wazua Mon, Jan 27, 2025

Tell me....
Amurabi.
#1 Posted : Wednesday, July 25, 2012 1:53:03 PM

Is it possible for us(Kenyan citizens) to draft/change/ammend city council by laws expecially with regard to how they arrest/prosecute offenders,yours rights while at their hands. By the way someone told me that those are just thugs in uniforms and yesterday after an encounter with them was tempted to believe so.
Some have been thought brave because they were afraid to run away.
#2 Posted : Wednesday, July 25, 2012 2:01:04 PM

Amurabi. wrote:
Is it possible for us(Kenyan citizens) to draft/change/ammend city council by laws expecially with regard to how they arrest/prosecute offenders,yours rights while at their hands. By the way someone told me that those are just thugs in uniforms and yesterday after an encounter with them was tempted to believe so.

What does the current law say.... because they might be violating the same law and probably they mishandle us because we do not know neither the law nor our rights?
Amurabi.
#3 Posted : Wednesday, July 25, 2012 2:15:26 PM

@Wendz someone said the law is an ass. I know you have seen these guys arrest someone,they use excess force even when not necessary while the law states "use reasonable force if one resists"
Again if you are taken to those courts at city hall they read the charges and the fines to you without giving you the chance to plead guilty or not guilty. The problem is that those charges are "cooked up"
#4 Posted : Wednesday, July 25, 2012 2:17:29 PM

Is this a trick question? Your handle suggests you're the lawmaker smile ...

Hammurabi the lawmaker

Amurabi.
#5 Posted : Wednesday, July 25, 2012 2:27:05 PM

@kratos. Trust me i had a nasty experience with them jana. One that was not good at my place of work and i was left wondering what are the boundaries.
#6 Posted : Wednesday, July 25, 2012 2:59:25 PM

wapi @Elder?
Dia
#7 Posted : Wednesday, July 25, 2012 4:22:05 PM

Need to know too because they harassed me over the weekend too Sad
#8 Posted : Wednesday, July 25, 2012 5:43:52 PM

@Amurabi & Dia poleni sana.

This is the result of the rule of one Philip Kisia... The fellow still imagines he can be governor!!! The fellow could not even enforce that those goons should wear uniform. The Police should take the city back.
rock
#9 Posted : Thursday, July 26, 2012 7:02:26 AM

I hear theres a dreaded lorry that fagias guys in town and takes them straight to court where you are fined bila defending yourself..also where are kanjo parking attendants when u need them,woe unto you if you're in a rush. Is it true that they hide,wait for you to leave without the ticket so that your car is clamped?
#10 Posted : Thursday, July 26, 2012 7:54:11 AM

Is the City Council court under the Judiciary or the Mayor? If it is under the Judiciary, then one Mutunga should take a tweet break and look that way... There is no point of giving us long judgements legalizing outlawed groups yet the judiciary is oppressing Kenyans by condemning bila hearing.. Infact, I think it would have been better value for Kenyans if you outlawed City Hole....
Amurabi.
#11 Posted : Thursday, July 26, 2012 8:09:00 AM

@Rock That was my point. you arrested at the place of work. you are not responsible for what they are looking,all of sudden you find yourself at city hall chambers. charges are public nuisance and obstraction. you are not reguired to plead guilty or not no deffence,fine is 30k or six months. you are forced to part with the 30k. My querry is is this the law?
Amurabi.
#12 Posted : Thursday, July 26, 2012 8:12:16 AM

@bwenyenye. Nishapoa. But a nasty experience.
#13 Posted : Thursday, July 26, 2012 8:18:08 AM

mmmhhh Mombasa republican council vs nairobi citizen

Let us sit down and respect the MRC for doing what every other Kenyan should be doing. Instead of complaining all the time, why don't you take the city kajos to court.

Trying to blame Mutunga here or even the judiciary is really unfair.

You are the one being bundled in the lorry. You are the one who's accepting to pay a fine for something you didn't do.

Be brave and take the case to court.

It's time citizens started taking matters into their own hands.

I choose the cowardly option. I never go to the city center. I'm so scared of those kajo jamaas I even switch off my phone in case they accuse me of shouting in the streets. It's so bad, when I see a kajo guy, I run towards a policeman.

