wazua Fri, May 15, 2026

7 Pages123>»
Runda Association & Northern Bypass
jitetee
#1 Posted : Tuesday, February 10, 2009 12:55:00 PM

Runda Association has placed an advert in today's Daily Nation criticizing the Ministry of Roads for going ahead with the Northern by-pass without NEMA's approval. I have the feeling that the real concern is the resultant decreased property values (informal settlements and small scale businesses along the highway) and maybe security. Might agree with that.

But the way the advert,placed on a national newspaper,lists and words the negative effects is condescending to the ordinary mwananchi (who advised these guys?)...influx by 'outsiders',the increased human traffic posing a security threat (welcome back to Kenya?),the road will extend the city's 'traffic nightmare' to Runda (again,welcome back to Kenya) and my favorite,speeding and poorly maintained vehicles on the new highway endangering the lives of Runda residents (dude,be careful next time you pass through Runda in that beat-down Peugeot...you might be arrested for killing someone's cat with the fumes).

Other arguments sound ridiculous e.g. danger of flooding,increased expense for construction of the road due to the type of soil in the area (is this their business?),accusing China Road & Building of being behind all their problems (yeah right! blame the Chinese!),the idea is obsolete etc. They strongly support the Southern and Eastern bypasses but not the Northern one. Translation? Let those guys in Eastlands choke in the chaos...what the heck,who cares?

By the way,I don't see why an estate with so many heavy-hitters should be crying so hard in public. Always thought that all it takes to sort out such a matter would be a phone-call. Seems not. And maybe gladly so...I can only hope that Kenya is truly changing.

The bigger picture? The way I see it...the next time some big-shot goes inciting and causing chaos everywhere,he will realize that the violence could be 'coming soon to/from a slum very near you.'

Time and chance happen to all.
justrant
#2 Posted : Tuesday, February 10, 2009 1:23:00 PM

@jitetee,I've read through the bullcrap. The advert is basically saying in short...Don't build the by-pass,it will only make Githogoro residents closer to we. For those who dont know,Githogoro is almost the size of Kibera slum,the living conditions and housing not any different. I see nothing but hypocrisy when Runda Association says,the bypass will 'Displace Githogoro Inhabitants,' then next sentence it will.........'inevitably attract massive informal businesses' and .....'literally place crime-ridden 'surburbs' only minutes away from our residents.' Get out those bulldozers and let the job begin!!!! If they want exclusivity,there are vast swathes of idle land in Mandera!! ...where they can set up airstips in every homestead,if so they wish!!!!!!!!!
yekeyeke
#3 Posted : Tuesday, February 10, 2009 2:52:00 PM

http://www.nation.co.ke/...n/-/ubhrnb/-/index.html

This is very interesting indeed. questions are bound to be asked. Where were these people since 1970? Ama these are the people who own Nairobi. Nairobi ina wenyewe!

Reminds me of the noise that arose when construction of the mlolongo road began. But the road is now 50% done so the northen bypass should also be built. These guys need to know that they are not the only inhabitants of Nairobi. Hata watu wa thika road also call nairobi home. That trafiic they are talking about,mostly comes from thier estate with each house having like 4 cars as standard. Nairobi traffic needs to be decongested now and not later. This city accounts for close to 65% of Kenyas GDP. We cannot continue wasting hrs on end on traffic jams when we can build roads. Kama plans were okay in 1970 they are okay today. the min if raods should go ahead and construct the road to ease the jam we face every day. Kama the land that was a road reserve has been grabbed and built,then the structure should go ALA nakumatt thika road. We ether decide to build roads or we build houses and sleep on the little ones that are there. I have see registration plates of KBG...H. And as stated hawa watu are the ones buying these cars and not the ordinary mwanainchi using public transport.

Nema or no Nema,thos road has to be built. But lets see what happens as it could be that Nairobi ina wenyewe.

'You can fool all the people some of the time,and some of the people all the time,but you cannot fool all the people all the time.'
Abraham Lincoln.
Sasha
#4 Posted : Wednesday, February 11, 2009 5:24:00 AM

My boss is an official of the Runda Association!

