Culture
I wonder where the parent/parents went wrong?
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/4/2006 Posts: 13,821 Location: Nairobi
very very very true... possunt quia posse videntur
I am told these days they dont fear the pregnancy, that can be "sorted in 10 mins over lunch time and u get back to the office in time". They are afraid of HIV/AIDS. Wait until it gets a cure...I wonder what they shall be afraid of!!!
masukuma wrote:I wonder where the mum went wrong? I see after much thought you have changed the heading to include 'parent/parents' from 'mum' Pesa Nane plans to be shilingi when he grows up.
What happened to the beatings our parents gave us? nobody died of being whipped. siku hizi ukichapa mtoto ur not a good parent en the kid myt commit suicide cz of stress nkt!!! We need to get back to the old days where even a neighbour could discipline ur kid. Otherwise we may not have generations to come.
washiku wrote:I am told these days they dont fear the pregnancy, that can be "sorted in 10 mins over lunch time and u get back to the office in time". They are afraid of HIV/AIDS. Wait until it gets a cure...I wonder what they shall be afraid of!!! actually its the opposite they are more afraid of pregnancy as compared to HIV/AIDS...with ARVs you can live for ages...Am a young turk trust the amount of skinny dipping going around isnt for the faint hearted... possunt quia posse videntur
maka wrote:washiku wrote:I am told these days they dont fear the pregnancy, that can be "sorted in 10 mins over lunch time and u get back to the office in time". They are afraid of HIV/AIDS. Wait until it gets a cure...I wonder what they shall be afraid of!!! actually its the opposite they are more afraid of pregnancy as compared to HIV/AIDS...with ARVs you can live for ages...Am a young turk trust the amount of skinny dipping going around isnt for the faint hearted... ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
matata wrote:What happened to the beatings our parents gave us? nobody died of being whipped. siku hizi ukichapa mtoto ur not a good parent en the kid myt commit suicide cz of stress nkt!!! We need to get back to the old days where even a neighbour could discipline ur kid. Otherwise we may not have generations to come. Spare the rod, spoil the child. Hiyo ingine yote ni porojo.
McReggae wrote:maka wrote:washiku wrote:I am told these days they dont fear the pregnancy, that can be "sorted in 10 mins over lunch time and u get back to the office in time". They are afraid of HIV/AIDS. Wait until it gets a cure...I wonder what they shall be afraid of!!! actually its the opposite they are more afraid of pregnancy as compared to HIV/AIDS...with ARVs you can live for ages...Am a young turk trust the amount of skinny dipping going around isnt for the faint hearted... I said it. 99% don't use protection. Most of the girls, by the time they graduate from Uni/College, have had an abortion or two. Set out to correct the world's wrongs and you will most certainly wind up adding to them.
Idleness too siku hizi hakuna mashamba ya kulima like we used to do when growing up.Domestic work, parents wanaachia house-helps even while the children are teenagers.Its really annoying queing in a butchery cause each customer lazima akatiwe meat ata sukuma jameni.
mnjoro wrote:Idleness too siku hizi hakuna mashamba ya kulima like we used to do when growing up.Domestic work, parents wanaachia house-helps even while the children are teenagers.Its really annoying queing in a butchery cause each customer lazima akatiwe meat ata sukuma jameni. And with the "moving up the ladder" theme grandparents have dstv and live in estates or just a stone throw away from the city so hata ukiwatuma huko holiday they will just enjoy MTV base,Big brother and the rest...its crazy my niece joined campo the other day and am not being judgemental but the mum is the dont care type she now has a kid to raise at 20 while still struggling with The fishers equation,economics and the rest...and for the father...you guessed right nowhere in sight scattered kitambo sana....sorry state of affairs. possunt quia posse videntur
Rank: Member Joined: 2/7/2013 Posts: 447 Location: Nairobi
washiku wrote:I am told these days they dont fear the pregnancy, that can be "sorted in 10 mins over lunch time and u get back to the office in time". They are afraid of HIV/AIDS. Wait until it gets a cure...I wonder what they shall be afraid of!!! its the opp they fear getting paged to HIV...Imagine that. And when Caroline Mutoko tries to put sense in them, they open a page to exterminate her..LOL. Parents need to put things right, spare the rod spoil the child...hii maneno ya kiss kiss baby...bla bla(I dont mean you dont give you baby affection), and you never tell your kid that what is wrong is wrong, then you cannot make the tree upright if the roots are not strong. You cant win, unless you first begin....
