wazua Mon, Feb 3, 2025

Robert Alai on Bob and Safaricom board
lemiso
#1 Posted : Monday, September 17, 2012 3:22:44 PM

Robert alai's blog on Bob and Safcom board of directors - rumors or truth ? those in-the-know shed some light.
#2 Posted : Monday, September 17, 2012 3:32:23 PM

lemiso wrote:
Robert alai's blog on Bob and Safcom board of directors - rumors or truth ? those in-the-know shed some light.

Rink?
#3 Posted : Monday, September 17, 2012 5:00:10 PM

Mastermind wrote:
lemiso wrote:

Rink?

Wapi rink ama C&P!
JBlaze
#4 Posted : Tuesday, September 18, 2012 12:23:54 AM

http://www.techmtaa.com/...want-bob-collymore-out/

"There seems to be a problem at Safaricom. East and Central Africa’s biggest telco is facing senior management problems as the Board of Directors of Safaricom feel that the shareholders are not getting a good return on their investment. Citing various touchy issues, the board members sitting sometime last week before the annual general meeting (AGM), were rumoured to have demanded that Bob Collymore resign as the CEO of the listed company.

Bob Collymore is one very flexible and hands-on manager if you ask me. He is a keen listener and a team player unlike Michael Joseph who was more of a dictator and a political spin-master. But maybe the old men and women sitting in the board of the firm have not understoon the management style of Bob Collymore. They are reported to have raised issue with very petty matters like Bob Collymore’s love life during theor sitting.

Who does not have problems in family? I can confess that I have problems in my family and I can point to you 3 Safaricom board members who will never maintain or successfully manage their own family. But does that affect the delivery of Bob professionally? NO!! I guess he knows how to handle both without any interfering with the other.

So Bob Collymore is going through a separation with his wife and that is a MAJOR issue at the Safaricom board.

Secondly, Safaricom board has been complaining for some time that Bob Collymore is intellectually shallow than his peers (read: friends) in the industry. I don’t know what they mean by this but most of the great managers and pioneers in innovation have not so much “intellectual superiority.” The board came to this conclusion having analysed Bob’s friends like Aly Khan Satchu and Jeff Koinange who does not have any deep grasp of the industry."

Fomoney
#5 Posted : Tuesday, September 18, 2012 8:04:09 AM

This is a bunch of bull **** . I think he's done pretty good riding the storm. Of course, they compare him to Joseph who jumped ship while the going was still good. Let him be. Akina yu and airtel are crying, they thought cutting tariffs was gonna unravel safcom. They've bleeding money like crazy!
#6 Posted : Tuesday, September 18, 2012 3:42:53 PM

Hehe! Kwani utachagulia mtu mzima marafiki wake? I think Bob has done reasonably well in a tough environment.
But hio diss ya Aly Khan, Jeff Koinange na Peter Nduati ni mbaya! They are basically being called dumb. Ati "the not so intellectually endowed
managers like Peter Nduati of Resolution Health."
Wah!
#7 Posted : Tuesday, September 18, 2012 4:11:58 PM

After all those years they have decided to do the separation in Kenya?
These women of ours!!!

#8 Posted : Tuesday, September 18, 2012 4:19:37 PM

These women of ours!!!

Seriously???
#9 Posted : Tuesday, September 18, 2012 4:53:46 PM

These women of ours!!!

Sereously???

No... seriously
#10 Posted : Tuesday, September 18, 2012 8:53:31 PM

the moment he did furi furi dance Laughing out loudly halafu twirra! clandes
#11 Posted : Tuesday, September 18, 2012 9:27:17 PM

digitek1 wrote:
the moment he did furi furi dance Laughing out loudly halafu twirra! clandes

You remind me of his endless tweeting of some short news anchor! Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
#12 Posted : Wednesday, September 19, 2012 7:27:02 AM

vinii wrote:
These women of ours!!!

Sereously???

No... seriously

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Hii ni kali. Double entendre at its finest.
#13 Posted : Wednesday, September 19, 2012 9:36:24 AM

quicksand wrote:
vinii wrote:
These women of ours!!!

Sereously???

No... seriously

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Hii ni kali. Double entendre at its finest.

Puns and more puns.

But seriously speaking, these women of ours!

#14 Posted : Thursday, September 20, 2012 10:21:29 PM

EMSI is stalking Bob Collymore

A few days ago, I picked up on a lady - Mary Chege @emsiwatoto a Kenyan who apparently came back to Kenya from South Africa recently. She has generated approx. 78 pages of tweets and 42 pages of Facebook posts in an effort to attract Bob's attention. Despite engaging Safaricom Director of Corporate Affairs, no one can calm her and her legalese down!

Her main issue appears to be the old issue of whether MPESA makes Safaricom a deposit taking institution. And in a self-appointed class act manner, is accusing Safaricom of unjust enrichment.
http://www.sabn.za.com/blog.tel...al-institutions-829.html

Frankly speaking, I think she just wants a job. What a way to do it though, so akin to madness. She is now spamming media personalities on twitter on the same issue.

Closely following Sunny Bindra's strategy summit held Mon/Tue at Strathmore Business School, her behaviour demonstrates the problem with social media. Is it possible for a CEO to be too accessible?

