wazua Sat, Jan 18, 2025

Nominations....impact on market?
mibbz
#1 Posted : Wednesday, January 16, 2013 11:38:18 AM

just wondering, is it possible for the nominations exercise tomorrow to influence market trends either on friday or monday depending on whether they shall be largely peaceful or whether there shall be pockets of violence in some hotly contested areas?
Is it possible to use the nominations as a yardstick on how the elections shall be carried out?
#2 Posted : Thursday, January 17, 2013 3:12:06 AM

In some places, we saw seeing scuffles even before the nomination exercises begin.
*SIGH*
Let's see how today goes...
#3 Posted : Thursday, January 17, 2013 3:18:02 AM

Fear of violence during and after the March 4 General Election has seen an uptake of insurance against political risk by businesses in the country increase by more than 3,000 per cent.
According to Africa Trade
Insurance Agency — one of Kenya’s main reinsurance company for political risk — the insurance cover taken
stood at over Sh41 billion by December 2012 against Sh1.3 billion taken in 2008.
The premiums are expected to go up this year.
http://www.nation.co.ke/.../-/2b34wvz/-/index.html

hisah, your play is certainly setting up beautifully. Now for the hard part - a peaceful electoral process
#4 Posted : Thursday, January 17, 2013 8:24:14 AM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
Fear of violence during and after the March 4 General Election has seen an uptake of insurance against political risk by businesses in the country increase by more than 3,000 per cent.
According to Africa Trade
Insurance Agency — one of Kenya’s main reinsurance company for political risk — the insurance cover taken
stood at over Sh41 billion by December 2012 against Sh1.3 billion taken in 2008.
The premiums are expected to go up this year.
http://www.nation.co.ke/.../-/2b34wvz/-/index.html

hisah, your play is certainly setting up beautifully. Now for the hard part - a peaceful electoral process

Awesome news!! especially since all these insurers must re insure with Kenya re smile
FOsiemo10M
#5 Posted : Friday, January 18, 2013 11:06:50 AM

This nominations seem to have negatively affected the market.
#6 Posted : Friday, January 18, 2013 12:24:51 PM

Kendu Bay chaos! Aspirant's name missing on ballot paper.
Sisqo
#7 Posted : Friday, January 18, 2013 12:53:31 PM

mibbz wrote:
just wondering, is it possible for the nominations exercise tomorrow to influence market trends either on friday or monday depending on whether they shall be largely peaceful or whether there shall be pockets of violence in some hotly contested areas?
Is it possible to use the nominations as a yardstick on how the elections shall be carried out?

Unfortunately, someone published this article on Reuters http://www.reuters.com/a...s-idUSL6N0AM9O020130117

#8 Posted : Friday, January 18, 2013 6:42:26 PM

Kenya's insurance companies will form a political risk insurance pool this month to
tap into the increasing
demand for political related insurance services, industry officials said.
http://www.businessdaily...-/15bu7vwz/-/index.html
Cde Monomotapa
#9 Posted : Friday, January 18, 2013 9:14:26 PM

If you live in this country you surely understand how things go but my position is still maintained; leveraging on broad peace (pocket violence allowed). We can't bake our cake & eat it at the same time. This politics is ours & we'll go through it the best way we can/know. What foreignors opine now is beyond us but as soon as we're back to work then we can think of them too. Most of all, this trailer is good for security & intelligence on the big day ~ deploy 'ninja turtles' (GSU, AP) like during the Referendum.
#10 Posted : Friday, January 18, 2013 9:46:14 PM

Since we want it to be a Kenyan thing I wonder what UMK's supporters will say/do when the supreme court disqualifies his presidency based on chapter six!
BGL
#11 Posted : Friday, January 18, 2013 10:05:52 PM

guru267 wrote:
Since we want it to be a Kenyan thing I wonder what UMK's supporters will say/do when the supreme court disqualifies his presidency based on chapter six!

Wewe wacha hio stori. After pulling down that offensive signature now you teling us about chapter six. Kwani unafikiria hatujui hio chapter six vile inasema.
History will not remember you for your IQ. It will remember you for what you did. “Genius is 1 percent inspiration, 99 percent perspiration.” Thomas Edison
#12 Posted : Friday, January 18, 2013 10:37:24 PM

BGL wrote:
guru267 wrote:

Wewe wacha hio stori. After pulling down that offensive signature now you teling us about chapter six. Kwani unafikiria hatujui hio chapter six vile inasema.

@BGL since you know chapter six very well tell me why UMK stepped down as finance minister and what has changed to allow him to qualify as president!
BGL
#13 Posted : Friday, January 18, 2013 10:54:24 PM

guru267 wrote:
BGL wrote:
guru267 wrote:

@BGL since you know chapter six very well tell me why UMK stepped down as finance minister and what has changed to allow him to qualify as president!

