wazua Sat, Nov 16, 2024

Safaricom/ Airtel
matata
#1 Posted : Wednesday, June 12, 2013 2:44:51 PM

Those who stay in Lang'ata en its enviros. Anyone using Airtel or Safcom modems? Which one offers quick internet services.
Am tired of mourning Orange day in day out. very dissapointed.
shanty
#2 Posted : Wednesday, June 12, 2013 4:03:31 PM

……It all depends on a couple of technical efficiencies put in place by the service provider based on population and market segmentation. That is, how many people does a specific Data Site service, and what category of users are they? In areas around the carnivore, around the high end super markets (Galleria) you will get good 3G coverage by all the service providers as the population around that area and the spending will of the customer matches the investment laid down by the service provider…. other low end areas are covered by EDGE and lower 2G services… so figure out what area you are in and if you have network disadvantaged yourself by living in an area of low demographics yet you are a big data spender....Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

My take is Airtel has undertaken the best feasibility and matched resources against demand in the Langata area…the move is really yours now to position within your service area.
#3 Posted : Wednesday, June 12, 2013 4:09:13 PM

Which are of LA??
#4 Posted : Thursday, June 13, 2013 4:37:18 AM

Which are of LA??

Kibera.
#5 Posted : Thursday, June 13, 2013 9:12:05 AM

Which are of LA??

Kibera.

Kwani wewe ni @matata????
matata
#6 Posted : Thursday, June 13, 2013 1:50:55 PM

Which are of LA??

MC Reggae around sadili sports club or malezi. The orange network is horrible. Am considering switching to a better network. any advice?
matata
#7 Posted : Thursday, June 13, 2013 1:53:01 PM

Which are of LA??

Kibera.

@Mawinder, so u hail from kibish? karibu chai
#8 Posted : Thursday, June 13, 2013 2:32:23 PM

matata wrote:
Which are of LA??

MC Reggae around sadili sports club or malezi. The orange network is horrible. Am considering switching to a better network. any advice?

Around the same area, safcom serves me pretty well, can't complain.
matata
#9 Posted : Thursday, June 13, 2013 2:40:53 PM

matata wrote:
Which are of LA??

Around the same area, safcom serves me pretty well, can't complain.

Thank a lot. Now I can buy the safcom modem. They say Orange is cheap which is true, but it has taught me tht cheap can be expensive.
#10 Posted : Thursday, June 13, 2013 9:40:16 PM

shanty wrote:
……It all depends on a couple of technical efficiencies put in place by the service provider based on population and market segmentation. That is, how many people does a specific Data Site service, and what category of users are they? In areas around the carnivore, around the high end super markets (Galleria) you will get good 3G coverage by all the service providers as the population around that area and the spending will of the customer matches the investment laid down by the service provider…. other low end areas are covered by EDGE and lower 2G services… so figure out what area you are in and if you have network disadvantaged yourself by living in an area of low demographics yet you are a big data spender....Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

My take is Airtel has undertaken the best feasibility and matched resources against demand in the Langata area…the move is really yours now to position within your service area.

I would recommend Safaricom. I was in ushago (200km from Nairobi) over the weekend and was pleasantly surprised that I could get 3G/HSPDA connection in my rural simba. I ran speedtest and the result was download speed of 2.1mbps, similar to what I get in Nairobi. I just couldn't believe that was happening in my village. I believe Safaricom must have covered Nairobi well before venturing to rural areas.
#11 Posted : Friday, June 14, 2013 11:16:54 AM

shanty wrote:

I would recommend Safaricom. I was in ushago (200km from Nairobi) over the weekend and was pleasantly surprised that I could get 3G/HSPDA connection in my rural simba. I ran speedtest and the result was download speed of 2.1mbps, similar to what I get in Nairobi. I just couldn't believe that was happening in my village. I believe Safaricom must have covered Nairobi well before venturing to rural areas.

Dittoh!!!!!
akowally
#12 Posted : Monday, June 17, 2013 1:36:39 PM

matata wrote:
Those who stay in Lang'ata en its enviros. Anyone using Airtel or Safcom modems? Which one offers quick internet services.
Am tired of mourning Orange day in day out. very dissapointed.

I'm not in those sides of LA but will give quick advise.

I believe I hate technical stuff as much as you do.

Simply get all the modems from friends for a day and try each of them out.

Use the one which will work best for you.

I personally recommend Airtel anytime.
JOIN MY FREE MINI-COURSE FOR WRITERS. CLICK HERE