Health
HOW FAST DO YOU WALK?
Seems like those who walk fast live longer than those who walk slow- Doctors who are interested in measuring life expectancy may now have a simple way to do it — researchers have discovered that walking speed can be a useful predictor of how long older adults live.
Those who walked 1 meter per second (about 2.25 mph) or faster consistently lived longer than others of their age and sex who walked more slowly, the study showed.
"We're able to show that a person's capacity to move strongly reflects vitality and health," said study researcher Dr. Stephanie Studenski, a professor of medicine at the University of Pittsburgh.BUT THERE'S A CAVEAT- However, the researchers also emphasized that the purpose of this study wasn't to get people to walk faster in hopes of living longer.
"Your body chooses the walking speed that is best for you, and that is your speed, your health indicator," Studenski said. "And that's what it really is: an indicator. Going out and walking faster does not necessarily mean you will suddenly live longer. You still need to address the underlying health issues."
The researchers showed they could reliably predict the 10-year survival rate of a group of people based on how fast they walked along a 4-meter track.http://www.livescience.c...ict-long-youll-live.html
So fast that I prefer walking alone because groups slow me down. And because of that, I avoid pavements cz of the crowding and people who idle around. I always calculate my distance,route and time so well that when I alight,nothing can slow me down. I remember zooming past some wazees who turned and remarked in mother tongue,'How are people walking today? ie direct translation.I had passed them like a bee. I always measure my walking speed against cars in traffic and try to outdo them. Long live me.
Rank: Member Joined: 2/12/2010 Posts: 474 Location: Nairobi
In Kenya, your walking style would come to a distance 100th in factors determining how long you live. There are matatus, thugs, PEV, etc. Keep it simple
Rank: Member Joined: 11/18/2010 Posts: 503 Location: Kenya
richdad wrote:In Kenya, your walking style would come to a distance 100th in factors determining how long you live.
There are matatus, thugs, PEV, etc. Minyoo na kadhalika!
Motomoto wrote:richdad wrote:In Kenya, your walking style would come to a distance 100th in factors determining how long you live.
There are matatus, thugs, PEV, etc. Minyoo na kadhalika! Phombe ya ARV pia. Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
It's true that some people could actually be walking faster due to the stress of a fast paced life in the 21st century-
A study carried out in the early 1990s demonstrated that pedestrians’ speed of walking provides a reliable measure of the pace of life in a city, and that people in fast-moving cities are less likely to help others and have higher rates of coronary heart disease. Using identical methods to those employed in the previous work, the present day research teams discovered that the pace of life is now 10% faster than in the early 1990s. The biggest changes were found in the Far East, with the pace of life in Guangzhou (China) increasing by over 20%, and Singapore showing a 30% increase, resulting in it becoming the fastest moving city in the study.
On another note:
SLOW WALKING SPEEDS may predict the likelihood of developing dementia later in life, according to researchers in the US.
It is also a predictor of cardiovascular disease and other heart related problems and early mortality.
Rank: Elder Joined: 2/11/2007 Posts: 1,680 Location: nairobi
How do I disable the auto read in my eyes!!!!!
mlefu wrote:How do I disable the auto read in my eyes!!!!! Autoread?
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/1/2011 Posts: 8,804 Location: Nairobi
Being a 'fast walker' is so boring and inappropriate! I am trying to get rid of the habit.
But when you walk with 'Zen', you may disappear like Enoch.
I am scared, i am generally a slow walker, no matter how hard I try, I am most of the time unable to keep pace with the average person on the street. "The purpose of bureaucracy is to compensate for incompetence and lack of discipline." James Collins
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:I am scared, i am generally a slow walker, no matter how hard I try, I am most of the time unable to keep pace with the average person on the street. Don't worry-it might just be the right speed for u so don't fret when others walk faster.
My friend (real friend and not me) told me he has gadget that he was told to use by a doc to count the number of steps he makes, and he should be making 10,000 steps in a day.
