Health
Is Gertrude’s Hospital slowly killing our children?
This morning I took my 5 months old son to Gertrude’s Hospital since he had a cough over the weekend. I was given two medicines – Predsol and Ventolin. I hear that Ventolin is for Control of Asthma and Predsol is some form of steroid and both should not be administered to children unless in very critical condition (Am not sure if this is true). Could it be that Gertrude’s can be this irresponsible? The man who marries a beautiful woman, and the farmer who grows corn by the roadside have the same problem
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/7/2010 Posts: 2,148 Location: elderville
ZZE123 wrote:This morning I took my 5 months old son to Gertrude’s Hospital since he had a cough over the weekend. I was given two medicines – Predsol and Ventolin. I hear that Ventolin is for Control of Asthma and Predsol is some form of steroid and both should not be administered to children unless in very critical condition (Am not sure if this is true). Could it be that Gertrude’s can be this irresponsible?
Where did you hear that from? He who can express in words the ardour of his love, has but little love to express. - Petrach, Son. (That men by various ways arrive at the same end. - Montaigne, The Essays of.)
Elder wrote:ZZE123 wrote:This morning I took my 5 months old son to Gertrude’s Hospital since he had a cough over the weekend. I was given two medicines – Predsol and Ventolin. I hear that Ventolin is for Control of Asthma and Predsol is some form of steroid and both should not be administered to children unless in very critical condition (Am not sure if this is true). Could it be that Gertrude’s can be this irresponsible?
Where did you hear that from? Ditto! and is this your first born? Great men are not always wise, neither do the aged understand judgement...
In the morning and already you have heard things about the drugs???........ ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
ZZE123 wrote:This morning I took my 5 months old son to Gertrude’s Hospital since he had a cough over the weekend. I was given two medicines – Predsol and Ventolin. I hear that Ventolin is for Control of Asthma and Predsol is some form of steroid and both should not be administered to children unless in very critical condition (Am not sure if this is true). Could it be that Gertrude’s can be this irresponsible?
if unhappy with their prescription, why not get a second opinion?
@ Elder – am currently hosting a relative who is a Nurse from abroad and when she saw the drugs she raised the alarm @ Robbinhood – He is my Second Born. Been lucky with my first born as she has rarely needed to visit doctors @MC – Yes I have heard things about the drugs and I heard them this morning. For the record I have nothing against Gertrude’s and just want to hear the opinion of Doctors or Pharmacists in the house. The man who marries a beautiful woman, and the farmer who grows corn by the roadside have the same problem
@ZZE123 First, I am not a doctor. Forgive if I'm being direct but your casual mention of 'cough' appears simplistic. From my understanding in a post cough syrup world, coughs in children normally require one of three remedies: 1) Honey 2) Antihistamine 3) Ventolin You were given Ventoline so something is right there. Now I see Presdol is a corticosteroid with anti-inflammatory effect to suppress allergic reaction to the cough. So presuming that the cough is indicating mild asthmatic conditions, what could be so wrong? http://www.medicinesforchildren...prednisolone-for-asthma/Is it likely the doctor was young, harrased, and not conversational? Treatment protocols vary in regions and often you're at greater risk with a European/US health professional dealing with tropical ailments. In any case it would appear use of the word 'killing' is way over the top.
ZZE123 wrote:@ Elder – am currently hosting a relative who is a Nurse from abroad and when she saw the drugs she raised the alarm @ Robbinhood – He is my Second Born. Been lucky with my first born as she has rarely needed to visit doctors @MC – Yes I have heard things about the drugs and I heard them this morning. For the record I have nothing against Gertrude’s and just want to hear the opinion of Doctors or Pharmacists in the house.
Peleka mtoto aishi ushago kama Murang'a valley hivi, aliwe na jiggers huku na huko matakoni until he reaches 5 years then bring him to the city. You will never regret for the natural immunity he will develop from the rural set-up. My parents never regretted for raising me that way, whereas my friend who was raised in the former posh Parklands is a shadow of myself; both of us are middle aged adults now! You can bank this proven theory in the UNAITAS Githurai branch or throw it in Nairobi dam. Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Impunity wrote:ZZE123 wrote:@ Elder – am currently hosting a relative who is a Nurse from abroad and when she saw the drugs she raised the alarm @ Robbinhood – He is my Second Born. Been lucky with my first born as she has rarely needed to visit doctors @MC – Yes I have heard things about the drugs and I heard them this morning. For the record I have nothing against Gertrude’s and just want to hear the opinion of Doctors or Pharmacists in the house.
Peleka mtoto aishi ushago kama Murang'a valley hivi, aliwe na jiggers huku na huko matakoni until he reaches 5 years then bring him to the city. You will never regret for the natural immunity he will develop from the rural set-up. My parents never regretted for raising me that way, whereas my friend who was raised in the former posh Parklands is a shadow of myself; both of us are middle aged adults now! You can bank this proven theory in the UNAITAS Githurai branch or throw it in Nairobi dam. BEER IS LIVING PROOF THAT GOD LOVES US AND WANTS US TO BE HAPPY!
