wazua Sun, Nov 17, 2024

How is YU internet now?
Drobos fly
#1 Posted : Tuesday, October 02, 2012 3:45:00 PM

Sema wazuans,

I have been using Orange net on modem, 1 month unlimited and am not very impressed with the price/performance ratio (3k/32kBps).

I was at YU kenyatta avenue 3hrs ago struck a convo with one of the queuers on the line just to know whether their net is good but they couldn't tell.

I gather 1 month unlimited on YU is like 5sok. Am not looking to download Nasa's database, but just want something for research and checking mail and light downloads (200MB files) without getting wrinkles waiting for the download to finish. I remember using Airtel 2g at 50/- per day before they rolled out 3.75g and I was comfortable with their speeds, they weren't too bad for moderate usage, am not looking to spend 6k a month on them either. Am just curious about YU's unlimited monthly offer. Will it drive me crazy with intermittent service?

So does YU 2g fit the bill or should I hang on to Orange until something better crops up?
jimmy1
#2 Posted : Tuesday, October 02, 2012 10:40:11 PM

do NOT dare touch yu internet. You can try the 40/ per day package from orange 3G. speed goes down to between 200-256kbps after you download 100mb each day. you subscribe on your phone by dialling #123# select option 3-then 2-then 3-then 1. Then you remove the sim from phone & insert it into the modem. It will only connect on 3G speed if you use a ZTE modem. If you use huawei modem it will only connect if you change the network settings to gsm
Drobos fly
#3 Posted : Tuesday, October 02, 2012 11:49:10 PM

jimmy1 wrote:
do NOT dare touch yu internet. You can try the 40/ per day package from orange 3G. speed goes down to between 200-256kbps after you download 100mb each day. you subscribe on your phone by dialling #123# select option 3-then 2-then 3-then 1. Then you remove the sim from phone & insert it into the modem. It will only connect on 3G speed if you use a ZTE modem. If you use huawei modem it will only connect if you change the network settings to gsm

Sawa but, the way you have posted, aren't there wazuans who are part time Orange snitchers? The reason I am asking is that I have seen some post somewhere here about how a new trick had been discovered only for it to blocked days later on posting here and it was about something to do with how you can buy bundles using the modem.
#4 Posted : Saturday, October 13, 2012 10:12:01 AM

jimmy1 wrote:

Any Wazuan with anything positive about YU monthly 499/- unlimited modem internet? Please help. Am losing a lot of money on Safcom bundles and Orange is extreeeeeemely slooooow and b r e a k s after every other 5minutes in my house in Roysambu.

#5 Posted : Saturday, October 13, 2012 10:56:58 AM

Any Wazuan with anything positive about YU monthly 499/- unlimited modem internet? Please help. Am losing a lot of money on Safcom bundles and Orange is extreeeeeemely slooooow and b r e a k s after every other 5minutes in my house in Roysambu.

Everytime I keep reading negatives about other networks, so I continue holding on to safcom.
Quite expensive yeah,(I spend like 3,500p/m on bundles) but I like the speed.
I am yet to find a better network.

PuthyKrasha
#6 Posted : Saturday, October 13, 2012 11:22:41 AM

jimmy1 wrote:

Its people like you who ruin it for others.. typical Rat behavior!!
If i showed you where i live, you would think that i was hiding.
#7 Posted : Saturday, October 13, 2012 11:53:39 AM

Everytime I keep reading negatives about other networks, so I continue holding on to safcom.

It seems wazuans have already given yunet a red card even without trying it. I am going to dare it for you.

What is making me scream against safcom is i keep forgetting to buy the bundles and i lose 1k in hours! NKT

jimmy1
#8 Posted : Saturday, October 13, 2012 12:06:29 PM

PuthyKrasha wrote:

you can still connect via a bluetooth enabled phone & computer if the decide to do the unthinkable
#9 Posted : Saturday, October 13, 2012 12:22:01 PM

jimmy1 wrote:
you can still connect via a bluetooth enabled phone & computer if the decide to do the unthinkable

@Jim, give details. Otherwise, we will just assume ur a yunet hater or a safcom/airtel/orange sycophant.

E.g. your location, limitations of the unlimited 499/- (hidden details), speeds, fair usage policy if any, hidden charges..... etc

mwekez@ji
#10 Posted : Saturday, October 13, 2012 12:47:52 PM

It seems wazuans have already given yunet a red card even without trying it. I am going to dare it for you.