In gait speed measurements- Quote:Timing a 10-meter walk, which provides a snapshot of gait velocity, is considered a scientifically reliable and valid test that works like a crystal ball to see everything from future health status to mortality. This test of self-selected walking speed (the directions to the patient are simple: "Walk as fast as you feel safe and comfortable") is safe, cost-effective (it takes just a few minutes), easy to learn and administer, and the results are easy to interpret. Key Predictors- Quote:Once you've established a patient's speed of ambulation, what does it mean?
• The normal range for walking is 1.2 to 1.4 meters per second.
• If patients walk 10m in 50 seconds (that is 0.4 mph), they would be considered household ambulators.
• If patients walk 10m between 17 and 25 seconds (that is 0.92-1.3 mph), they are limited community ambulators.
• If patients walk 10 m between 12.5-10 seconds (that would be 1.8-2.2 mph), they are community ambulators.
• If patients walk 10 m in less than seven seconds (that would be more than 3 mph), they have the ability to cross a street. This is considered normal walking speed.
What is remarkable about testing gait speed is how much it reveals about patients. Here is a list of possible conclusions:
• A decline in gait speed predicts a decline in attention.
• An increase in gait speed predicts a substantial decline in mortality, while a decrease in gait speed predicts an increased chance of mortality.
• Gait speed correlates well with functional ability, future health status and the patient's confidence in balance.
• Gait speed predicts where discharge will take place (e.g., home, SNF), the chance of hospitalization, and an increase in medical costs, disability and mortality.
• Gait speed predicts the need for rehabilitation.
• Gait speed can be used to determine the effectiveness of a particular rehabilitation treatment option.
• Gait speed can be used as a surrogate for quality of gait; the faster the walking, generally speaking, the higher the quality of gait.
Also, as any therapist knows, gait speed is modifiable. Walking speed is not only predictive of decline, it can also predict improvement.
as a teenager, I used to cover a six KM stretch in an hour. Now I do the same in roughly double the time. reason? I got a lot heavier from 55kg to 80kg. my legs ache, am mostly out of breath and I sweat like a fish in water...
tycho wrote:Being a 'fast walker' is so boring and inappropriate! I am trying to get rid of the habit.
But when you walk with 'Zen', you may disappear like Enoch. it's a good habit.you avoid a lot of things on the streets and get things done on time.
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:I am scared, i am generally a slow walker, no matter how hard I try, I am most of the time unable to keep pace with the average person on the street. Dnt worry... even Johnny walker keeps walking and you know how old he is...
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/1/2011 Posts: 8,804 Location: Nairobi
sherrif wrote:tycho wrote:Being a 'fast walker' is so boring and inappropriate! I am trying to get rid of the habit.
But when you walk with 'Zen', you may disappear like Enoch. it's a good habit.you avoid a lot of things on the streets and get things done on time. I find myself walking at a fast pace when my mind is preoccupied with some thought, or when am avoiding social contact. Both cases underuse my mind, and I am rarely at peace. But meditation while walking does wonders. There's no pressure. And the universe whispers interesting things to my ears.
Impunity wrote:Motomoto wrote:richdad wrote:In Kenya, your walking style would come to a distance 100th in factors determining how long you live.
There are matatus, thugs, PEV, etc. Minyoo na kadhalika! Phombe ya ARV pia. the virus that you use ARV to prolong life. and nowadays cancer menace! In the business world, everyone is paid in two coins - cash and experience. Take the experience first; the cash will come later - H Geneen
brav wrote:My friend (real friend and not me) told me he has gadget that he was told to use by a doc to count the number of steps he makes, and he should be making 10,000 steps in a day. na ako age bracket gani? saa hii ni pacewalker ama inaitwaje? Float like a butterfly, sting like a bee. - Muhammad Ali🐝
Hello guys..its depend upon that you walk alone or in group..if i walk in a group i walk fast because my partner i also walking faster then me.If i walk alone i walk in slow mode..what is your walking style??
Health
HOW FAST DO YOU WALK?