wazua Thu, Apr 23, 2026

7 Pages123>»
Lets Talk Marketing
ChessMaster
#1 Posted : Tuesday, November 06, 2012 2:28:07 PM

I think we need to start a marketing thread.
Uncertainty is certain.Let go
ChessMaster
#2 Posted : Tuesday, November 06, 2012 2:31:04 PM

Marketing is the process of communicating the value of a product or service to customers(Wikipedia). Are you effectively communicating value to your employers,customers,partners,stakeholders?
ChessMaster
#3 Posted : Tuesday, November 06, 2012 2:56:51 PM

Communication means transferring information from yourself to others.This information could be thoughts, messages and feelings among others. The problem is that communication is subjective. It's not what you say,it's what people hear!! Value is both subjective and contextual. People value things differently and different situations change the value of an object.In marketing yourself,product or service what strategies do take to communicate your value(potential and real) in a way that resonates with your audience?
#4 Posted : Tuesday, November 06, 2012 4:58:41 PM

ChessMaster wrote:
Marketing is the process of communicating the value of a product or service to customers

That's not 100% correct. Marketing could also be letting people know you have a product without communicating it's value. E.g. When a matatu stops and the condi calls you (that's marketing) but he doesn't promise you great seats, an enjoyable ride or that he'll take you to your destination.

For that I like the CIM definition: Marketing is the management process responsible for identifying, anticipating and satisfying customer requirements profitably.

ChessMaster
#5 Posted : Tuesday, November 06, 2012 5:52:44 PM

Marketing is the management process responsible for identifying, anticipating and satisfying customer requirements profitably.
What does the profitably mean? Is it to generate profits or reduce marketing expenses? I ask because of NGO's and other not for profit organizations. But I agree with the rest of the definition.

I think the condi is advertising a product. The value s/he is offering is implied - transport by a car or get a boda boda or walk.
#6 Posted : Wednesday, November 07, 2012 12:04:03 PM

ChessMaster wrote:
Marketing is the management process responsible for identifying, anticipating and satisfying customer requirements profitably.
What does the profitably mean? Is it to generate profits or reduce marketing expenses? I ask because of NGO's and other not for profit organizations. But I agree with the rest of the definition.

I think the condi is advertising a product. The value s/he is offering is implied - transport by a car or get a boda boda or walk.

I think the definition you've given describes advertising and not marketing. Marketing is about filling a gap. If I put up a kiosk near your home and sell milk to you at 40/- while you can get it at 33/- at the supermarket, I will be hoping that it would be an expensive inconvenience for you to burn fuel or take a matatu to the super to buy milk. I will not have to advertise and you may even complain but you will/might buy. That's marketing.

On profit, your business will not survive unless it's making a profit. If you are a monopoly like KPLC you don't have to run a customer focused system because the customer doesn't have real choice but things might turn around like they did for Telkom and your customers ditch you.

Remember the 4/7 Ps of marketing?

#7 Posted : Thursday, November 08, 2012 12:33:54 PM

The most important thing which I learnt from marketing and which you should remember if you forget everything else is, 'perceived value must always be higher than the price value'. If you maintain this I believe you'll always be in business.

Drunkard
#8 Posted : Thursday, November 08, 2012 8:16:35 PM

The next thing ChessMaster will say is, "I have a marketing consulting business, I can help you increase sales by 600% in a a month".
#9 Posted : Friday, November 09, 2012 1:19:54 AM

The most important thing which I learnt from marketing and which you should remember if you forget everything else is, 'perceived value must always be higher than the price value'. If you maintain this I believe you'll always be in business.

Applause I like

ChessMaster
#10 Posted : Monday, November 12, 2012 5:28:45 AM

@Drunkard - No,I'm not starting a consulting business.I personally think marketing in Kenya is not well understood or effective as it should be.I'm just sharing my thoughts and hoping others will share their thoughts too.

@2012 - Yes I do remember the 4Ps of marketing.I agree perceived value must always be higher than the price value and for me marketing is the main way an organization achieves this. Can we start by differentiating between marketing and advertising? Let's go with your definition of marketing which I find is better, at the heart of which lies value for both customer and company.For now lets exclude NGO's and other similar organizations. When it comes to advertising,I see it as one of the most dominant methods by which organizations communicate to their customers.What role do you think it plays and how effective do you think it is in Kenya and possibly why?
7 Pages123>»