wazua Sat, Apr 25, 2026

Capital = Ksh. 550,000; What are my options?
p_k_m
#1 Posted : Tuesday, September 04, 2012 9:58:35 AM

I am a young professional (about 30 yrs) and have managed to save about a half mill that I am looking to invest. I also have a bro who is not employed and he is going to manage the business for me.
A number of options on the table:
(Option #1) Matatu business
- price of Mat = around 0.7mil; monthly revenue (after expenses) = about 30K
- this means a mat will pay for itself in 2 years
- + it is a source of employment for bro + a makanga

(Option #2) Taxi business
- price of taxi = about 0.6mil; monthly revenue (after expenses) is about 25K
- taxi will pay for itself in about 2 yrs also
- employment for one person

(Option #3) Farming
- thinking of maybe hens or broilers; don't have the numbers on cost and return yet
- this needs land (we have a kidogo plot space at home)

What other ideas are out there?
#2 Posted : Tuesday, September 04, 2012 10:20:22 AM

All the options are viable.
Option #1 Many people in Wazua are wary about this due to the hassle that come with it.
Option #2 is good but market maybe saturated.
Option #3 is good, only needs your attention or someone who loves this job to manage it for you.

However, story about "blos" and relatives in business is no to me Shame on you
I've lost alot of money by employing relatives.
Currently, I'm nursing my tractor, which was totally misused. I've taken it away from home, and stored it in another mzee's store (non-relative) just to keep it far from my relas!!!!
#3 Posted : Tuesday, September 04, 2012 1:40:10 PM

I like the way you are thinking, but I'm worried that you've chosen your brother to manage the business for you.

take it from this old man: there is only one person you can trust in this world - your spouse!

All other relatives will disappoint you. They will eat your money and then laugh at you when you run broke. Your wife/husband will be with you through thick and thin.

You are better off with a complete total stranger than with a blood relative.

And if you can't trust your spouse, then you will live a very unhappy life.
marting
#4 Posted : Tuesday, September 04, 2012 2:00:31 PM

am looking for a way to like Elder mukiha's advice...well said sir.
.Success is Intentional.
#5 Posted : Tuesday, September 04, 2012 2:57:03 PM

pkm, just because others wamechezwa na their relatives doesn't mean the same the will happen to you. They don't tell you how many have been conned by strangers. They are more than those conned by relas, according to me.

You know your brother best. If you trust him, go for it.
S.Mutaga III
#6 Posted : Tuesday, September 04, 2012 3:56:41 PM

P-K-M...blood and business dont mix...but its your responsibility to help ur brother...give him a soft loan of 100k and tell him to start a biz...with the remaining 450k,invest 100k in high dividend yeilding stocks,and 300k venture into 2 businesses...the remaining 50k will be used to meet unexpected expenses during the running of the businesses for the first month.
A successful man is not he who gets the best, it is he who makes the best from what he gets.
#7 Posted : Tuesday, September 04, 2012 11:31:42 PM

Please dont take option one....that car will forever be breaking down and u will get enough excuses of how the cops are always keeping the mat out of the road. I'd rather taxi anytime but make sure its operating in a marketable route (estates are the best) I know of a former newspaper vendor in south-b who now runs taxis. As for the kuku, from my mom's experience, it can be the best or the worst venture, when they grow up fine, you will smile all the way to the bank, but when they get sick, all will be gone in a matter of minutes - if you decide to take this path, ensure you have enough aloevera planted near by.

Finally, please dont put all the eggs in one basket.
iKenya
#8 Posted : Wednesday, September 05, 2012 2:47:11 AM

mambo ya gari ni hasara! hata kama ni wewe mwenyewe unaiendesha...
Buy when there's blood in the streets, even if the blood is your own...
cmk
#9 Posted : Wednesday, September 05, 2012 8:56:47 AM

iKenya wrote:
mambo ya gari ni hasara! hata kama ni wewe mwenyewe unaiendesha...

kila biashara ni risk..make choice
Every man is guilty of all the good he didn't do-
Voltaire
#10 Posted : Wednesday, September 05, 2012 9:23:18 AM

Matatu is a no no. Mara polisi, driver, makanga, spares, repairs, mechanics, fuel, roads et all.

another thing, you can never ever trust a relative to run the business on your behave. they will always feel you owe them something and teal from you or do it with an i dont care attitude.

You can only be sucessful with relas with the operations of the business are well laid out, it is a joint venture and everybody's contributions are well defined and remunerated. Failure on anybody's part is well documenated and there is loss of sorts in terms of future earnings.

i am talking from experience!