wazua Mon, Jan 27, 2025

Timing the market
kiio
#1 Posted : Tuesday, July 24, 2012 11:11:55 AM

What do you think of someone who wants to hold his 1 million until just 1 week to election, buy stock and wait after election and sell theme for an abnormal profit( assuming no PEV)?. Kenyans fear elections and so the market prices will nearly half by election date and will recover in 2 to 3 months.smile
“Daring ideas are like chessmen moved forward. They may be beaten, but they may start a winning game.” – Wolfgang Von Goethe .
#2 Posted : Tuesday, July 24, 2012 11:27:57 AM

There was a Merchant in Wazua who once said:

...do not time the market, give the market time.

The Merchant
#3 Posted : Tuesday, July 24, 2012 11:49:22 AM

Hehe..that was me.That still holds true.
#4 Posted : Tuesday, July 24, 2012 11:55:54 AM

kiio wrote:
What do you think of someone who wants to hold his 1 million until just 1 week to election, buy stock and wait after election and sell theme for an abnormal profit( assuming no PEV)?. Kenyans fear elections and so the market prices will nearly half by election date and will recover in 2 to 3 months.smile

Sounds like you own a crystal ball!
Cde Monomotapa
#5 Posted : Tuesday, July 24, 2012 11:58:40 AM

Just forget about it.
slykat
#6 Posted : Tuesday, July 24, 2012 12:31:26 PM

Specifically, I am more worried about MRC and their threat to elections n peace n tourism n msa port, economy.

This thing needs urgent resolution b4 it takes an extremist shape and form.
StatMeister
#7 Posted : Tuesday, July 24, 2012 2:47:12 PM

Do it then tell us what happened
A bad day fishing is better than a good day at work
#8 Posted : Tuesday, July 24, 2012 3:28:24 PM

MRC cannot managed where SLDF failed. This is Kenya bwana hakuna matata
#9 Posted : Tuesday, July 24, 2012 6:06:33 PM

kiio wrote:

please do it. We want to learn from your experience!
#10 Posted : Tuesday, July 24, 2012 6:18:50 PM

It can go either way. Some guys tried that during the referendum na ilibafu! The market rallied na watu wakashangaa!
Plus you also need to take into account the effect of monetary easing on the performance of the stock market. Do you still expect the CBR to be at 16.5 p.c 1 week to election time?

All in all, one never knows...
kiio
#11 Posted : Wednesday, July 25, 2012 10:05:50 AM

if you look at the prices of most of the stocks in the two days before the referendum and two weeks later, you will see what i mean. about MRC, that hot air. when it comes to stock there is realty nothing new, it is that we tend to forget too first.
“Daring ideas are like chessmen moved forward. They may be beaten, but they may start a winning game.” – Wolfgang Von Goethe .
Sufficiently Philanga....thropic
#12 Posted : Wednesday, July 25, 2012 10:29:31 AM

kiio wrote:

In the stock market, investors make money by doing the opposite of what others are doing/herd mentality.
I can tell you @Kiio, all "investors" will try to pull that stunt. It worked for me in 2002/2003 and backfired on me in 2007/2008.
The main reason was that the ignorance level 10 years ago was much more than in 2007/2008. We had an inefficient(weak market) with very little access to information then. Even the CDSC wasn't born.Laughing out loudly (Maybe someone like @VVS,@Jamani should start a thread called...Back in the daysmile NSEwise) But in 2007/2008, we had close to what i'd call a strong (Efficient)market with lots of access to info, ceteris paribus
@SufficientlyP
kiio
#13 Posted : Wednesday, July 25, 2012 11:21:19 AM

i din't disparage with you Ngamia, but look at it from common mwananchi and foregn investers, (as kenya has very fews sophisticated investers )view, do you think they are will ing to put there money in NSE in KENYA during an election period?
kiio
#14 Posted : Wednesday, July 25, 2012 11:24:38 AM

I don't disagree with you Ngamia, but look at it from common mwananchi and foreign investors view, (as Kenya has very few sophisticated investors )view, do you think they are willing to put there money in NSE in KENYA during an election period? and the wave thing in Kenya only works in IPO, when investing in it becomes the days hot NEWS.
mkeiyd
#15 Posted : Wednesday, July 25, 2012 1:40:09 PM

Sufficiently Philanga....thropic wrote:
kiio wrote:

In the stock market, investors make money by doing the opposite of what others are doing/herd mentality.
I can tell you @Kiio, all "investors" will try to pull that stunt. It worked for me in 2002/2003 and backfired on me in 2007/2008.
The main reason was that the ignorance level 10 years ago was much more than in 2007/2008. We had an inefficient(weak market) with very little access to information then. Even the CDSC wasn't born.Laughing out loudly (Maybe someone like @VVS,@Jamani should start a thread called...Back in the daysmile NSEwise) But in 2007/2008, we had close to what i'd call a strong (Efficient)market with lots of access to info, ceteris paribus

@Sufficiently, I think the reason why it backfired in 2007/8 is because, after the peaceful transition of 2002,nobody was expecting/fearing things would go wrong in 2007. Everyone was optimistic of a peaceful election.
Now, we are back in the pre-2002 political mood. I'm not very optimistic and i would guess majority of the people would share the same.
Majority of investors won't be buying as the elections draw closer.
The backfiring of 2007 had nothing to do with efficient market,but the general mood of optimism.
I will start buying in batches two months before elections.
Sufficiently Philanga....thropic
#16 Posted : Wednesday, July 25, 2012 2:09:11 PM

Well @Kiio and @Mkeiyd, i hope you understand/appreciate that the more a market becomes sophisticated,(read more efficient), the harder it is to arbitrage as info is more public and investors more informed. People would not even be talking about the Mworias as is the case in another thread here.
but your points on foreign participation and the 2007/2008 PEV are spot on and true. that's why i said in my closing remarks,ceteris paribus, meaning other factors held constant.
@SufficientlyP
kiio
#17 Posted : Wednesday, July 25, 2012 5:18:14 PM

StatMeister wrote:
Do it then tell us what happened

sure i will remind you, and am sure i will be smiling and you will be regretting.