Can you imagine what Kibaki would go through if KMPDU/ teachers/ nurses/ lecturers could speak directly to him?

#15 Posted : Thursday, September 20, 2012 10:51:13 PM

muganda wrote:
EMSI is stalking Bob Collymore

A few days ago, I picked up on a lady - Mary Chege @emsiwatoto a Kenyan who apparently came back to Kenya from South Africa recently. She has generated approx. 78 pages of tweets and 42 pages of Facebook posts in an effort to attract Bob's attention. Despite engaging Safaricom Director of Corporate Affairs, no one can calm her and her legalese down!

Her main issue appears to be the old issue of whether MPESA makes Safaricom a deposit taking institution. And in a self-appointed class act manner, is accusing Safaricom of unjust enrichment.
http://www.sabn.za.com/blog.tel...al-institutions-829.html

Frankly speaking, I think she just wants a job. What a way to do it though, so akin to madness. She is now spamming media personalities on twitter on the same issue.

Closely following Sunny Bindra's strategy summit held Mon/Tue at Strathmore Business School, her behaviour demonstrates the problem with social media. Is it possible for a CEO to be too accessible?

Can you imagine what Kibaki would go through if KMPDU/ teachers/ nurses/ lecturers could speak directly to him?

what is your take on the issues she has raised?
Ric dees
#16 Posted : Thursday, September 20, 2012 11:50:43 PM

@ Muganda I think some-ones personality has a lot to do with whether a CEO is too accessible. I for one this is a tool for celebrities and media personalities, it 's ok for ie a CEO to have a press office however I get blown my the number of times this guys are on twitter and certainly they sure have a lot more to take in than I do.

I notice the business leaders in this jurisdiction are def not on twitter Guy Laurence,Stephen Hester, Nathaniel Rothchild guys we deal with on a day to day basis and. Can't help but wonder have we taken this accessibility thing way to far?

The greatest danger in times of turbulence is not the turbulence; it is to act with yesterday's logic.
#17 Posted : Friday, September 21, 2012 2:41:07 AM

Ric dees wrote:
@ Muganda I think some-ones personality has a lot to do with whether a CEO is too accessible. I for one this is a tool for celebrities and media personalities, it 's ok for ie a CEO to have a press office however I get blown my the number of times this guys are on twitter and certainly they sure have a lot more to take in than I do.

I notice the business leaders in this jurisdiction are def not on twitter Guy Laurence,Stephen Hester, Nathaniel Rothchild guys we deal with on a day to day basis and. Can't help but wonder have we taken this accessibility thing way to far?

Being accessible this way has more good than bad IMHO ...sycophants and busybodies are masters at shielding leaders from common people, stage managing things so as to look good. Moi and Kibaki suffer(ed) from this very problem. Now that many kenyans have this one direct line to Bob Collymore, you have no idea how managers have to stay on toes. This is a good thing. Granted, some complaints will go unanswered, but not cause of lack of an audience.
#18 Posted : Friday, September 21, 2012 1:22:07 PM

Thanks guys...
@Ric dees, @quicksand... I'd say what is important for a CEO is to have a way of getting unadulterated facts about your business. Even a president has the same challenge, to find out what is of concern to the citizens.

But it is often said you can't run a country on census polls. Similarly, the need to personally engage with all and sundry reflects a 'celebrity CEO'. But even for any celebrity only OUTPUT carries the day.

@mawinder... MPESA money is normally held in trust by CBA or some other bank. Safaricom channels any 'fund income' to MPESA foundation. Their income is only what they charge you for transaction tarrif and not on the money.

Mary Chege seems to have come down from her legal horse and gone to Westage for Customer Service after silencing her tweets. Bob Collymore's security should be alert during the Safaricom Sevens though smile
#19 Posted : Friday, September 21, 2012 1:52:41 PM

@Muganda I may sympathise with the collymore fellow but is it possible that his "stalker" as you say it has some very valid points.

I've just read her "rant" and she's asking very valid questions. The silence of the corporate is not good in my opinion.

The question she's asking is simple..."what mechanisms are in place to secure the safety of mama mboga's funds in case safaricom goes belly up?"

That to me is an extremely valid question that probably has never been answered amidst all those Niko na Safaricom lovey duvvy ads.

Sure safaricom cultists will dismiss her as crazy but she's asking an extremely sensitive question. What happens the day Safcom cannot pay up or a step further CBA folds? If that day can't happen, what exactly are the mechanisms to deal with it? Is this the reason why only African countries are agreeing to this Mpesa behemoth?
#20 Posted : Friday, September 21, 2012 2:04:05 PM

Mary Chege is just the fellow who was not hugged when she was little ...Daddy issues.

Most of the questions she is asking are in the terms and conditions of Mpesa,which safaricom does not own by the way...safaricom acts as an agent of a money transfer solution.The same way western unioun operates.

The issue of deposit taking,CBK licensed the solution so it is within the law and deposits are protected by Law.

The Robert alai article seems far fetched,The board has no power to remove the CEO,Vodafone holds the rights to that...the other thing is mixing personal issues with company's...if what he wrote is the truth then Safaricom problems are with the board not the CEO...the issues they were raising are petty in My view.