Talk2Us
Politics cooling off period
Dear Members, Thus spoke our first president elect, under the new constitution, on Sat 9th Mar: Quote:The elections are over; today marks the beginning, much more needs to be done today. Every person takes responsibility.”
“For those who are celebrating let us be modest in victory. To those who voted for any of my opponents - let us keep in mind the broader victory of Kenya, and continue to uphold peace. Let us remember that while, in a democracy, some contestants must, inevitably, lose - the citizens of a country never do. In an effort to foster the Wazua spirit, we are considering a short hiatus from ClubSK>>Politics for a period of one week. Please share your views in relation to our suggestion to freeze Politics section. We continue to monitor the general temperature related to ongoing exchanges with concern. The Wazua spirit
Rank: Elder Joined: 3/19/2010 Posts: 3,504 Location: Uganda
this time I support. freeze politics. punda amecheka
Rank: New-farer Joined: 10/22/2010 Posts: 40 Location: kenya
I also support. Funga kabisa till after inauguration if possible.
Some people have taken the outcome of the electoral process either as a personal win or loss. Too much emotions invested, money lost, egos and pride shattered. Siege mentality is quickly finding its way.
Peace is what we want to achieve but the temperatures are rising. My suggestion is unorthodox. Let there be one topic open in politics.Let people get down to the real issues.We discuss power,democracy,tribalism and such other issues.Not on flimsy arguments or without agenda,but putting peace ahead.Solutions implies problems.Getting to the root cause of the problems is the difficult task as here is where many views will be aired,challenged and disapproved. Let Wazua be the place of inspiration for Kenyans.Let the Wazuans/Wazualets be exposed and the stands they take be seen to all. It might not change anything but at least it will be a shining example of the Kenya we want to see and once and for all your stand will also be noted. I appreciate the difficult position this puts Wazua on considering the governments position on online discourses but I also realize that if people don't get let out their frustrations they just might bubble up to something worse. The question is,how will the hiatus achieve peace? Uncertainty is certain.Let go
You don't really have to, I think slowly the site has predominantly members leaning towards one side, the intolerance has made some take a break and I think I was on ma way out and thus there will be no exchanges as they will say all their stuff to their fill. ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/18/2008 Posts: 3,434 Location: Kerugoya
Let me make it simple for us all: You want a freeze on politics, close down the site.
Rank: Elder Joined: 2/8/2013 Posts: 4,068 Location: At Large.
How about "essential politics only". Not advisable to cool off completely.Meanwhile Wazuans lets keep peace, respect for one another and and self regulation. Love is beautiful and so are those who share it.With Love, Marriage is an amazing event in ones life time, the foundation of joy, happiness and success.
I support. This tribullyism is getting overbearing. Business opportunities are like buses,there's always another one coming
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/1/2011 Posts: 8,804 Location: Nairobi
It will be very difficult to keep off politics at this time. There's so much happening and if we fail to discuss these issues openly then we will be failing to provide leadership.
Wazuans only need to remember that they are their brothers' and sisters' keepers.
aemathenge wrote:Let me make it simple for us all:
You want a freeze on politics, close down the site. I second mahegoat...wazuans will always find a way to start the politics topics under investor, groups, market, sme or even other sections of Club SK....freeze the whole site Problems can get out of proportion, and not only in the wee small hours. Don't let the problems eclipse the Master. Let the Master eclipse the problems.
wazua wrote:Dear Members, Thus spoke our first president elect, under the new constitution, on Sat 9th Mar: Quote:The elections are over; today marks the beginning, much more needs to be done today. Every person takes responsibility.”
“For those who are celebrating let us be modest in victory. To those who voted for any of my opponents - let us keep in mind the broader victory of Kenya, and continue to uphold peace. Let us remember that while, in a democracy, some contestants must, inevitably, lose - the citizens of a country never do. In an effort to foster the Wazua spirit, we are considering a short hiatus from ClubSK>>Politics for a period of one week. Please share your views in relation to our suggestion to freeze Politics section. We continue to monitor the general temperature related to ongoing exchanges with concern. The Wazua spirit I was the first person to move the motion sometime back before the elections. I propose we lock the section off- a whole 10 Days bila siasa For in him (Jesus) we live and move and have our being-Acts 17:28
If you don't like politics why not just avoid posting under politics. Why deny others who want to discuss politics the chance?
Rank: Veteran Joined: 12/17/2010 Posts: 1,163 Location: Sudan
No way. You dont run away from problems, you face them. The fact that Temperatures are rising means there is an underlying problem which must be solved, even if by just attempting to.. Life must continue "Peace is our profession, War is our business" ...Unknown
I doubt freezing politics section will cool off things. There were those who were not permitted to post on politics(New-fares???) but they would start a topic under other sections and they would still be discussed. If solution is freezing, freeze the whole site then...when you are ready we can come back, release the white smoke pale KICC turudi. I wonder how we shall be discussing the daily happenings though!
There are people here whom i have interacted with elsewhere. One of them is bloggeratti. I cannot forget your way of writing, your travels and experience, your knowledgability in a wide range of kenyan issues, and mostly your particular dislike for the individual members of a certain community disguised in politics. If you respond to this utajitambulisha. Light Bearer
The job perspective - closing might render secretariat people jobless. It will be a very a dry spell for some people....
I will not be affected though, some forces conspired to deny me posting in the politics section.
In the best interest of the nation, close it and let the energies be directed to sports, culture, economy etc.
I always say club sk politics section is a very hidden section in wazua, it just happens some people are more politically charged than others given which temperatures will rise and fall with what is at stake. I say think of ways of assisting contributors to regulate themselves rather amongst themselves then you get an excellent political section. A New Kenya
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/9/2009 Posts: 6,592 Location: Nairobi
Full support! BBI will solve it :)
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/20/2012 Posts: 3,855 Location: Othumo
That fully closing Wazua is a bad thing, some of us would go into depressions. i Left politics for investors section to make some chums. But then again personally, if CORD or OAR goes to court, it would be nice to discuss that in Wazua since it is precident setting for the Country Kenya we all so LOVE. Long live Kenya, Tupendane Wazua! Thieves
Going by two previous incidences here (Both involving Liv and his pictures),it's easy to know where Wazua Admin leans and why he/she does not want certain individuals discussed.I do not buy that theory about cooling.What is on fire in the first place?....Just the fact that a few individuals are running around like headless chickens does not mean there is anything on fire.Most of us moved on but we are only empathising with those who do not believe or practice the things they say........If there was a time this site would have been closed down,it was 2007/2008.It never happened.Why mute politics during peace time??...The elections are over.Voting was peaceful,NSE has hit new highs,the shilingi is firm against major currencies and generally,there is a good feel going forward......unless of course the admin believes the story about an aircraft carrier off the shores of Lamu waiting to flatten Kibera! Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm.
Talk2Us
Politics cooling off period