Rank: Veteran Joined: 2/3/2010 Posts: 1,797 Location: Kenya
Prednisone syr is a dangerous cortico steroid to be used in a 5 month old for just a cough. It can cause retardation. the best thing if the Dr. suspected asthma was to give an inhaler. Seek 2nd opinion ASAP I may be wrong..but then I could be right
Killing is such a strong word! Still; I have observed that our younger doctors are too quick to prescribe medications. You go to hospital with a cough and go home with a minimum of four drugs... makes you wonder "Kwani I was that sick?" I think the problem is that many hospitals are now operated like matatus! They don't have permanent doctors - about five years ago I was shocked to discover that the Nairobi Hospital did not have any doctor on its payroll!!! Hospitals are relying on part-timers who jump into one facility at 8am and then into another at 2pm. This way, the doctors never establish any connection with patients. A lot of the time history is lost along the way and you find yourself having to repeat the story to three different doctors in one week! Technically, our private hospitals are actually "Nursing Homes". You should only go there for in-patient treatment. Out patient services should be referred to doctor's clinics. And when you need admission, take your doctor with you - don't accept the "hospital's" doctors! Nothing is real unless it can be named; nothing has value unless it can be sold; money is worthless unless you spend it.
Ventolin (Salbutamol) is a short acting beta-2 adrenergic receptor agonist. Predsol (prednisolone) is a steroid. Ventolin (aerosol or solution) should not be used in children younger than 2 years of age (safety and efficacy have not been established). Steroids are used in children based on studies in adults since course of disease and pathophysiology is essentially similar. 1 month old children can be treated with steroids (neprotic syndrome, leukemia). Steroids, however, should be used with caution. They cause decrease in growth and increased rate of infections in children. And they should not be used for prolonged periods of time. But surely, why would a cough (with no fever or difficulty in breathing) for 2 days necessitate steroids and bronchodilators? These hospitals! Get a paediatrician you can visit whenever your child falls ill. Threads abound in Wazua about "Paediatricians". Search for them. Set out to correct the world's wrongs and you will most certainly wind up adding to them.
Impunity wrote:ZZE123 wrote:@ Elder – am currently hosting a relative who is a Nurse from abroad and when she saw the drugs she raised the alarm @ Robbinhood – He is my Second Born. Been lucky with my first born as she has rarely needed to visit doctors @MC – Yes I have heard things about the drugs and I heard them this morning. For the record I have nothing against Gertrude’s and just want to hear the opinion of Doctors or Pharmacists in the house.
Peleka mtoto aishi ushago kama Murang'a valley hivi, aliwe na jiggers huku na huko matakoni until he reaches 5 years then bring him to the city. You will never regret for the natural immunity he will develop from the rural set-up. My parents never regretted for raising me that way, whereas my friend who was raised in the former posh Parklands is a shadow of myself; both of us are middle aged adults now! You can bank this proven theory in the UNAITAS Githurai branch or throw it in Nairobi dam. @Impunity – I bet you have no kids so I won’t respond. The man who marries a beautiful woman, and the farmer who grows corn by the roadside have the same problem
ZZE123 wrote:Impunity wrote:ZZE123 wrote:@ Elder – am currently hosting a relative who is a Nurse from abroad and when she saw the drugs she raised the alarm @ Robbinhood – He is my Second Born. Been lucky with my first born as she has rarely needed to visit doctors @MC – Yes I have heard things about the drugs and I heard them this morning. For the record I have nothing against Gertrude’s and just want to hear the opinion of Doctors or Pharmacists in the house.
Peleka mtoto aishi ushago kama Murang'a valley hivi, aliwe na jiggers huku na huko matakoni until he reaches 5 years then bring him to the city. You will never regret for the natural immunity he will develop from the rural set-up. My parents never regretted for raising me that way, whereas my friend who was raised in the former posh Parklands is a shadow of myself; both of us are middle aged adults now! You can bank this proven theory in the UNAITAS Githurai branch or throw it in Nairobi dam. @Impunity – I bet you have no kids so I won’t respond. I was a kid once several years ago,I got bitten by those tu jiggers and i'm here doing very strong. I have seen several kids in my village under age 5 who are not as sickling as these kids in Nairophy. When I was a toddler and I got those tu tonsils(limi),I was given GV and PAP! I was cured the following day.But today's kid has the tonsils being removed surgically, my foot. When I got those rashes (pepopunda) I was rubbed with opele, but your kids will get admitted at agha khan for 2 weeks for rashes!!! I later came to realize in form 2 that the GV was chemically called Potassium permanganate while opele is some jelly with sulphur as the main ingredients. We need to be analogue, hii upuzi ya digital is not getting anywhere good. Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
thats why till now I go to a doc who studied medicine in the 50s he,z like 70 smthn very thorough old man enyewe akikuambia we nimgonjwa u are indeed sick...most docs r too casual this days possunt quia posse videntur
ZZE123 wrote:Impunity wrote:ZZE123 wrote:@ Elder – am currently hosting a relative who is a Nurse from abroad and when she saw the drugs she raised the alarm @ Robbinhood – He is my Second Born. Been lucky with my first born as she has rarely needed to visit doctors @MC – Yes I have heard things about the drugs and I heard them this morning. For the record I have nothing against Gertrude’s and just want to hear the opinion of Doctors or Pharmacists in the house.
