Health
Food Choking
So many cases of kids chocking cz of food. The rate is alarming. Doctors...what are the Dos and Donts
I am not a doc but a friend lost her baby through that-carelessness of the housegirl. One famous media personality's baby suffered the same fate as well. - teach ur maid first aid lessons. -feed baby kwa utaratibu while watching.Some maids concentrate on nollywood,soaps and end up feeding baby the remote. -burp baby after nyonyo. -leave the rest to God but don't give child tilapia whole eti he will spit out the bones. "The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.
essyk wrote:I am not a doc but a friend lost her baby through that-carelessness of the housegirl. One famous media personality's baby suffered the same fate as well.
- teach ur maid first aid lessons. -feed baby kwa utaratibu while watching.Some maids concentrate on nollywood,soaps and end up feeding baby the remote. -burp baby after nyonyo. -leave the rest to God but don't give child tilapia whole eti he will spit out the bones.
stay at home and take care of your own kid... possunt quia posse videntur
Rank: Member Joined: 10/8/2010 Posts: 446 Location: london
matata wrote:So many cases of kids choking cz of food. The rate is alarming. Doctors...what are the Dos and Donts to avoid confusion, just Google it
This is sad. Are they that many? Maybe ladies should breastfeed for 2yrs-3yrs
Rank: Elder Joined: 2/8/2013 Posts: 4,068 Location: At Large.
maka wrote:essyk wrote:I am not a doc but a friend lost her baby through that-carelessness of the housegirl. One famous media personality's baby suffered the same fate as well.
- teach ur maid first aid lessons. -feed baby kwa utaratibu while watching.Some maids concentrate on nollywood,soaps and end up feeding baby the remote. -burp baby after nyonyo. -leave the rest to God but don't give child tilapia whole eti he will spit out the bones.
stay at home and take care of your own kid... We would love to do this but Uchumi does not allow.We want to give them the best and that will be achieved if we also look for mbeca to buy what we cannot offer naturally.Education, housing ,health care etc. Nyonyo we give to the best of our ability.Two years plus. Love is beautiful and so are those who share it.With Love, Marriage is an amazing event in ones life time, the foundation of joy, happiness and success.
esssyk...my pal also lost her kid a week ago. In a span of 15min she was gone! And ive heard so many other cases this yr alone. I guess first aid training is very important even to hsegals.
.....a nightmare to many parents, two sets of young families (one a well know young politician) I know are yet to recover from the trauma after losing their children to chocking....the reaction time is always so little and gives very little chance of survival once it happens!!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
Threads like this make a chill run through my body when I think about my two ZZElets who are under the care of the Maid/Teachers most of the day The man who marries a beautiful woman, and the farmer who grows corn by the roadside have the same problem
matata wrote:esssyk...my pal also lost her kid a week ago. In a span of 15min she was gone! And ive heard so many other cases this yr alone. I guess first aid training is very important even to hsegals. @matata, How old was the kid? This is disturning.
mkeiyd wrote:matata wrote:esssyk...my pal also lost her kid a week ago. In a span of 15min she was gone! And ive heard so many other cases this yr alone. I guess first aid training is very important even to hsegals. @matata, How old was the kid? This is disturning. The kid was 7months. veeery sad. and worse still if one has struggled to conceive.
I see twins! Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Rank: Member Joined: 2/7/2013 Posts: 447 Location: Nairobi
As Essyk says, yes teach your housegirl first Aid lessons. A neigbours 7 month kid died last week of the same...am sure if this house girl had known how to do first aid, that kid would hv been save. My daughter almost died of being chocked by a piece of plastic which fell in her food by mistake, I thank God I was feeding her because Instead of panic...I did the first aid...from that day, I would prepare the food, pack it, and the only think my housie was to do was to feed, she watched in horror and she was soo careful how she handled the baby and her food stuff. I guess its all about what we teach our housies and also God. You cant win, unless you first begin....
Heard of a 3 year old who chocked on a plum seed. Lived in South C and by the time they got to Mater the boy had gone to his maker. Not all fruits are appropriate. Lord, thank you!
Rank: Member Joined: 4/6/2010 Posts: 741 Location: Nairobi
In case of chocking, (for a young child) hold the baby upside down by the leg and hit the upper side of its back.
For an older heavier child, lay him or her facing downwards on your lap and hit his or her upper back.
Aki kizungu ni ngumu sana. I hope the description is good.
My nephew swallowed his father's cuff-lings once and it was a disaster. luckily the mbotch, an elderly woman, knew what to do and I learnt from her. She saved his life kabisa kabisa.
It must be really devastating to lose a child due to food choking. Some of these house helps don't even take time to burp the baby after feeding, especially with all the TV around. I can't really blame it all on the house helps though, one of my friends lost his baby in a similar way almost two years ago.....he wanted to help with the baby while the wife was out, bottle-fed the baby but forgot all about burping afterwards.
Rank: Elder Joined: 2/22/2009 Posts: 2,449 Location: Africa
OMG. I'm going to make an impromptu check on the Shaklets at lunch hour. Too distressing
Rank: Elder Joined: 2/22/2009 Posts: 2,449 Location: Africa
Of late i find that i've been waking up at night feeling like i've swallowed an object and always leaves me in panic mode. Does anyone experience the same? Could i be swallowing insects? It usually feels like i've swallowed a marble
Mukiri wrote:This is sad. Are they that many? Maybe ladies should breastfeed for 2yrs-3yrs Who gave uhuruto names for shortlisting? they should have taken you for a position of CS, ministry of labour.... that would be awesome!
Shak wrote:Of late i find that i've been waking up at night feeling like i've swallowed an object and always leaves me in panic mode. Does anyone experience the same? Could i be swallowing insects? It usually feels like i've swallowed a marble @Shak,For a start,buy cellotape and be taping your mouth before going to bed. Lol, you've cracked me up!
Health
Food Choking