wazua Sun, Nov 17, 2024

Car Thieves Getting Smarter
#1 Posted : Sunday, September 16, 2012 5:43:31 PM

Be careful when someone is offering you a cheap deal for a car and they seem to be in a hurry.

Be careful of any buyer who insists on a test drive if you don't know them well.

@njung'e, your may need to check for that vintage you are interested insmile

http://www.nation.co.ke/...0/-/lcv6f4/-/index.html

#2 Posted : Sunday, September 16, 2012 6:59:42 PM

Sad story. Big lessons, always use a lawyer. No hurry. Test drive with me and others inside.
#3 Posted : Monday, September 17, 2012 2:14:29 PM

Don't Lose Your Car!

In Kenya, buying or selling a car is almost rocket science. If you are selling, you could easily lose your car, if you are buying you could easily lose your money!!!

Chunga gari Lako!!!
#4 Posted : Monday, September 17, 2012 2:36:51 PM

Aish MB, hii tulimaliza nayo jana @wazua and we moved on!
#5 Posted : Monday, September 17, 2012 2:40:20 PM

In Kenya, buying or selling a car is almost rocket science. If you are selling, you could easily lose your car, if you are buying you could easily lose your money!!!

Chunga gari Lako!!!

Uko nyuma kama goti la umbu.

#6 Posted : Monday, September 17, 2012 2:44:07 PM

Sasa nyninyi hamuelewi we are just from a weekend!!!
#7 Posted : Monday, September 17, 2012 3:39:35 PM

Even showrooms and retired heads of state are not spared courtesy of kaa ngumu.
#8 Posted : Monday, September 17, 2012 5:38:57 PM

This processes are NEVER supposed to be done in a hurry. If possible spend another 20k but you are safe in the hands of a trusted lawyer. Kenyan's like deals and that is why thieves are taking advantage of them day in day out! Milking guys of thier hard earned money.
#9 Posted : Monday, September 17, 2012 6:18:27 PM

There's a new way, affecting those who park their cars on common area with no private gate, like in apartments or flats.

The crooks collude with watchmen. They disturb your car, causing the alarm to go off. They know you'll come out and check. They'll hide and wait for you to examine your car, finding nothing wrong and seeing no one around, you'll go back in the house. They'll disturb the car again and again, and every time you'll come out to check, until you get annoyed and decide to disarm the alarm in order for you to retire to bed and sleep in peace.

That's what they'll be waiting for. Now your car is compromised. With no alarm activated on the car, they will break into the car steal it.

And you'll discover your car missing in the morning, after the good, quiet, undisturbed sleep!!
premio
#10 Posted : Monday, September 17, 2012 7:09:03 PM

i doubt a lawyer will be of great help if seller doesnt own the car. The way to go is if u are buying from an individual get them through refferal from friends and relas. If not make it a legal transaction btn his lawyer and your lawyer where u pay 10% deposit to his lawyers account and balance after transfer is done to your name and official search to reveal you are new owner.If seller is genuine he will agree since he still has the car in possesion if he doesnt he is likely a conman. You can also buy via bank finance where bank pays 20% and u pay 80% since bank process is very secure and then u can payoff the 20% loan at once with very little interest.Some sellers are also employees of reputable companies and that way you are assured u wont lose your cash.
#11 Posted : Monday, September 17, 2012 9:28:47 PM

can't buy car from an individual with some funny office somewhere in Tao . better to rely on referrals as suggested .. if someone claims to be an employee, insist on visiting him at his place of work ..
#12 Posted : Monday, September 17, 2012 11:03:11 PM

vinii wrote:
can't buy car from an individual with some funny office somewhere in Tao . better to rely on referrals as suggested .. if someone claims to be an employee, insist on visiting him at his place of work ..

buy from the showroom of a listed company on lusaka road and beware of a certain mpig.
rock
#13 Posted : Tuesday, September 18, 2012 7:09:45 AM

I second @premio,referrals are good but if you are the kind who doesnt want friends n relaz all up in ur biz then go the bank financing way.
kenyanbeef
#14 Posted : Tuesday, September 18, 2012 7:29:49 AM

Na kwa hayo machache, ninauza gari safi kabisa aina ya IST. Usajili ni KBK U. Nyeusi tena yapendeza. Nipashe kenyanbeef@gmail.com.