I've seen it!! To me, it's really disturbing. Couple that with our leaders' priorities.....quot; maka wrote:mnjoro wrote:Idleness too siku hizi hakuna mashamba ya kulima like we used to do when growing up.Domestic work, parents wanaachia house-helps even while the children are teenagers.Its really annoying queing in a butchery cause each customer lazima akatiwe meat ata sukuma jameni. And with the "moving up the ladder" theme grandparents have dstv and live in estates or just a stone throw away from the city so hata ukiwatuma huko holiday they will just enjoy MTV base,Big brother and the rest...its crazy my niece joined campo the other day and am not being judgemental but the mum is the dont care type she now has a kid to raise at 20 while still struggling with The fishers equation,economics and the rest...and for the father...you guessed right nowhere in sight scattered kitambo sana....sorry state of affairs. Man must live!
Meduza wrote:washiku wrote:I am told these days they dont fear the pregnancy, that can be "sorted in 10 mins over lunch time and u get back to the office in time". They are afraid of HIV/AIDS. Wait until it gets a cure...I wonder what they shall be afraid of!!! its the opp they fear getting paged to HIV...Imagine that. And when Caroline Mutoko tries to put sense in them, they open a page to exterminate her..LOL. Parents need to put things right, spare the rod spoil the child...hii maneno ya kiss kiss baby...bla bla(I dont mean you dont give you baby affection), and you never tell your kid that what is wrong is wrong, then you cannot make the tree upright if the roots are not strong. No, let's not get there. Mutoko is importing the western ideology into our culture. Ans, I don't support that. How can you explain a woman at that age with no serious partner!! Leave alone being married! Man must live!
urstill wrote:Meduza wrote:washiku wrote:I am told these days they dont fear the pregnancy, that can be "sorted in 10 mins over lunch time and u get back to the office in time". They are afraid of HIV/AIDS. Wait until it gets a cure...I wonder what they shall be afraid of!!! its the opp they fear getting paged to HIV...Imagine that. And when Caroline Mutoko tries to put sense in them, they open a page to exterminate her..LOL. Parents need to put things right, spare the rod spoil the child...hii maneno ya kiss kiss baby...bla bla(I dont mean you dont give you baby affection), and you never tell your kid that what is wrong is wrong, then you cannot make the tree upright if the roots are not strong. No, let's not get there. Mutoko is importing the western ideology into our culture. Ans, I don't support that. How can you explain a woman at that age with no serious partner!! Leave alone being married! For mutoko, that is her choice. after all she had a kid to take care of.
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/4/2006 Posts: 13,821 Location: Nairobi
Pesa Nane wrote:masukuma wrote:I wonder where the mum went wrong? I see after much thought you have changed the heading to include 'parent/parents' from 'mum' it wasn't after 'much thought' but yes indeed... kazi ni yetu sote All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
Rank: Elder Joined: 1/17/2013 Posts: 4,693 Location: Earth
mnjoro wrote:Idleness too siku hizi hakuna mashamba ya kulima like we used to do when growing up.Domestic work, parents wanaachia house-helps even while the children are teenagers.Its really annoying queing in a butchery cause each customer lazima akatiwe meat ata sukuma jameni. Meat is fine,but some have taken things a bit too far. A grown up lady cannot even cut her cabbage/sukuma/onion not cz she doesn't have the time,she just hates the work which will mess up her pedicure. The only thing she does is oil the pan. I pity sons.
matata wrote:What happened to the beatings our parents gave us? nobody died of being whipped. siku hizi ukichapa mtoto ur not a good parent en the kid myt commit suicide cz of stress nkt!!! We need to get back to the old days where even a neighbour could discipline ur kid. Otherwise we may not have generations to come. Parents of today are so wrong as far as being role models is concerned; the way they dress, the way they talk,all housework being left to the househelp. How do you expect the children to turn out. Kitambo, we had chores to perform, respect for the elders and we knew the kiboko was not far off if we erred. Too often we underestimate the power of a touch, a smile, a kind word, a listening ear, an honest compliment, or the smallest act of caring, all of which have the potential to turn a life around.... Leo Buscaglia
Culture
I wonder where the parent/parents went wrong?