Culture
Nairobi Water Services pay bill
I was warned by my landlady against paying water bill to this company via mpesa because they have a way of ensuring the transaction doesn't reflect on their system. Without stories mob.I deposited 5k four months ago,after they brought me an outrageous bill. I filed a complain cz the meter readings were exaggarated. The next bill was more and that is when I decided to check if my mpesa payment had been received. To my shock their system showed nothing.But a message was generated when I paid so where did it come from? I confirmed with safcm that money went into their account and they sent me proof of id.transaction. The last meter reading in their system took place last year! yet these fellows come with their vehicles and uniforms to read every month. I wonder who generates these messages and how come the mpesa payments don't show on their system. I don't even know my correct bill because I have been paying by mpesa and my current bill as it stands in their system is 13k inclusive of the mpesa! I complained to them,filled a form with proof of the ID transaction from safcom and the guy just didn't seem to see it as a big deal. Talk of Laxity!jeez. I smell a skunk.Kuna watu wanakula big Narobi Water. "The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.
Rank: Member Joined: 9/2/2010 Posts: 563 Location: Embakasi
A similar issue happened to a friend of mine, only it was Kenya Power. She has been paying via mpesa for 2 years and never had an issue. This month, they claim that they were giving estimates and that she owes 15,000/-. It turns out they did stop reading the meter in June 2012 but they also stopped recording the mpesa transactions since then. Luckily she had all the IDs and they put the 11,000/- she had payed so far towards the money owed. These guys need better software. In a place where thought is abandoned, freedom can become a curse.
[quote=grolut]A similar issue happened to a friend of mine, only it was Kenya Power. She has been paying via mpesa for 2 years and never had an issue. This month, they claim that they were giving estimates and that she owes 15,000/-. It turns out they did stop reading the meter in June 2012 but they also stopped recording the mpesa transactions since then. Luckily she had all the IDs and they put the 11,000/- she had payed so far towards the money owed. These guys need better software.[/quote. ...i had brought this up when sm1 complained bt a kenya power officer,got a bill of 9k and smthn same excuse they havent been reading the meter and were using estimates in 1 month they lumped all the extra units came to around 324 units if am not wrng,plus other charges led to the 9k,when i askd them they did agree its not my fault bt the amount haz to b paid...and they usually do it jst b4 they release their end year results. possunt quia posse videntur
I got no problem with paying any of the two bille bia MPesa!!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
grolut wrote:A similar issue happened to a friend of mine, only it was Kenya Power. She has been paying via mpesa for 2 years and never had an issue. This month, they claim that they were giving estimates and that she owes 15,000/-. It turns out they did stop reading the meter in June 2012 but they also stopped recording the mpesa transactions since then. Luckily she had all the IDs and they put the 11,000/- she had payed so far towards the money owed.
These guys need better software. You guys pay bills without getting the monthly bills from these firms? I only pay after getting the bill, hakuna kitu kama paying monthly estimates, I pay down to the cent! Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Impunity wrote:grolut wrote:A similar issue happened to a friend of mine, only it was Kenya Power. She has been paying via mpesa for 2 years and never had an issue. This month, they claim that they were giving estimates and that she owes 15,000/-. It turns out they did stop reading the meter in June 2012 but they also stopped recording the mpesa transactions since then. Luckily she had all the IDs and they put the 11,000/- she had payed so far towards the money owed.
These guys need better software. You guys pay bills without getting the monthly bills from these firms? I only pay after getting the bill, hakuna kitu kama paying monthly estimates, I pay down to the cent! Ditto, you send the account number to 5571 and get the exact bill, they you pay!!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
What happens if one day they show up on your door to disconnect and tell you their system doesn't show those mpesa transactions done over the months? You have the ID as evidence yeah,the message is generated but their system shows blank. And you wonder why the meter readings are soo wrong and not updated on system but on paper. One shabby looking fellow with uncombed hair and open shirt was telling me that I may have been been paying to a wrong account, but it wasn't so since the name and account was mine. My concern really is,the transaction doesn't show in their system but on your phone only.Yet it generates a message when you pay. "The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 11/4/2008 Posts: 1,289 Location: Nairobi
You have the check bill service no. 5571 which gives you the balance of your account. Nairobi Water paybill is one of the few with real time updates. I use it. Beats Zuku, KPLC and DSTV in terms of updating account
essyk wrote:What happens if one day they show up on your door to disconnect and tell you their system doesn't show those mpesa transactions done over the months? You have the ID as evidence yeah,the message is generated but their system shows blank. And you wonder why the meter readings are soo wrong and not updated on system but on paper. One shabby looking fellow with uncombed hair and open shirt was telling me that I may have been been paying to a wrong account, but it wasn't so since the name and account was mine.
