SME
Ideas
Cashless culture in the Matatu industry via BebaPay
Hi all, If this electronic fare payment materialises then everybody here kwisha kabisa...except of course you know who... Link ndio hii.... http://www.nation.co.ke/...2/-/2fd023/-/index.html
Public transport owners wameshikwo! ...besides, the presence of a safe alone does not signify that there is money inside...
BebaPay to revolutionize Kenya’s public transport sector: There will be a revolution in public transport in Kenya, if a new payment system takes effect countrywide. The system launched by Equity Bank in collaboration with technology giant, Google will use a card as storage of value, and which will be swiped onboard suitably equipped vehicles. NTV’s Aby Agina now tells us what the technology, known as near field communications, means for the future of payments in Kenya. Watch it here
Is it the same matatu that won't accept mpesa now. the same ones who won't embrace technology such as ......new tires? from the bank that brought us m something to do with saving 50 bob? from commuters who have yet to know that a debit card from equity isn't a purse accessory? from a company called google that is using Kenyans like guinea pigs in a system that has no traction? By the way, anything google is not my friend, including their search. remember the useless KBO? mhhh. I'll wait. Jose: If I make it through this thug life, I'll see you one day. The Lord is the only way to stop the hurt.
A welcome development. The issue of change,coins and noisy touts will be a thing of the past if this comes into effect. Whether google says I do to Equity proceed on honeymoon and bring about gooquity babies is not my wahala. All I want is a working efficient system that will bring sanity and order. So when is this starting??? "The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.
How will they pay bribes without cash? And will this mean full accountability and easier to loop into taxes? WONT HAPPEN! Business opportunities are like buses,there's always another one coming
essyk wrote:A welcome development. The issue of change,coins and noisy touts will be a thing of the past if this comes into effect.
Whether google says I do to Equity proceed on honeymoon and bring about gooquity babies is not my wahala. All I want is a working efficient system that will bring sanity and order.
So when is this starting???
Kwani you still board matatus or do you own one?I thought majority of wazuans do not use or own matatus and this news is of no consequence to wazuans.
Very interesting how google is targeting Kenya.Now this card.Google the search engine and equity a bank,what are they doing in transport and what value are they adding?The card has been around for some time and I think adding equity was for the brand recognition but its still a bank.
Apart from adding another card in your wallet,I'm wondering who their 'early adopters' are.DoubleM in the mix would work wonders.I love that they've brought NFC to the spotlight but I think its still too early.
Corporations are bringing in too many technological changes and not perfecting their implementation plus overwhelming the consumer with all these changes.
symbols wrote:Very interesting how google is targeting Kenya.Now this card.Google the search engine and equity a bank,what are they doing in transport and what value are they adding?The card has been around for some time and I think adding equity was for the brand recognition but its still a bank.
Apart from adding another card in your wallet,I'm wondering who their 'early adopters' are.DoubleM in the mix would work wonders.I love that they've brought NFC to the spotlight but I think its still too early.
Corporations are bringing in too many technological changes and not perfecting their implementation plus overwhelming the consumer with all these changes. If this idea could be expanded to other sectors not just the Matatu business then right there is great potential for moving to the next level of innovation. Plus that cardchip could be made smaller added somehow to one's phone: regardless of model & network. That way NFC will be utilised as it was made to be - devices communicating seamlessly. Note: Only the merchants have to buy a NFC enabled phone. Chips could be sold integrated into sim-cards or added for existing subscribers. Live and learn; and don’t forget, nothing ventured, nothing gained.
mawinder wrote:essyk wrote:A welcome development. The issue of change,coins and noisy touts will be a thing of the past if this comes into effect.
Whether google says I do to Equity proceed on honeymoon and bring about gooquity babies is not my wahala. All I want is a working efficient system that will bring sanity and order.
So when is this starting???
Kwani you still board matatus or do you own one?I thought majority of wazuans do not use or own matatus and this news is of no consequence to wazuans. no no no no mr.extraordinary that's where you go wrong. even we bodaboda/donkey riders need this technology. Yaaaaani tuseme, am the only bodaboda rider on wazua? lawd have mercy!! "The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.
The Phases of NFC Adoption for Both Merchants and ConsumersQuote:For consumers, there are likely four phases leading up to the adoption of NFC payments: 1. Market saturation with NFC capable devices. 2. Consumer introduction to non-payment NFC functions. 3. Consumer introduction to NFC payments. 4. Consumers gaining confidence in the effectiveness, security, and additional value of NFC payments. No 4 will be the biggest challenge. Quote:For merchants, the process appears simpler. In order to accept NFC payments, merchants only need to integrate a contactless receiver into their POS system. - The phone in this test market. Live and learn; and don’t forget, nothing ventured, nothing gained.
this cant work unless on proper Sacco run fleet like Double M and even then there would be a lot to do. But with all things Kenya we can wake up kesho and find out lazima uwe na bebacard.
