wazua Sun, Jan 5, 2025

A WAZUA APP
#1 Posted : Sunday, January 06, 2013 11:50:43 PM

Any enterprising IT Wazuan in the house who can develop an app that we can download and be accessing Wazua in a smart way? You can charge for every download. Just need to make it good and with extra functionalities....eg automatic notification for topics one is following(not on email but on the app),
#2 Posted : Monday, January 07, 2013 12:08:36 AM

XSK
#3 Posted : Monday, January 07, 2013 12:57:16 PM

Or there is one already and am not aware?

I have been hoping for the same too! I hope admin is reading this or alternatively other developers!
You will know that you have arrived when money and time are not mutually exclusive "events" in you life!
#4 Posted : Monday, January 07, 2013 1:01:18 PM

shhh not so loudly you might just wake her up!
#5 Posted : Monday, January 07, 2013 1:15:32 PM

digitek1 wrote:

Annti_Christy
#6 Posted : Monday, January 07, 2013 1:25:21 PM

Members have (been) bought smart phones. Sasa wanademand apps.
Light Bearer
Annti_Christy
#7 Posted : Monday, January 07, 2013 1:29:49 PM

Annti_Christy wrote:

Sorry, they are requesting for apps.
Light Bearer
#8 Posted : Monday, January 07, 2013 1:29:59 PM

digitek1 wrote:

WORD!!
#9 Posted : Monday, January 07, 2013 1:35:13 PM

Lady Admin is napping. only wakes up when is politics you say it is game chot for this and that tribe, then usermentation pap, thread blocked and warnings issued. anything innovative cannot pass with her. bure kabisa.
#10 Posted : Monday, January 07, 2013 2:13:03 PM

Annti_Christy wrote:

They need not be bought some, smart phones these days are quite cheap. Hata na Bonga Points unapata smile smile
#11 Posted : Monday, January 07, 2013 2:47:23 PM

@Washiku, I had made a similar suggestion on 24th December 2012 (see link)...lakini lady Admin kama kawaida is asleep...

http://www.wazua.co.ke/f...aspx?g=posts&t=21885
#12 Posted : Monday, January 07, 2013 3:08:25 PM

[quote=nostoppingthis]@Washiku, I had made a similar suggestion on 24th December 2012 (see link)...lakini lady Admin kama kawaida is asleep...

http://www.wazua.co.ke/f...spx?g=posts&t=21885[/quote]

Ooops...then I give up
ChessMaster
#13 Posted : Monday, January 07, 2013 3:54:44 PM

Challenge accepted:)
Uncertainty is certain.Let go
#14 Posted : Monday, January 07, 2013 4:38:30 PM

ChessMaster wrote:
Challenge accepted:)

Tengeneza kitu...lipisha sisi kudownload
ChessMaster
#15 Posted : Monday, January 07, 2013 5:00:46 PM

I can do it for free but admin has to say if its ok.
Uncertainty is certain.Let go
Sufficiently Philanga....thropic
#16 Posted : Monday, January 07, 2013 8:41:10 PM

ChessMaster wrote:

Wow! These are the kind of people we need as leaders. Very selfless if you ask me!
@SufficientlyP
mozenrat
#17 Posted : Tuesday, January 08, 2013 7:12:17 PM

There used to be an SK app... I downloaded it but the damn thing didn't work... maybe admin gave up on apps after that fiasco.
#18 Posted : Tuesday, January 08, 2013 8:51:14 PM

Sufficiently Philanga....thropic wrote:
ChessMaster wrote:

Wow! These are the kind of people we need as leaders. Very selfless if you ask me!

Wonderful wonderful. Admin sema neno moja tu na App will be done
#19 Posted : Tuesday, January 08, 2013 9:00:26 PM

mozenrat wrote:
There used to be an SK app... I downloaded it but the damn thing didn't work... maybe admin gave up on apps after that fiasco.

Don't even waste a precious breath. Admin doesn't give a rat's ass about nothing. This Site needs improvements, but .....
symbols
#20 Posted : Monday, March 25, 2013 9:08:01 PM

Wazua this one is for you.Incomplete and shoddy but it wasn't meant for display. I'm sure you can figure it out.Here is the link for HAP the html parser I used.All that is needed is Javascript understanding especially DOM and XPath.The rest is C#.

Let me share how I would have made the app without your approval.I would have used a java html parser for android phones and HAP for windows phones.No option for J2ME. I would ride on the mobile platform of Wazua since its lighter and only used the normal version when necessary.

Logins and posts would have used POST method.Layout can be easily replicated on the phone or changed to what one desires.To automate checking for new posts I would use a timer on the allposts link by comparing the last refresh with the latest one.This would check who posted but more specifically the time.An option for timer refresh rate can work.Same concept can also be used to track specific threads or section so someone is informed on what they want.

When I would encounter images and such,I would rely on the phone's browser.It would be a simple independent solution that would leave the website as is.The parsers would simply fetch and process the information which the app processes and organizes.Also thought of a IM feature where members can chat on the side with each other or groups but I think that would have meant making the app use client/server technology.

Another feature I wanted to attempt was a news reader which is possible for some sites e.g.BD,Standard,Nation,East African as well as some international ones actually a lot.The trick is the paragraphs.When someone posts a link you can still utilize the same parser to fetch the paragraphs from the website thus extract and display the information in the same app.Over time one can increase the methods for parsing different websites.

Hope this helps.Wish you luck on your endeavors.