wazua Sat, Nov 16, 2024

5 Pages123>»
Your Electricity Bill
#1 Posted : Tuesday, September 02, 2008 8:45:00 AM

Mine shot from an average of 2,500-3,000 to 4,800 and then the latest one is 5,900....do I have to put a ban on electricity??????
kazee
#2 Posted : Tuesday, September 02, 2008 10:38:00 AM

Last month my bill shot up by 100%..or doubled in other words. This month it is up again 50% meaning i will be paying 3 times yes,3 what i used to. we need to do smthng about this....think i need to stop using elec now..candle lit dinner fulltime sasa na kupika kwa makaa
Kioko_Nesa
#3 Posted : Tuesday, September 02, 2008 1:16:00 PM

Have you ever thought of auditing your home gadgets especially Electronic equipments in relation to their power consumption? I think this is the right time as the Electricity bill has hicked so much. You even need to check their power ratings just like you check the ingradients in food products before you buy.

By the end of the day,you will find yourself saving a lot of cash.

Kioko
Silk
#4 Posted : Tuesday, September 02, 2008 1:49:00 PM

seems it's padaing every month. if we forecast into the future,we'll have to do without. time to seek alternative cheaper sources or as somebody rightly proposes,move to the streets.

seems kplc is also taking the advantage to make some extra bucks out of the sorry situation.

Life is too short.
Daz
#5 Posted : Tuesday, September 02, 2008 2:53:00 PM

is there a gadget that i can attach to each appliance to determine how much i am using?

The oppressor and the oppressed have one thing in common...the Lord gave eyes to both of them
PONDI
#6 Posted : Tuesday, September 02, 2008 6:29:00 PM

damn and i thought i was alone! my bill averages 3000 to 4000,this month i paid slightly over 7k. and i live alone with my pet cat.. i have energy saver bulbs and travel alot. i just dont understand this. i hope am getting good dividends from my KPLC shares this year!!....
#7 Posted : Tuesday, September 02, 2008 6:50:00 PM

damn i hate the way i think.................pet cat................... got me.

there is this landlord who is now charging me 17 bob per unit .. kplc..help me out.

got the bill today and its kawaida 300 units.. was paying 9 bob before the tarriff adjustment

muthomi mugi aiikagia maitho kabere...
PONDI
#8 Posted : Wednesday, September 03, 2008 5:12:00 AM

nice topic. it could be merged with the one on 'electricity bill'. wapi elec engineers to help us out? i know water heaters,elec cookers,iron,warmers etc are bad. other ways to reduce the bill......do 'it' with lights out!! hehe....just kiddin
Nairobian
#9 Posted : Wednesday, September 03, 2008 6:28:00 AM

Guys you are not alone... i thought the bill only increased to 21% look at the figures below...

By the way dont think about your own house bills think about the industries.. Unga Ltd must be using Electricity like crazy .. Where will this increase goto ? .. End product right ? so basically prices of everything will go up soon...

My office bill was 120,000 now it has come 240,000 ( Using our own generator of 60kva will consume 5k diesel everyday .. which comes to around 125k a month .. We are thinking of swicthing of KPLC and to go on Generator

My boss's house bill was 17-18k now its 44k

My house bill was 2900 now it is 4500..

Whats happening guys is KPLC looting people or what ??.. This will kill our economy

Is there anyone in this forum working for KPLC ?.. thinking of putting this in watchman in Daily Nation.. We should all gang up and write complain e-mails or letter.. what do others say

Happy Investing
PONDI
#10 Posted : Wednesday, September 03, 2008 6:45:00 AM

@mlefu...get you head out of the gutter bro...its paka...yaani a pussy cat. an abysinnian mackrel breed of cat that gets more action than i do.
@nairobian ...kindly write to watchie and the standard equivalent...this is just insane.
jerry
#11 Posted : Wednesday, September 03, 2008 7:16:00 AM

Latest FCA is 769 cts per KWH. It rose from 359 thru 649. This is the killer! Can this be audited. Taking this into account 17/= isn't far from truth.

Ecs 11.2 Give portions to seven,yes to eight,for you do not know what disaster may come upon the land.
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
#12 Posted : Wednesday, September 03, 2008 8:48:00 AM

The cost of pwer in kenya is ridiculuos,and we should do something about it.

We are subsidising the corrupt idoits that run that sector,and they are fleecing us with impunity.

My brother pays no more than $100 a month in canada,and they ahve a/c on 24 hours in the summer and heating on in the winter.

kenyans,we are getting a raw deal!

#13 Posted : Wednesday, September 03, 2008 11:01:00 AM

@all....writing to watchie or standard's equivalent will take us nowhere...its called 'transfer of the real problem'.....we are very good at that as kenyans and we need to stop that

what we need to do is to answer KAZEE's question with some serious soul searching and real action....we should wake up and stop being so passive

why is it that the incompetencies of state managers and leaders are always passed to us at a premium price?...then we keep quiet and move on with life as if nothing really happened!!....Its time we said no! no! no! Never again! to this nonsense

The question is how? Can we brainstorm ladies and gentlemen? I propose some uhuru park kind of demonstrations........

and pray,do we have any consumer rights body in this country?...maybe we could start here by forming one to champion for our rights and previleges....we surely need one urgently if none exists at all....KENYA CONSUMERS' RIGHTS SOCEITY........mlefu can be chairman

@kazee...what did you have in mind?

over to you all.................

TM
#14 Posted : Wednesday, September 03, 2008 11:40:00 AM

Can someone enlighten me about the codeless/unbreakable bulbs,which are of late being advertised on TV?

- What are their sources of energy? or – KPLC is going wireless?
PONDI
#15 Posted : Wednesday, September 03, 2008 11:58:00 AM

@TM.... yes kplc is now wireless.....foko jembe wewe...but thats funny....
Wach
#16 Posted : Wednesday, September 03, 2008 12:04:00 PM

Hi,

Imagine the game they played in Kiambaa. Never read the metres from January and printing bills with 0 or 1 estimate reading. Then in July,they send bills ten times the normal payment,using the new rates. Is that not robbery without violence??!!

I also think Kenyans should wake up from their slumber and challenge these monsters.

#17 Posted : Wednesday, September 03, 2008 2:47:00 PM

jerry accept my apologies for the small mistake...its fcking actually 19 bob!!!!!! per unit..yes 19 bob... hes is called chatur..Diamond plaza parklands.. drop by anytime and ask any tenant for their bill.. that shld not cost you anything to believe..if it does..take a copy and send it to my mail,just to prove you actually went there..i can smabaza some everyready shares to you..

KPLC help this silly tenents out.

muthomi mugi aiikagia maitho kabere...
Mainat
#18 Posted : Wednesday, September 03, 2008 3:11:00 PM

How much would using solar power save for a 3/4 bedroom?

www.mjengakenya.blogspot.com
Sehemu ndio nyumba
#19 Posted : Wednesday, September 03, 2008 9:02:00 PM

@Mainat - even though solar has no bills,the installation cost for a system that can replace you KPLC supply would be prohibitively high. You are looking at a pay-back period of 30-odd years
#20 Posted : Thursday, September 04, 2008 5:04:00 AM

talk talk talk...no action....bure kabisa!!!....

this thread will at the end of the week probably have hit 100 responses,all of which will be complaints...lets take some action guys....

i am still of the opinion that we need some loud mouth...KENYA CONSUMERS' RIGHTS SOCIETY or ASSOCIATION or something like that......then we can make the REAL noise and we shall be heard,loud and clear......mlefu still my preferred interim chairman