Now for Google, these guys are super-smart, dont take the KBO thing for granted. Imagine the amount of data they will have collected about the business and from the bank. I think their strategy in Africa is to learn and not impose until they can create models around our behaviour. Remember when you cannot see the product, then know you are the product.
@BwanaSubChief ALL matatus are SACCO based in one way or the other. Depends on how hard they push a sell for this idea. Convincing everyone to carry a card is the challenge. Google's market niche is DATA. Remember with all their [GOOG] free products, this rings true; Quote:"If you're not paying for the product, you are the product Live and learn; and don’t forget, nothing ventured, nothing gained.
Museveni wrote:The Phases of NFC Adoption for Both Merchants and ConsumersQuote:For consumers, there are likely four phases leading up to the adoption of NFC payments: 1. Market saturation with NFC capable devices. 2. Consumer introduction to non-payment NFC functions. 3. Consumer introduction to NFC payments. 4. Consumers gaining confidence in the effectiveness, security, and additional value of NFC payments. No 4 will be the biggest challenge. Quote:For merchants, the process appears simpler. In order to accept NFC payments, merchants only need to integrate a contactless receiver into their POS system. - The phone in this test market. NFC has been on my mind since 2010 and number 2 would have been great then.The first thing that introduced me to it was a key chain that you could add someone to your social circle by just waving. NFC won't have such a big problem being introduced to the market because people understand bluetooth and to some extent it will be marketed on those lines.Number 1 isn't the way to go IMO. Anyone remember this video?I suggest you watch it because it lead me to the potential of mpesa and NFC.Now the concept is you go to a restaurant,the menu is a tablet or a space on the table for the NFC tag.You order,pay and get your receipt through the tag or tablet just like @Museveni has pointed out. Now my point is,Kenyans(and Africans) react to status symbols and if NFC is marketed on those lines both new smartphones and NFC will be adopted fast but not in card form.Status is a big part of our culture and if NFC is associated with 'sophistication' and 'class' I see no problems.
KiambuSubChief wrote:this cant work unless on proper Sacco run fleet like Double M and even then there would be a lot to do. But with all things Kenya we can wake up kesho and find out lazima uwe na bebacard.
Now for Google, these guys are super-smart, dont take the KBO thing for granted. Imagine the amount of data they will have collected about the business and from the bank. I think their strategy in Africa is to learn and not impose until they can create models around our behaviour. Remember when you cannot see the product, then know you are the product. I agree,they are trying to learn us but I believe they are having a difficult time with Kenya though they see the important role we play and will play in the tech scene in Africa.
symbols wrote:Museveni wrote:The Phases of NFC Adoption for Both Merchants and ConsumersQuote:For consumers, there are likely four phases leading up to the adoption of NFC payments: 1. Market saturation with NFC capable devices. 2. Consumer introduction to non-payment NFC functions. 3. Consumer introduction to NFC payments. 4. Consumers gaining confidence in the effectiveness, security, and additional value of NFC payments. No 4 will be the biggest challenge. Quote:For merchants, the process appears simpler. In order to accept NFC payments, merchants only need to integrate a contactless receiver into their POS system. - The phone in this test market. NFC has been on my mind since 2010 and number 2 would have been great then.The first thing that introduced me to it was a key chain that you could add someone to your social circle by just waving. NFC won't have such a big problem being introduced to the market because people understand bluetooth and to some extent it will be marketed on those lines. Number 1 isn't the way to go IMO. Anyone remember this video?I suggest you watch it because it lead me to the potential of mpesa and NFC.Now the concept is you go to a restaurant,the menu is a tablet or a space on the table for the NFC tag.You order,pay and get your receipt through the tag or tablet just like @Museveni has pointed out. Now my point is,Kenyans(and Africans) react to status symbols and if NFC is marketed on those lines both new smartphones and NFC will be adopted fast but not in card form.Status is a big part of our culture and if NFC is associated with 'sophistication' and 'class' I see no problems. Market saturation in this case means having many NFC-chip enabled 'consumer items' and not only phones, just as @symbols you've said e.g key holders, embedding chips on current phones [take for example a chip fixed on a Nokia 3310] and not just focusing on the Beba cards. Getting the masses to trust these 'items' as their new wallets poses a big challenge IMHO. Once that is done, the next phase would be to get the service integrated with other services like Mobile money services as discussed in another thread. Live and learn; and don’t forget, nothing ventured, nothing gained.
Now that the world that is going to end whats the point? possunt quia posse videntur
maka wrote:Now that the world that is going to end whats the point? Live and learn; and don’t forget, nothing ventured, nothing gained.
SME
Ideas
Cashless culture in the Matatu industry via BebaPay