What is making me scream against safcom is i keep forgetting to buy the bundles and i lose 1k in hours! NKT

YU is on EDGE (2.75G) so its out-rightly slower that the 3Gs. Your escapade will prove our words smile
mwekez@ji
#11 Posted : Saturday, October 13, 2012 12:55:35 PM

Drobos fly wrote:
... am not looking to spend 6k a month on them (airtel) either. ...

Airtel unlimited is 3k a month
#12 Posted : Saturday, October 13, 2012 1:52:14 PM

mwekez@ji wrote:

YU is on EDGE (2.75G) so its out-rightly slower that the 3Gs. Your escapade will prove our words smile

Dunkang wacha ukaigangio!

How can you forget to buy bundles? just how yet it's only a click away??
My mind rings bundles everytime I load.
You need to style up and stop losing.Thats damn expensive.
jimmy1
#13 Posted : Saturday, October 13, 2012 2:41:00 PM

@Jim, give details. Otherwise, we will just assume ur a yunet hater

you can hardly open anything, to be honest yunet is absolute garbage. i'm 16kms from nairobi cbd & the signal strength is good, about 70 percent. Go to their facebook page & see the comments
jimmy1
#14 Posted : Saturday, October 13, 2012 2:45:38 PM

mwekez@ji wrote:

problem with airtel is signal strength in many locations when you get in to the house i.e the modem will not register to network. The speeds are good & the connection is reliable
Drobos fly
#15 Posted : Saturday, October 13, 2012 6:28:51 PM

Any Wazuan with anything positive about YU monthly 499/- unlimited modem internet? Please
help. Am losing a lot of money on Safcom bundles and Orange is extreeeeeemely slooooow and b r e a k s after every other 5minutes in my house in Roysambu.

True dat. Orange on day one will give you 3.8Mbps then a day later speeds dip to 32kBps,it's a wonder how it is being touted to be the best yet is worse than zuku. I just torched my Orange line on 8th when my 1 month free net run out when all hope was lost at the #123# trick. The speeds crawled at 16kBps so doesn't even make any sense on saving cash. So am on Airtel for now on my zte.

Quite expensive yeah,(I spend like 3,500p/m on bundles) but I like the speed.I am yet to find a better network.

Am sure you can get a better deal than that. Since they ng'oad unlimited they must be upto something and am not looking there direction at least not anytime soon.

PuthyKrasha wrote:

No sooner had he posted than the speeds dipped to hell (16kBps) even with that trick

What is making me scream against safcom is i keep forgetting to buy the bundles and i lose
1k in hours! NKT

Safcom wanakupenda sana! You are the reason they won't go a day hungry even if they serve you with air burgers Laughing out loudly They probably have a donkey like emoticon just to identify you on their side.

jimmy1 wrote:

Bluetooth 2.0 has a theoretical speed of about 2.1Mbps so given a real world application this is a bottleneck, it is better to USB tether if you must.

mwekez@ji wrote:
Drobos fly wrote:
... am not looking to spend 6k a month on them

(airtel) either. ...

Coming from zuku,that suggestion is more expensive since zuku link was serving more than 1 pc but coz of their new capping techniques and late payment penalty I am steering away from zuku and realized the speeds strangely seem to be higher with these 3g modems than zuku fibre optic installation

@dunkang am awaiting your experience anxiously I hope you live like 3km from cbd
#16 Posted : Saturday, October 13, 2012 7:37:09 PM

Thank you drobos for the comparisons.
I hate all these speed issues.
If a provider cannot be reliable then I wouldn't risk.
Id rather stick with expensive but reliable than cheap and useless.
arkard
#17 Posted : Saturday, October 13, 2012 10:04:01 PM

i've used yu unlimited. the good news is it's not capped; the bad news is: it disconnects severally and it's too damn slow-sahau youtube or any download beyond 10MB, unless you are extremely patient...
Above all, guard your heart, for it is the wellspring of life.
#18 Posted : Saturday, October 13, 2012 11:32:25 PM

just post those speeds here for verification.

Drobos fly
#19 Posted : Sunday, October 14, 2012 6:16:58 PM

Exactly we want to know the speeds and anyone with a better deal just post here, if our local isps are planning a modem compatible simcard release just for net tuambiye pia, its about time we broke from this conservative nature of the market and stirred the competition for best services cheaply. Airtel has an offer now, if you buy bundles above 250/= you get double your data purchased. Sijui promo naisha lini. If they screw up I'll just torch their line and move to the next big thing, being a data nomad is fun!!!!!!
Drobos fly
#20 Posted : Monday, October 22, 2012 10:02:53 AM

Rink

How much of that is a lie? 100%.... 480%....or it's humanly unscalable?

Anyone parking in Westi?