 Posted : Monday, November 23, 2009 7:34:00 AM

As I said; it's not worth it on a 45min journey. Long haul? That's a different story.

@VVS; The leg room was not that much bigger..a few inches at most

Behind the gardens...Behind the wall...Under the tree (Including: Red...Dark Blue...Yellow)
Djinn
#5 Posted : Monday, November 23, 2009 7:58:00 AM

I've seen similar with BA to JoBurg - HUGE difference in cost but not much difference in comfort otherwise (proper silverware,real glasses,etc). Total waste of cash unless its really long haul (i.e. +8hours flight).

The problem with equality is that we desire that it be with those that have more than us rather that those that have less
Kamaa
#6 Posted : Monday, November 23, 2009 8:03:00 AM

for short distance it is a day light theft!

When you run so fast to get somewhere,you miss the fun of getting there... Life is not a race,so take it slowly....
When you hear what I say, you will not understand. When you see what I do, you will not comprehend
Eddy
#7 Posted : Monday, November 23, 2009 10:35:00 AM

Strictly meant for exclusiveness........... if guys who had paid knew you were there on upgrade they could have you thrown out,though you never asked for it they are very particular and the airlines are aware.

For those at the top of the pyramind of needs,cash is never a factor,so even if the flight was 15 minutes. Cost for premium class is always 4 times high. In most cases they dont even partake of things you mentioned. - For those paid for by company,tax payers,on upgrades etc will enjoy extras you mentioned.

A soda might cost you 200 at some places while the same thing will cost you 25bob at a kiosk.
#8 Posted : Monday, November 23, 2009 10:50:00 AM

For those who pay... not sure about upgrades... can also use the Simba Lounge... so I guess it is all relative...

Greedy when others are fearful,Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase WB
#9 Posted : Monday, November 23, 2009 10:53:00 AM

Two things. You get double miles on the frequent flyer programme,and you can't fail to notice the difference in noise levels when you have a seat in front of the engines as opposed to sitting in one behind the engines.
Bashka
#10 Posted : Monday, November 23, 2009 11:51:00 AM

@Mukiha,are you sure this is true. You arrive early and get an award?. Am sure this is not KQ because they normally overbook especially Msa root.
Jofa
#11 Posted : Monday, November 23, 2009 1:14:00 PM

Aiiiih,kwani ziko na bafu na choo?

'A verbal contract isn't worth the paper it's written on' - Samuel Goldwyn.
CLK
#12 Posted : Monday, November 23, 2009 2:31:00 PM

It might not be because you were early,atleast for SAA i know they normally overbook by maybe 5 people who are put in business/1st class but they would normally look at your mileage(your frequency of flying with them) not sure about KQ and yes,for short flights doesnt make sense its like flying business class to mombasa in a bus(read Modern Coast).

The real measure of your wealth is how much you'd be worth if you lost all your money. ~Author Unknown
#13 Posted : Monday, November 23, 2009 4:33:00 PM

...plus you do not have to keep on standing up every time somebody seated next to you has diarhoea (sp.) and wants to go to the toilet all the time...
#14 Posted : Monday, November 23, 2009 8:22:00 PM

I would fly biz/first class if someone else was paying... LOL...

#15 Posted : Tuesday, November 24, 2009 9:44:00 AM

@mukiha - Full flight? What I do not understand is that they upgraded you coz you were early... I thought that would happen IF you came in later & Economy/Cattle class was full...

#16 Posted : Tuesday, November 24, 2009 9:56:00 AM

@VVS and others wondering how I got upgraded for being early.

Was booked on an 8 o'clock flight

Got there before they started boarding the 7 o'clock flight

Had checked-in online the day before

Then they tell me that they have to change my seat and gate pass because the plane had been changed...to a smaller one...

Then this....

'Or would you mind if we put you on the earlier flight? We can upgrade you,you know? And that will give us an additional seat on the 8 o'clock...'

Since I had only planned to read the Harmonised Draft Constitution while waiting for my flight,I took up their offer.

#17 Posted : Tuesday, November 24, 2009 10:23:00 AM

Now I understand... LOL... you were sort of 'late' for the 7 O'Clock flight...thus the vacant seat would be in business class!!! LOL... Unless they upgraded u as a view to selling the vacant seat at 8 O'Clock.

BTW,7am or pm...

So was the 7am/pm flight full? Obviously,the 8am/pm was full (coz smaller plane)...

I like that 'entrepreneurship' at KQ... why let a seat go empty at 7 when they can re-sell the seat at 8... that check-in staff member deserved the wage increase...

I am going to try that the next time... get there early enough to catch an earlier flight then try for an upgrade...

#18 Posted : Tuesday, November 24, 2009 11:18:00 AM

mmmhhh,now that upgrade makes some sense!!!!!

The chief value of money lies in the fact that one lives in a world in which it is overestimated.
jaribu
#19 Posted : Tuesday, November 24, 2009 11:26:00 AM

well,flying is still cheaper than driving yourself down there at coast. can't wait for my holiday in feb inshallah!

wHo.. DaRes.. wIns!
#20 Posted : Tuesday, November 24, 2009 11:32:00 AM

I did a calculation & if you are solo... then yes... cheaper to fly than drive to coast... With 2 people... starts getting cheaper to drive BUT for the time/stress...

If you have a good car & have 3+ people & time is not an issue... then drive... I have driven down but during the day...

Unfortunately,the whole day gets wasted... You reach Mombasa tired...