My concern really is,the transaction doesn't show in their system but on your phone only.Yet it generates a message when you pay. If its a rental house, I move out. If its my ka-prot in Kitengela I instal solar panels then ask them KPLC to pick their poles and cables. I cant pay like 20K "arrears" which are non existence in order to fatten some already fat pig. Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
@mpunity The house didnt have any outstanding bill.We confirmed that. Their system shows last payment was August last year! and it was 1k.Bill was 800. Previous payments have been through mpesa. 2 months later, a bill of 11k came pap! I paid 5k first and filed complain cz the readings were wrong.(exagerrated) It then shot to 13k! and I vowed not to mpesa again because it wasn't deducted. Well I am hoping they do but I am afraid of paying the balance because got a feeling it's not correct. They also told me there is an standing charge of sh370 per month whether meter is read or not so it's included in the bill. Now I don't even know where to begin with them so as to get the correct bill. How do I know how much I truly owe them or if they previous mpesa payments were accounted for? wananistress tu. FundamentAli wrote:You have the check bill service no. 5571 which gives you the balance of your account. Nairobi Water paybill is one of the few with real time updates. I use it. Beats Zuku, KPLC and DSTV in terms of updating account I have stopped since they cannot account for my mpesa payments. And the nbo water fellow assisting me made me believe that it was no big deal. 'Usijali the next bill itakuja less 5k' was their answer. "The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.
I dont trust those paybill numbers esp the delays.Once I get my bill through 5551 or 5571 i prefer paying at the counter.
essyk wrote:@mpunity The house didnt have any outstanding bill.We confirmed that. Their system shows last payment was August last year! and it was 1k.Bill was 800. Previous payments have been through mpesa. 2 months later, a bill of 11k came pap! I paid 5k first and filed complain cz the readings were wrong.(exagerrated) It then shot to 13k! and I vowed not to mpesa again because it wasn't deducted. Well I am hoping they do but I am afraid of paying the balance because got a feeling it's not correct. They also told me there is an standing charge of sh370 per month whether meter is read or not so it's included in the bill. Now I don't even know where to begin with them so as to get the correct bill. How do I know how much I truly owe them or if they previous mpesa payments were accounted for? wananistress tu. FundamentAli wrote:You have the check bill service no. 5571 which gives you the balance of your account. Nairobi Water paybill is one of the few with real time updates. I use it. Beats Zuku, KPLC and DSTV in terms of updating account I have stopped since they cannot account for my mpesa payments. And the nbo water fellow assisting me made me believe that it was no big deal. 'Usijali the next bill itakuja less 5k' was their answer. Sawa madam Lorraine, I now advice you to move to a house with prepaid meters(KPLC)or instal one in your own house. Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 11/4/2008 Posts: 1,289 Location: Nairobi
@essky,
last year Nairobi water were registering consumers. Did you participate? It could be the problem
FundamentAli wrote:@essky,
last year Nairobi water were registering consumers. Did you participate? It could be the problem I have the form in my office cabinet somewhere I can't rem.I forgot to fill till now that you have brought it up. How does it affect? cz I had been mpesaring even before the forms were brought. @ Impunity I have prepaid kplc metr. "The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.
McReggae wrote:Impunity wrote:grolut wrote:A similar issue happened to a friend of mine, only it was Kenya Power. She has been paying via mpesa for 2 years and never had an issue. This month, they claim that they were giving estimates and that she owes 15,000/-. It turns out they did stop reading the meter in June 2012 but they also stopped recording the mpesa transactions since then. Luckily she had all the IDs and they put the 11,000/- she had payed so far towards the money owed.
These guys need better software. You guys pay bills without getting the monthly bills from these firms? I only pay after getting the bill, hakuna kitu kama paying monthly estimates, I pay down to the cent! Ditto, you send the account number to 5571 and get the exact bill, they you pay!!!! ...this is what happens (am talking abt kenya power) u request for the bill u get smthn lyk 1500 as the outstanding bill for the month u pay this by mpesa and u get all the confirmations it even reflects on the nxt physical bill ul get E payment 1500,the problem is the may hv estimated for lyk 70 units a month if u use more than 70 units 4 subsequent mnths the day they will come to read the actual meter reading they will add up the deficit and pile it up in a months bill,if the difference in the no. of units is 500 shauri yako utalipa yote kwa bill moja at the current price of forex adjustments etc even tho previous months the adjustments may hv been lower...charges for solar iz kinda prohibitive am shua 1 that can run an averagely big house myt be in excess of 250k,if not thts the option,pay one tym and 4get. possunt quia posse videntur
essyk wrote:FundamentAli wrote:@essky,
last year Nairobi water were registering consumers. Did you participate? It could be the problem I have the form in my office cabinet somewhere I can't rem.I forgot to fill till now that you have brought it up. How does it affect? cz I had been mpesaring even before the forms were brought. @ Impunity I have prepaid kplc metr. If you have KPLC prepaid then I dont understand why you get those wrong billings! Someone educate us please. Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
impunity kuna KPLC and NCWS. I am cool with kplc prepaid.Does water have pp metres boxes like kplc?? "The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.
essyk wrote:impunity kuna KPLC and NCWS.
I am cool with kplc prepaid.Does water have pp metres boxes like kplc?? Nope, unless you buy the 20 litre jerrycans and empty into Super-drums and then scoop from there, that would a pre-paid water! Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
smh! "The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.
Impunity wrote:essyk wrote:FundamentAli wrote:@essky,
last year Nairobi water were registering consumers. Did you participate? It could be the problem I have the form in my office cabinet somewhere I can't rem.I forgot to fill till now that you have brought it up. How does it affect? cz I had been mpesaring even before the forms were brought. @ Impunity I have prepaid kplc metr. If you have KPLC prepaid then I dont understand why you get those wrong billings! Someone educate us please. ...some of us dnt have prepaid duh...and u cant just buy and fit it kenya power are the ones doing the initiative...wale watu wa kipi kipi wa kusoma metre never come I think they were redeployed. possunt quia posse videntur
Culture
Nairobi Water Services pay bill