I could punch his face, kick his nuts and pull his hair if you give me a go-ahead and if that will make you feel better!

I spit in the face of fakers
#5 Posted : Wednesday, February 11, 2009 6:34:00 AM

They might have a point regarding the use of 1970 plans in the 21st century..... A few years ago,I was involved in the installation of traffic lights in Nairobi.

The council gave us traffic flow data from 1988 (16 years old!!!} and we used it to calculate signal timings. Guess what happened when we switched on the lights? YES,a grid-lock occurred in less than five minutes!

So we switched them off and did a new vehicle count - a process that lasted 28 days,working from 5:30am to 10pm every day; including the weekends! Because of this additional cost and the penalty charged for 'delayed completion',we did not make a profit on the project.

We used this to work out new timings and,voila,that junction has the smoothest flow to date.... guess which one it is....

Moral of the story: old plans may not work very well. New traffic data need to be collected before we pour money into a new {in reality,old) road.
#6 Posted : Wednesday, February 11, 2009 6:45:00 AM

@Sasha,

Uhhhh...!...If you can't do it on our behalf,lemme know where your offices are located.I can pay the dude/dudette a visit and re-locate his/her teeth......jinga kabisa!

@Mukiha,

Re-read the advertisement and as much as an old design is undesirable,the intent is hidden and it is obvious this honorable residents are out to keep traffic (old bijutis),noise,dust and the pests that are residents of Githogoro away from their priced homes/houses.............Little wonder Ms Keino simply ignored their pleas and do you believe they are using a 1970 design for the Northern by-pass??.....Just an excuse....

Guka wa bijuti...
Mr.Tea
#7 Posted : Wednesday, February 11, 2009 7:00:00 AM

A highway does not depreciate property values unless the property stands in its way. The way I understand this Northern by-pass is that it does not pass through Runda but behind it. This development will actually impact positively on land and other properties around it given the fact that in effect it will open up the area. Other than the exposure by other investors that residents of Runda will get,which again can either be positive or negative depending on how its managed,I do not understand this hue and cry. Moreover,massive developments such as a major highway undergo rigorous research and surveys including how they will impact on communities around them before passing the test. If you want to invest in property especially land,follow the by-pass..

A man is the best judge of his own situation
Patience Pays In Guaranteed Checks.
yekeyeke
#8 Posted : Wednesday, February 11, 2009 7:05:00 AM

@Sasha. One your are done with thrashing your boss,pls spit in his mounth for being a kubaff!!

'You can fool all the people some of the time,and some of the people all the time,but you cannot fool all the people all the time.'
Abraham Lincoln.
#9 Posted : Wednesday, February 11, 2009 8:07:00 AM

I remember a while ago,one could only get not les than 5 acres of land in Karen. This rule was relaxed and now if you have Ksh 7.5 million,you can acquire a half acre of land. But guess what,the 'real residents' there have been complaining that people from 'Korogosha' with their funny mannerims have invaded their place. Can you imagine!!
yekeyeke
#10 Posted : Wednesday, February 11, 2009 9:59:00 AM

Can you imagine the Runda kubaffs stating in jana's add in the nation that 'they will have a problem of vehicles on the bypass being driven by reckless drivers driving poorly maintained vehicles'!!?? Si this is the height of arrogance!!! I have seen that a half acre plot in Runda is now going for 15M. Maybe that is why they don’t want kiosks on the road reserves and their advice to us low life’s is that such 'disruptive' takataka belongs to thika road. Now that the Githogorio residents will have a road near them these guys do not want this to happen. How come we have not heard any complaints from residents of 1) Garden Estate,2) Ridgway’s estate 3) Windsor hotel 4) Kahawa 5) Embakasi 6) thika road corridor in general,7) banana 8) muchatha just Runda?????? Hawa china road waanze hiyo barabara leo..........

Abraham Lincoln.
7 Pages123>»