Other people I know or to be precise most Kenyans I know choose to bribe. So it seems the system works.
#14 Posted : Thursday, July 26, 2012 8:54:49 AM

mmmhhh Mombasa republican council vs nairobi citizen

Let us sit down and respect the MRC for doing what every other Kenyan should be doing. Instead of complaining all the time, why don't you take the city kajos to court.

Trying to blame Mutunga here or even the judiciary is really unfair.

You are the one being bundled in the lorry. You are the one who's accepting to pay a fine for something you didn't do.

Be brave and take the case to court.

It's time citizens started taking matters into their own hands.

I choose the cowardly option. I never go to the city center. I'm so scared of those kajo jamaas I even switch off my phone in case they accuse me of shouting in the streets. It's so bad, when I see a kajo guy, I run towards a policeman.

Other people I know or to be precise most Kenyans I know choose to bribe. So it seems the system works.

Boss I am not blaming Mutunga for the ills of CCN. I am concerned at what I heard @AMurabi say that one is not accorded a hearing. Now, where would @ Amurabi go if not to places like here where the CEO of the court system should be informed... What other practical options does anyone have in this case? Go to court and sue the city council for condemning you to a fault which you did not agree? Where is your evidence? If you looked at the court records, you will find that you entered a plea of guilty.. Boss, you will be fighting the system using the same system... just an excellent waste of time... The only solution is to inform the fellow where the buck stops..CJ. He can order transfers or even close down the court if need be.
#15 Posted : Thursday, July 26, 2012 8:59:23 AM

If you go to court and confess to a crime, then you are a criminal and at the mercy of the court. Granted it may be a false claim or a true one, you are the one who confessed.

So you are asking the CJ to follow the words of a criminals. I hope you get where I'm going at here.

The law really is an ass.

The solution is clear. Plead not guilty wapende wasipende. Then you have a chance. Only the MRC has shown that they are serious about their legal issues. the rest of us ni porojo tu.
#16 Posted : Thursday, July 26, 2012 9:26:17 AM

If you go to court and confess to a crime, then you are a criminal and at the mercy of the court. Granted it may be a false claim or a true one, you are the one who confessed.

So you are asking the CJ to follow the words of a criminals. I hope you get where I'm going at here.

The solution is clear. Plead not guilty wapende wasipende. Then you have a chance. Only the MRC has shown that they are serious about their legal issues. the rest of us ni porojo tu.

I am not sure you understand ' not being given a chance to plead'
#17 Posted : Thursday, July 26, 2012 9:32:55 AM

That is my point exactly. What do you mean "not given a chance to plead"

That is a very very serious accusation against a judge or magistrate. This a forum with no names behind it and such statements are very serious.

Especially for the magistrate in question. Name them please and I can assure you that tommorow everyone will be allowed to plead. If that is the case.

Heck, take a recorder with you and get a few witnesses and that story will end.

In the meantime, it is just that. An allegation with no feet.
Amurabi.
#18 Posted : Thursday, July 26, 2012 9:35:50 AM

@alma yeah that is what i needed. Time to plead NOT QUILTY.But that doesn't happen at city council courts.You find youself in the chambers and all you hear is "alma of wazua republic,you were found sitting on a flower pot along moi avenue(talking on your mobile phone as you cross tom mboya street)you have to pay a fine of 20k or spend the rest of this year at remand" NGONG" NGONG" The hammer falls. Mark you, you were arrested at your place of somewhere along upperhill, the allegations are false and no time to plead.
#19 Posted : Thursday, July 26, 2012 2:45:13 PM

Dude you rant too much and say nothing. Amurabi has not confessed to anything because he wasn't given the opportunity. Sasa MRC inaingilia wapi bwana ??

theman192000
#20 Posted : Thursday, July 26, 2012 3:55:53 PM

Kratos wrote:

Dude you rant too much and say nothing. Amurabi has not confessed to anything because he wasn't given the opportunity. Sasa MRC inaingilia wapi bwana ??

MRC inaingilia hivi.

Just like Amurabi, MRC was not given an opportunity to plead so they went to court to challenge the gazette notice.

Therefore Amurabi should do the same smile