Gatundu people elected him as their MP not as finance minister. It is Kibaki who appointed him as the finance minister. If Kibaki wanted him out he would resign or be fired! Tuko pamoja ama hujui Kiswahili.

Back to chapter six..... who determines morality and integrity? He can only be barred if he is convicted and exhausted all his channels of appeal. UK has not even been convicted so he will be on the ballot paper. What i am skeptical about is whether Odinga will concede defeat.

With this #NoOduolNoRaila omera movement gaining momentum Raila is gone. Mind you it is the first time the Luo are up against Raila. Na bado hatujasoma kitabu cha MM.
History will not remember you for your IQ. It will remember you for what you did. “Genius is 1 percent inspiration, 99 percent perspiration.” Thomas Edison
#14 Posted : Friday, January 18, 2013 11:15:02 PM

BGL wrote:
guru267 wrote:
BGL wrote:
guru267 wrote:

Gatundu people elected him as their MP not as finance minister. It is Kibaki who appointed him as the finance minister. If Kibaki wanted him out he would resign or be fired! Tuko pamoja ama hujui Kiswahili.

Blind loyalty has always been a sad and unfortunate thing!

You talk about chapter six only applying to convicts? How many ministers lost their jobs due to mere charges because of chapter six? (including Ruto, Wetangula, Ongeri, & Uhuru)

None of these were convicted but all lost their jobs because of chapter six!

Cde Monomotapa
#15 Posted : Friday, January 18, 2013 11:24:21 PM

Indeed. The victims of war are women & children.
BGL
#16 Posted : Friday, January 18, 2013 11:33:00 PM

guru267 wrote:
BGL wrote:
guru267 wrote:
BGL wrote:
guru267 wrote:

Blind loyalty has always been a sad and unfortunate thing!

You talk about chapter six only applying to convicts? How many ministers lost their jobs due to mere charges because of chapter six? (including Ruto, Wetangula, Ongeri, & Uhuru)

None of these were convicted but all lost their jobs because of chapter six!

Blind loyalty and democracy may be spelt differently but are the same thing. The person who can convince the masses carries the day. I also do not subscribe to the ideology of populism. But i let the majority have their way and live with it. On the same note, did you pull down that insulting signature by your own volition or the admin forced you to delete it? By the way it was in bad taste and just shows you are intolerant to divergent views.

To insulate myself from political decisions of MARCH 2013, i made sure i do not a voters card so my conscience-vote will not change anything. May i also remind you that Ministers are not elected but they are appointed and can be fired by the appointing authority. Did the ministers who resigned from their ministerial positions also resign from parliament?
#17 Posted : Saturday, January 19, 2013 8:15:29 AM

BGL wrote:
did you pull down that insulting signature by your own volition or the admin forced you to delete it? By the way it was in bad taste and just shows you are intolerant to divergent views.

Actually the only reason i deleted it was because of GOKs notice against hate speech issued a few weeks ago! I don't want jail just for my beliefs...

But every wazuan should know i still stand by what i said!!

Any Kenyan who would vote for a suspected war criminal to be their president is unpatriotic, primitive, ignorant, idiotic, simple minded etc etc...
Nabwire
#18 Posted : Saturday, January 19, 2013 8:50:00 AM

You have got to be the most irritating person alive! You have these delusions of grandeur that make you think your opinions actually mean something. Need I remind you that you are just a self proclaimed guru? Perception vs reality, what makes you think your opinions are the bible truth? I swear I cant stand you!! Had I been in Kenya I would have even campaigned for Muigai just to spite you, ati unpatriotic, if you werent simple minded you'd realize that mentioning your opponent over and over is not the best way to beat them. Just come out and support Raila instead of throwing jabs at Uhuru, either way some of us would never vote for Raila no matter how much mudslinging you do.
#19 Posted : Saturday, January 19, 2013 9:40:27 AM

Nabwire wrote:
You have got to be the most irritating person alive! You have these delusions of grandeur that make you think your opinions actually mean something. Need I remind you that you are just a self proclaimed guru? Perception vs reality, what makes you think your opinions are the bible truth? I swear I cant stand you!! Had I been in Kenya I would have even campaigned for Muigai just to spite you, ati unpatriotic, if you werent simple minded you'd realize that mentioning your opponent over and over is not the best way to beat them. Just come out and support Raila instead of throwing jabs at Uhuru, either way some of us would never vote for Raila no matter how much mudslinging you do.

This is exactly the simple mindedness im talking about...

Just because i am talking about the possible dangers of electing UMK does not mean i support the populist & socialist OAR!!

As a matter of fact both have done nothing for their constituents with Gatundu being one of the worst in central province and kibera the worst in Nairobi.. Out of what has been presented to me i am for Peter Kenneth!!

And yes if you sacrifice your country because of one or two men you are unpatriotic!!
#20 Posted : Saturday, January 19, 2013 9:57:54 AM

Relax, people. Tupingane, tusipigane. Isnt this thread in the wrong section?