Peleka mtoto aishi ushago kama Murang'a valley hivi, aliwe na jiggers huku na huko matakoni until he reaches 5 years then bring him to the city. You will never regret for the natural immunity he will develop from the rural set-up. My parents never regretted for raising me that way, whereas my friend who was raised in the former posh Parklands is a shadow of myself; both of us are middle aged adults now! You can bank this proven theory in the UNAITAS Githurai branch or throw it in Nairobi dam. @Impunity – I bet you have no kids so I won’t respond. Sorry mate, but I'm with @impunity on this one.
Impunity wrote:ZZE123 wrote:Impunity wrote:ZZE123 wrote:@ Elder – am currently hosting a relative who is a Nurse from abroad and when she saw the drugs she raised the alarm @ Robbinhood – He is my Second Born. Been lucky with my first born as she has rarely needed to visit doctors @MC – Yes I have heard things about the drugs and I heard them this morning. For the record I have nothing against Gertrude’s and just want to hear the opinion of Doctors or Pharmacists in the house.
Peleka mtoto aishi ushago kama Murang'a valley hivi, aliwe na jiggers huku na huko matakoni until he reaches 5 years then bring him to the city. You will never regret for the natural immunity he will develop from the rural set-up. My parents never regretted for raising me that way, whereas my friend who was raised in the former posh Parklands is a shadow of myself; both of us are middle aged adults now! You can bank this proven theory in the UNAITAS Githurai branch or throw it in Nairobi dam. @Impunity – I bet you have no kids so I won’t respond. I was a kid once several years ago,I got bitten by those tu jiggers and i'm here doing very strong. I have seen several kids in my village under age 5 who are not as sickling as these kids in Nairophy. When I was a toddler and I got those tu tonsils(limi),I was given GV and PAP! I was cured the following day.But today's kid has the tonsils being removed surgically, my foot. When I got those rashes (pepopunda) I was rubbed with opele, but your kids will get admitted at agha khan for 2 weeks for rashes!!! I later came to realize in form 2 that the GV was chemically called Potassium permanganate while opele is some jelly with sulphur as the main ingredients. We need to be analogue, hii upuzi ya digital is not getting anywhere good. Ulinyimwo hii weekend tena? I kinda agree with the sentiments expressed above, to the extent that manufactured medicine has more cons than pros. That and the fact that people worship doctors is the reason why we now have crazy diseases on the rise, alot drug resistant and if you look carefully city-bred people are shorter and weaker than their upcountry folk. @essyk once mentioned that teeth get messed up with the antibiotics/syrups we give our kids and not washing their teeth afterwards. I advice you to first stop at a nutritionist, then your grandmother before you even think of the word doctor. Remember also the 'thing' that gave your child the cough is still there, the medicine is short-term remedy. Otherwise start preparing for the likelihood that you might bury your own child, sooner or later!
Rank: Member Joined: 3/24/2010 Posts: 677 Location: Nairobi
You guy, my son is asthmatic and predsol is only prescribed when his attacks are severe and the doc makes sure to constantly inform us that predsol is not to be played around with. And am with maka on this, my kid only sees docs older than 50 years old
Gordon Gekko wrote:ZZE123 wrote:Impunity wrote:ZZE123 wrote:@ Elder – am currently hosting a relative who is a Nurse from abroad and when she saw the drugs she raised the alarm @ Robbinhood – He is my Second Born. Been lucky with my first born as she has rarely needed to visit doctors @MC – Yes I have heard things about the drugs and I heard them this morning. For the record I have nothing against Gertrude’s and just want to hear the opinion of Doctors or Pharmacists in the house.
Peleka mtoto aishi ushago kama Murang'a valley hivi, aliwe na jiggers huku na huko matakoni until he reaches 5 years then bring him to the city. You will never regret for the natural immunity he will develop from the rural set-up. My parents never regretted for raising me that way, whereas my friend who was raised in the former posh Parklands is a shadow of myself; both of us are middle aged adults now! You can bank this proven theory in the UNAITAS Githurai branch or throw it in Nairobi dam. @Impunity – I bet you have no kids so I won’t respond. Sorry mate, but I'm with @impunity on this one. Additional to @Impunity..Here (@Gordon) Comes another young man who does not understand the pain of seeing a kid suffer. This is Impunity and carelessness.. @ZZE123..I have a 5 month old who's been to Gertrudes 2 - 3 times and I have been dissatisfied with the service from 25 year old "Doctors". Do not know where else to go.. Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God..
Health
Is Gertrude’s Hospital slowly killing our children?